Jump to content
  • 0

Coach is hit by thrown baseball


Question

  • Answers 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Posts

Yes. For both a batted and thrown ball, if the coach has time to vacate the space needed by the defense, he must do so. Failure to do so is INT ("teammate" INT). If he does not have time to

No, keep the commies out of this. "That's nothing" is preferable because it rules explicitly on the action in question. And, in general, we should avoid telling people what to do if possible: our

2019 OBR rule 6.01(f) Coach and Umpire Interference If a thrown ball accidentally touches a base coach, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is alive and in play. However, if t

9 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
1 hour ago, Double Up said:

As the title describes, a thrown ball hits the coach standing in the coaches box behind 1b.      Is there any rule that addresses this type of situation? 

Yes.

For both a batted and thrown ball, if the coach has time to vacate the space needed by the defense, he must do so. Failure to do so is INT ("teammate" INT).

If he does not have time to move, it's nothing. Play the bounce. We should give the safe sign and verbalize, "That's nothing!" 

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

2019 OBR rule 6.01(f) Coach and Umpire Interference

If a thrown ball accidentally touches a base coach, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is alive and in play. However, if the coach interferes with a thrown ball, the runner is out.

2019 NFHS rule 3-2 ART. 3 . . . No offensive team personnel, other than the base coach, shall be near a base for which a runner is trying so that a fielder may be confused; nor be on or near the baseline in such a way as to draw a throw; nor shall the base coach or members of the team at bat fail to vacate any area needed by a fielder in his attempt to put out a batter or runner.

If a thrown live ball unintentionally touches a base coach in foul territory, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is live and in play. If the coach is judged by the umpire to have interfered intentionally with the thrown ball, or interferes in fair territory, the interference penalty is invoked.

PENALTY: The ball is dead immediately and the runner is out. The batter-runner or runner may be out as in 7-4-1f and 8-4-2g. Other runners return as in 8-2-8.

2019-20 NCAA rule 8-3j. If a thrown ball strikes a base coach on foul ground, the ball is in play. If the coach interfered intentionally with such a thrown ball, the runner is out and any other runners must return to the last base touched;

2019 OBR rule 6.01(d) Comment PLAY: Batter hits ball to shortstop, who fields ball but throws wild past first baseman. The coach at first base, to avoid being hit by the ball, falls to the ground and the first baseman on his way to retrieve the wild thrown ball, runs into the coach. The batter-runner finally ends up on third base. Whether the umpire should call interference on the part of the coach is up to the judgment of the umpire and if the umpire felt that the coach did all he could to avoid interfering with the play, no interference need be called. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the coach was attempting to make it appear that he was trying not to interfere, the umpire should rule interference.

  • Like 1
Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

I believe that Mr. Vegas_Ump does mostly Little League so here are the relevant LL rules that pretty much support his post—

2019 LL RIM rule 4.05 - The offensive team shall station two base coaches on the field during its time at bat, one near first base and one near third base. The coaches shall not leave their respective dugouts until the pitcher has completed his/her preparatory pitches to the catcher. Base coaches shall-

(c) remain within the base coaches’ boxes at all times, except as provided in Rule 7.11;

INSTRUCTOR'S COMMENTS:

➔ It is common practice for a coach who has a play at his/her base to leave the coach’s box to signal the player to slide, advance or return to a base. This may be allowed if the coach does not interfere with the play in any manner.

The rules provide that there shall be base coaches. This is not an option. Do not put the ball in play until both coaches are in their respective coaches’ boxes.

Interference by a coach does not have to be intentional to be called by the umpire.

Base coaches must vacate any space that is needed by the defensive fielder who is attempting to make a play on a batted or thrown ball.

2019 LL rule 5.08 - If a thrown ball accidentally touches a base coach, or a pitched or thrown ball touches an umpire, the ball is live and in play. However, if the coach interferes with a thrown ball, the runner is out.

INSTRUCTOR’S COMMENTS:

➔ Once again, the umpire’s judgment comes into play. Did the coach interfere or was he/she in the wrong place at the wrong time? If you judge interference, kill the play immediately and call the runner out.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 11/10/2020 at 11:14 AM, maven said:

Yes.

For both a batted and thrown ball, if the coach has time to vacate the space needed by the defense, he must do so. Failure to do so is INT ("teammate" INT).

If he does not have time to move, it's nothing. Play the bounce. We should give the safe sign and verbalize, "That's nothing!" 

Or as they would say in soccer "Play on" 

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, Double Up said:

Or as they would say in soccer "Play on" 

No, keep the commies out of this.

"That's nothing" is preferable because it rules explicitly on the action in question. And, in general, we should avoid telling people what to do if possible: our job is to rule on the action, not to dictate it. If someone doesn't want to play on, that's his prerogative.

  • Like 2
Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.




×
×
  • Create New...