In OBR if you fake to 2B, without stepping off your pivot foot from the rubber in doing so, you can no longer throw to any other base, including 2B, right?
But how would it work in FED? Fake a throw to 2B, without stepping off (not legal in OBR but legal in FED), and could you turn in any direction and then throw to either 1B or 3B?
From 2019 NFHS case book plays 6.2.4:
6.2.4 Situation C With R3 and R1, F1 comes set. He then feints toward third, or he removes one hand from the ball and makes an arm motion toward third but does not step toward third. He follows with a throw to first base. RULING: This is a balk. F1 must step toward third base when feinting there. F1 may not feint to first base. He must step toward the base and throw. He might, while he is on the plate, step toward occupied third and feint a throw, and then turn to step toward first and throw there with or without disengagingthe pitcher’s plate. If F1 steps and feints to first, he must first disengage the pitcher’s plate or he is guilty of a balk.
So, a pitcher with his foot pointing toward 2B, after faking a pickoff, regardless of windup or set position, could, without stepping off the rubber, throw to bases 2B/1B or 3B by turning in any direction, that is:
A. To 1B, could the pitcher turn before throwing, either 90° clockwise or 270° counterclockwise?
B. To 2B, either directly, but does he have to step again first or not? Or do a 360° turn, either clockwise or counterclockwise, and throw to 2B?
C. To 3B, either 90° counterclockwise or 270° counterclockwise and then throw to third base?
Question
Jack_Wick
In OBR if you fake to 2B, without stepping off your pivot foot from the rubber in doing so, you can no longer throw to any other base, including 2B, right?
But how would it work in FED? Fake a throw to 2B, without stepping off (not legal in OBR but legal in FED), and could you turn in any direction and then throw to either 1B or 3B?
From 2019 NFHS case book plays 6.2.4:
6.2.4 Situation C With R3 and R1, F1 comes set. He then feints toward third, or he removes one hand from the ball and makes an arm motion toward third but does not step toward third. He follows with a throw to first base. RULING: This is a balk. F1 must step toward third base when feinting there. F1 may not feint to first base. He must step toward the base and throw. He might, while he is on the plate, step toward occupied third and feint a throw, and then turn to step toward first and throw there with or without disengaging the pitcher’s plate. If F1 steps and feints to first, he must first disengage the pitcher’s plate or he is guilty of a balk.
So, a pitcher with his foot pointing toward 2B, after faking a pickoff, regardless of windup or set position, could, without stepping off the rubber, throw to bases 2B/1B or 3B by turning in any direction, that is:
A. To 1B, could the pitcher turn before throwing, either 90° clockwise or 270° counterclockwise?
B. To 2B, either directly, but does he have to step again first or not? Or do a 360° turn, either clockwise or counterclockwise, and throw to 2B?
C. To 3B, either 90° counterclockwise or 270° counterclockwise and then throw to third base?
Top Posters For This Question
2
2
1
1
Popular Days
Nov 10
2
Nov 8
2
Nov 9
2
Top Posters For This Question
grayhawk 2 posts
Jack_Wick 2 posts
The Man in Blue 1 post
BigBlue4u 1 post
Popular Days
Nov 10 2025
2 posts
Nov 8 2025
2 posts
Nov 9 2025
2 posts
Popular Posts
The Man in Blue
As a former catcher, I would disagree. My insight into pitchers' brains is that at least some, if not many, of them are indeed made of spaghetti.
BigBlue4u
Jack, The rule is pretty specific: "Balk...failing to step with the non-pivot directly toward a base.. So, yes he has to step again
5 answers to this question
Recommended Posts
Please sign in to comment
You will be able to leave a comment after signing in
Sign In Now