Jump to content

Rich Ives

Established Member
  • Posts

    6,318
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    25

Community Answers

  1. Rich Ives's post in Right to the base was marked as the answer   
    Safe - no longer forced.
    Should have tagged R1 first, then stepped on the base. Both out then.
     
  2. Rich Ives's post in Hand part of bat and out? was marked as the answer   
    Umpire made it up.
    The hands are NEVER part of the bat. Ball is instantly dead on a hit-by-pitch and thus cannot be fair or foul.
    If he ruled that the batter offered at the pitch it's strike 3 and the batter is out. If he ruled the pitch was not offered at but in the strike zone it's strike 3 and the batter is out.
    If the pitch was going to be a ball it's a HBP and the batter goes to 1B.
  3. Rich Ives's post in Weird play, need some confirmation was marked as the answer   
    No run can score on a play where the batter-runner is the third out at 1B. Exception (1)
     
    5.08 How a Team Scores
    (a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.
    EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
  4. Rich Ives's post in Tag was marked as the answer   
    No.
    Rule:  
    "A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body
    while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove; or touching
    a runner with the ball, or with his hand or glove holding the ball (not
    including hanging laces alone), while holding the ball securely and
    firmly in his hand or glove. It is not a tag, however, if simultaneously or
    immediately following his touching a base or touching a runner, the
    fielder drops the ball."
     
  5. Rich Ives's post in Runner Hit by the ball was marked as the answer   
    The runner is out for interfering with a batted ball.  The base is not a safe haven. 
    The exceptions are: 1) It was deflected by another fielder before it hit the runner - this wasn't.  2) It went through or within reach of a fielder and no other fielder had a play on it before it hit the runner.  This didn't happen here.
    Passing has a limited definition (see exception) and the addition of the drawn in part only applies in HS rules.   
  6. Rich Ives's post in Appeal play was marked as the answer   
    (5) He fails to retouch his base after a fair or foul ball is
    legally caught before he, or his base, is tagged by a
    fielder.
    His base is where he started.
  7. Rich Ives's post in Force out was marked as the answer   
    Tag. Being forced means there is a runner behind you that is now required to go to the base you were on so you are forced to advance. No runner is ever forced (baseball meaning) to retreat. Being doubled-off is an appeal play, not a force. The batter can never be forced. 
    (BTW - for any appeal or force you can tag either the runner or the base.)
     
  8. Rich Ives's post in Softball pitcher required days of rest? was marked as the answer   
    Calendar day off. Pitch Monday, off Tuesday, can pitch Wednesday. Game schedule doesn't affect it.
    LL has defined it this way for decades, many many decades. I cannot fathom why anyone thinks  "calendar day" doesn't mean "calendar day".
  9. Rich Ives's post in Bases loaded, 2 outs question was marked as the answer   
    If it was the runner from third that was tagged out it was a forced runner and no hit. If it was the runner from 2B or 1B it's a hit.
    Note that tagging a runner instead of the base is still a force out if the runner was forced to advance.
  10. Rich Ives's post in Run scores if runner tagged out at first? was marked as the answer   
    1) A force out is only possible because the runner has to run because the batter became a runner (and now labeled a batter-runner) It does not matter if you tag the runner or the base, it's still a force out.
    2) The play on the batter-runner at first is not ever a force as there was no batter-runner pushing him..
    3) That's why the rules have separate exception in a run scoring with a third out play. One is for a runner being forced out. Another is for if the batter-runner is out before touching first base.  In you play the run does not score for the second reason. 
     
    Here is the actual rule:
    One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first,
    second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.
    EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a
    play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first
    base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is
    declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.
    And the force out rule:
    He or the next base is tagged before he touches the next base, after he has been
    forced to advance by reason of the batter becoming a runner.
  11. Rich Ives's post in Mr. was marked as the answer   
    It wasn't a pitch.  Therefore can't be a strike.
  12. Rich Ives's post in Pickle at home with third base occupied was marked as the answer   
    Per message: R3 had scored.  R2 was in a rundown between 3B and HP.  R1 advanced to 3B.
    R2 and R1 both ended up on 3B, then R2 advanced to HP and scored. Should there be an automatic out for both runners on 3B
    ********************************
    SO the answer is:  There is no force because R3 scored and made room for everyone else. There is no automatic out for two runners touching the same base at the same time.
    IF two runners are on the same base you have to tag the right one to get an out.  So tag both. If the lead runner was forced (he wasn't in the OP) then he is out. If the lead runner was not forced the trail runner is out.
     
