Jump to content
  • 0
Double Up

penalty for interference

Question

10 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

No. "Don't do that."

INT = hindrance, and picking up the ball is not hindrance. Even if a runner is stealing, they're not going to go beyond their advance base when the ball is rolling around F2.

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Ehhh ... I wouldn't call this automatic either way ... be watching what is happening and rule from there.  
 

In NFHS, if there was a play to be made, you should be awarding some outs.  A quick look at OBR and I couldn’t find anything though.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, Double Up said:

on deck batter  touches  / picks up a passed ball on ball 4. 

 

any penalty for the interference?

 

 

The correct answer is "It Depends" 

Most of the time it's nothing.

R1 stealing, and seeing the PB continues onto third, F2 might have a play, and ODB may have interfered.

You need to judge to see if there was a play.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Just to back up what Mr. The Man in Blue posted about how FED rules on this question--From the 2016 BRD (section 327, p. 216):

FED: Point not covered. Official Interpretation: Hopkins:  If an on-deck batter picks up a live ball: (1) With runners not moving, the ball is simply dead; (2) with runners moving, the ball is dead and the runner on whom the defense would have played is out. If the umpire cannot determine which runner, the one nearer home is out. (Website 2003 #19)

2003 NFHS Baseball Rule Interpretations SITUATION 19: With runners on first and second, the pitch rebounds off the catcher's shin guard and goes to the on-deck circle. An on-deck batter, not thinking, picks up the ball and throws it to the pitcher. The runners (a) were not moving at the time or (b) attempting to advance to the next base. RULING: In (a) the ball is declared dead. In (b) the ball is declared dead and the runner that the umpire believes a play would have been made on is declared out. If the umpire is uncertain, the runner nearest home would be called out. (2-21-1a, 8-4-2g)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 11/25/2019 at 1:01 PM, maven said:

No. "Don't do that."

INT = hindrance, and picking up the ball is not hindrance. Even if a runner is stealing, they're not going to go beyond their advance base when the ball is rolling around F2.

"Time!"

 

"Don't do that!"

 

Just like Maven said.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
10 hours ago, Senor Azul said:

Just to back up what Mr. The Man in Blue posted about how FED rules on this question--From the 2016 BRD (section 327, p. 216):

FED: Point not covered. Official Interpretation: Hopkins:  If an on-deck batter picks up a live ball: (1) With runners not moving, the ball is simply dead; (2) with runners moving, the ball is dead and the runner on whom the defense would have played is out. If the umpire cannot determine which runner, the one nearer home is out. (Website 2003 #19)

2003 NFHS Baseball Rule Interpretations SITUATION 19: With runners on first and second, the pitch rebounds off the catcher's shin guard and goes to the on-deck circle. An on-deck batter, not thinking, picks up the ball and throws it to the pitcher. The runners (a) were not moving at the time or (b) attempting to advance to the next base. RULING: In (a) the ball is declared dead. In (b) the ball is declared dead and the runner that the umpire believes a play would have been made on is declared out. If the umpire is uncertain, the runner nearest home would be called out. (2-21-1a, 8-4-2g)

IF ..... IF .... the believes a play would have been made ...... :nod: 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
40 minutes ago, Thunderheads said:

IF ..... IF .... the believes a play would have been made ...... :nod: 

...and the OP states it was ball 4.

Do we have to do the math for everyone here?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 12/3/2019 at 8:36 AM, maven said:

...and the OP states it was ball 4.

Do we have to do the math for everyone here?

 

56EB4EA9-383A-43BC-9736-9267EB7B96D4.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...