Jump to content

"Present The Ball" ?


BaseballDudester

Recommended Posts

I keep getting mixed rulings on this, when the pitcher is on the mound does he have to present the ball? Meaning he has the ball in his throwing hand when engaged with the rubber to present the ball to the batter and runner.

NO.
Link to comment
Share on other sites

 

I keep getting mixed rulings on this, when the pitcher is on the mound does he have to present the ball? Meaning he has the ball in his throwing hand when engaged with the rubber to present the ball to the batter and runner.

NO.

 

Do you know where it talks about it in the official rules? 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

I keep getting mixed rulings on this, when the pitcher is on the mound does he have to present the ball? Meaning he has the ball in his throwing hand when engaged with the rubber to present the ball to the batter and runner. 

Is there a ceremony involved? Diploma?

  • Like 4
Link to comment
Share on other sites

 

There should preferably be some music in the background upon presentation.  Something upbeat but not over the top

Perhaps a fanfare of trumpets?

 

I don't care if you are a fan of fair strumpets.  The strumpets have no place at a youth baseball game.

 

Oh -- never mind.

  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

 

Well......that went to hell in a handbasket

Yes -- but if the ball is contacted by the basket not in the hand it's displaced equipment.

 

 

Ball contacting basket = nothing.

 

Fielder intentionally contacting ball with detached basket = award, depending on the status of the ball.

 

Runner must legally touch hell.

  • Like 2
Link to comment
Share on other sites

That's the thing about softball.  You come walking up to the field thinking, "Hey, this looks like it'll be a lot like baseball!"  But then the game starts, and it's not...

 

Next thing you know the girls in the dugout are doing some kind of choreographed dance/cheer thing to support their batter.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

@Jayumpref19

 

Not true......The pitcher must contact the rubber with her hands apart, BUT the ball can be in her glove or in her pitching hand.  There is nothing in the rule book (Fed and ASA) that says she must "present the ball" in her pitching hand.  She must, however, bring her hands together for at least one second prior to pitching.  This is often confused with "presenting the ball". 

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Look in 8.01 of OBR rules.  There is nothing to cite as nothing says you have to "present the ball".  If you read it all the lack of telling the pitcher he has to do it means he doesn't.  The ball can be in either the hand of the glove.  He just needs to being them both together in front of his body and then pause.

 

As for softball the pitcher must "present" by having both arms to her side prior to beginning her delivery.  It does not matter where the ball is, but this position is often referred to as "presenting the ball".

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.






×
×
  • Create New...