     
     
  13. Rich Ives's post in Out Fielder prevents Home run.. was marked as the answer   
    Sometimes you have to use more than one rule to get to the answer.
    Is a fielder allowed to reach over the fence to catch the ball? Yes. See definition of catch.  
    Did the ball leave the field in flight? See definition of in flight. No. This is required for it to be a HR.
    Is there any rule that says it's a HR?  No.
    Therefore it's in play.
  14. Rich Ives's post in Interference was marked as the answer   
    Don't confuse interfering with the ball and interfering with a fielder.  The "passed" bit only applies to interfering with the ball. In this play the runner interfered with the fielder. It is interference.
  15. Rich Ives's post in softball appeal was marked as the answer   
  16. Rich Ives's post in Proper Call, Foul Ball or Batter Out, When Fielder Catches in Foul and then Falls Out of Play? was marked as the answer   
    Who comes up with this nonsense?  Have you never seen a player catch a foul ball and fall into the stands?
    Batter is out on the catch.
    Runners get one base.  The ball is dead but nothing in 5.06(b)(3)(c) negates the out.   
  17. Rich Ives's post in Bunt Attempt? Then Foul? was marked as the answer   
    I vote correct.
     
    Bunt definition says "intentionally met"
    This wasn't
  18. Rich Ives's post in Letting Ball Drop v. Infield Fly Rule was marked as the answer   
    If an infield fly is declared the batter is automatically out. Letting the ball drop does not change that.  Batter is still out. Runner on 1B is not required to advance. 
     
    If an infield fly is NOT declared the runners are screwed. Fairly common play by a smart infielder.
  19. Rich Ives's post in foul ball strike to pop foul out? was marked as the answer   
    A foul tip is a strike. It IS in the rules. It has to go sharp and direct.  See "Foul Tip" in the definitions (previously Rule 2.00). Sharp and direct means sharp and direct.  
    The rule:
    A FOUL TIP is a batted ball that goes sharp and direct from the bat
    to the catcher’s hands and is legally caught. It is not a foul tip unless
    caught and any foul tip that is caught is a strike, and the ball is in play. It
    is not a catch if it is a rebound, unless the ball has first touched the
    catcher’s glove or hand.
     
    If it didn't go sharp and direct (straight line) then it's a foul ball and can be caught for an out. 
  20. Rich Ives's post in Ball on the ground ALCS was marked as the answer   
    He had his hand firmly gripping the ball. He thus had control as he tagged the base.  Out.
    The rule reads:  A TAG is the action of a fielder in touching a base with his body while holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove;
    As the conditions were met, it is a valid tag and an out.
     
  21. Rich Ives's post in Home run or out? was marked as the answer   
    Catch unless he dropped it upon hitting the wall or landing.  If he dropped: it it's in play if in the field and a HR if over the fence.
    In watching MLB on TV have you never seen a fielder catch a ball and fall into the stands?
  22. Rich Ives's post in Interference or obstruction was marked as the answer   
    The fielder was attempting to field a batted ball. A fielder has an absolute right to field a batted ball. A runner must avoid interfering.  Interference.  
  23. Rich Ives's post in Penalty was marked as the answer   
    MLBUM:  If a batted ball strikes a loose helmet accidentally (no intent on part of runner to interfere) in fair
    territory, the ball remains in play the same as if it had not hit the helmet.
    So play on - which makes it a fair or foul ball if it subsequently meets the one of the fair/foul ball criteria.
    And detached equipment violations have to be deliberate to be penalized
  24. Rich Ives's post in Appeals play was marked as the answer   
    5.08 (4.09) How a Team Scores
    (a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to
    and touches first, second, third and home base before three men
    are put out to end the inning.
    EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner
    advances to home base during a play in which the third
    out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches
    first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by
    a preceding runner who is declared out because he
    failed to touch one of the bases.
  25. Rich Ives's post in Game ending DP was marked as the answer   
    Because it didn't matter no one cared to fix it.  They do have 24 hours to fix scoring errors so I suppose it could be corrected but no one cares.
×
×
  • Create New...