Jump to content

GoodOldGus

Inactive
  • Content Count

    125
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

32 Neutral

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Southern Wisconsin

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    Stateline Officials Association (Wisconsin)
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

2,592 profile views
  1. GoodOldGus

    College balk

    ​ Yes, this is what I meant. The pitcher would straddle the rubber just prior to bringing his pivot foot in front of the rubber. A few times he brought the ball close to his mouth and blew on it. I know there's nothing in the rule book that references blowing on the ball, but it's awfully close to spitting directly on the ball, hence the reason I told him to knock it off. I don't even think he realized he was doing it to be honest.
  2. GoodOldGus

    College balk

    Not to hijack completely, but I had a high school pitcher bring the ball up close to his mouth (1-2" away) and blow on it. He wasn't ON the rubber yet, but he was "astride" the rubber. I saw him do it again and I told him to knock it off. So in this case, I technically should have added a ball to the count? FED rule set.
  3. GoodOldGus

    Any pointers?

    In this case, I think it's best to tell the coach how the catcher is blocking your view of the pitches. Let the coach fix it rather than crossing the line of coaching the player yourself.
  4. Yes, I can agree that U2 should have been watching and yes it's a great lesson to be learned. I can also understand how my "Big If" in my original post was misleading.
  5. Do you know for a fact U2 was watching the play by the video clips posted? You obviously know something that I don't.
  6. Very interesting situation. One would have to think that U2 or U3 had some additional information in order to have the call changed. I watched it a few times and it appears U2 would have had a great angle on the play, IF he was watching....and that's a big IF. Also....this is a little off topic, but the announcers were actually really good in their commentary for once!! I'd like to see if the NCAA comes out with a bulletin relating to this play.
  7. I think you got it right. Since the at bat was still in progress, you can simply replace the incorrect batter with the correct batter (correct batter also inherits the count). IF the incorrect batter reached base AND it was properly appealed, THEN #2 would have been called out and #3 gets to bat again....in his correct spot, but this is slightly different than your situation.
  8. I agree with the previous comments about his positioning, but from the video alone I can't really argue with the call. The runner makes a nice slide, but the catcher does a good job positioning his leg to disrupt the runner's left arm a direct route to the plate. I see a tag on the runner's hip as the runner is adjusting his left hand/arm to get to the plate. The runner quickly jabs/slaps back at the plate which usually means the plate hasn't been touched yet. Of course, I get the benefit of several replays and slow motion.
  9. This could have been one of those "Coach....either you remove him, or I will" moments. The Coach took care of it before you had to. Sounds fine to me.
  10. Last season my partner and I pre-gamed the first scenario (PU covers 2B if BU goes "out") and of course it happens in the game. We both nailed it perfectly. He went out and stayed out and I busted through the infield to cover 2B to bang out the runner. We both made eye contact and had smiled as we made it back to our positions. Had a fan walk up to us after the game and say...."I've never seen a plate ump make a call at 2nd before!!".
  11. Honest question....does the rule book specifically state the step towards a base must be with the "free foot"? I read through the balk rules and I didn't see it.
  12. I think Dickey is trying to satisfy "stepping off" and "stepping towards the base" in all one motion with his pivot foot. If done correctly, like in this video, I believe it's technically legal, however it is a very, very difficult move. The more recent video from this season, you can see Dickey not quite doing it correctly and gets called for the balk.
  13. I had an OBS situation tonight and was curious what everyone thought. High school varsity, FED rule set. I'm the PU. Runner on 2nd. Batter hits a base hit just over a leaping third baseman but directly to the left fielder who fields it cleanly. 3B obstructs the runner about 10 feet before third base. The runner ends up rounding third and getting thrown out easily at home. We decide to protect the runner only to third and uphold the out at the plate since the runner went home on his own accord. Offensive coach disagrees and wants his runner to be allowed back to third base. We stick with our call after lengthy discussion and a warning to the assistant coach. After replaying it in my mind over and over, there was no doubt that the runner was obstructed by the defender. The golden question is did we make the right call by only protecting the runner to third and upholding the out at the plate? Any feedback is appreciated.
  14. Had the same thing happen to me two years ago. Rained all day, contacted the AD and he said they were going to "try to get it in". Poured all the way to the game. We get a call (partner and I travelling together), when we're literally pulling into the school that the game had been cancelled. It took a little convincing, but we did end up getting full pay for the game. Our contracts state if we show up before the game is cancelled, we get paid.
×
×
  • Create New...