Jump to content
  • 0

Hand part of bat and out?


Guest Guest 42

Question

Guest Guest 42

OBR, 14U. Bottom of 7th, 2 out, 3-2 count.  Batter check-swings, ball hits back of hand and flies off foul toward first base.  PU calls batter out because "hand is an extension of the bat on a swing". Wouldn't explain further- or why it was an out and not a foul.  What's the right call?

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • Answers 12
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Posts

Umpire made it up. The hands are NEVER part of the bat. Ball is instantly dead on a hit-by-pitch and thus cannot be fair or foul. If he ruled that the batter offered at the pitch it's strike

Ehhh ... maybe ... depends what you have on the check swing.  If you have a swing, it's a dead ball strike and the batter would have been out. We didn't see it, but if you say "check swing" and t

As a coach I have two ejections...this is one of them.

12 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
12 minutes ago, Guest Guest 42 said:

OBR, 14U. Bottom of 7th, 2 out, 3-2 count.  Batter check-swings, ball hits back of hand and flies off foul toward first base.  PU calls batter out because "hand is an extension of the bat on a swing". Wouldn't explain further- or why it was an out and not a foul.  What's the right call?

Umpire made it up.

The hands are NEVER part of the bat. Ball is instantly dead on a hit-by-pitch and thus cannot be fair or foul.

If he ruled that the batter offered at the pitch it's strike 3 and the batter is out. If he ruled the pitch was not offered at but in the strike zone it's strike 3 and the batter is out.

If the pitch was going to be a ball it's a HBP and the batter goes to 1B.

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
4 minutes ago, agdz59 said:

'Out' is not the right call.  'Hands part of the bat' is one of the bigger myths.  It should have been a dead ball and the batter awarded first base.

Ehhh ... maybe ... depends what you have on the check swing.  If you have a swing, it's a dead ball strike and the batter would have been out.

We didn't see it, but if you say "check swing" and the ball went foul towards first base, I'm inclined to believe we have a swing (that's not definite, granted).

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
Guest 042
9 minutes ago, The Man in Blue said:

Ehhh ... maybe ... depends what you have on the check swing.  If you have a swing, it's a dead ball strike and the batter would have been out.

We didn't see it, but if you say "check swing" and the ball went foul towards first base, I'm inclined to believe we have a swing (that's not definite, granted).

He said it was a swing.  Ball hit his hand out of the strike zone.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
42 minutes ago, agdz59 said:

'Out' is not the right call.  'Hands part of the bat' is one of the bigger myths.  It should have been a dead ball and the batter awarded first base.

Not necessarily.  The post above yours explained it correctly.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

From umpirebible.com:


The Myth:
The hands are part of the bat

The Facts:
The hands are not part of the bat; they are part of the batter. If a pitched ball hits the batter's hands while trying to avoid being hit, you have a batter hit-by-pitch. The ball is dead and the batter is awarded first base. If the batter is swinging at the pitch when hit, you do not have hit-by-pitch. You have a strike. The ball is dead, but there is no base award; and, if it's strike three, the batter is out.

The Rules:
Rule 5.09(a)(6)


But my favorite 'hands are part of the bat" explanation comes from
"Little League Rules Myths"
In bold below...
The hands are not part of the bat. They are part of the arm.
Let's repeat that again. All together now...
The hands are not part of the bat.
The hands are not part of the bat.
The hands are not part of the bat.
Don't believe it? Try this. Hold a bat in your hand at arm's length. Now open your hand. Did the bat hit the ground? Good, gravity works. Where is your hand? I'll bet it's not on the ground. So your hand is not part of the bat.

When a player is hit on the hand by a pitch, the umpire must evaluate the situation just as he would if the pitch had hit him elsewhere:

If the pitch was in the strike zone the ball is dead, runners return to the last legally touched base, and the batter gets a strike. If that was the third strike, the batter is out.

If the batter was in the process of swinging, just as in the previous case, the ball is dead, runners return to the last legally touched base, and the batter gets a strike. If that was the third strike, the batter is out.

If the pitch was not in the strike zone and the batter was not swinging at it, but the batter makes no attempt to get out of the way, the ball is dead, runners return, a ball is charged to the batter and he/she must continue to bat. (Unless that was ball four.)

If none of the above conditions apply, the ball is dead, the batter is awarded first base, and runners advance only if forced.

Remember - when a batter is hit anywhere by a pitch, the ball is immediately dead, whether or not a base award is made.


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

But is his hand a part of the money he is handing over?

 

IF "the hand is part of the bat" then the foot is in solid contact with the ground to which the base is securely attached ... ergo all runners are always safe since they are part of the base.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...