Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'Appeal'.

More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


  • Umpire-Empire
    • Introductions
    • Ask the Umpire
    • Minor League Baseball Umpire Training Academy
    • Umpire-Empire
    • Memberships
    • Announcements & Milestones
    • Buy, Sell or Trade
  • Speak out
    • Free For All
    • Situations
    • Umpire Mechanics
    • Rules
    • Ejections
    • Umpire Equipment
    • Books
    • War Stories
  • Umpire News
    • Quick Tips
    • Close Call Sports/ Umpire Ejection Fantasy League
    • Umpire News From Around the Web
    • Ump-Attire.com
  • Level of Play
    • High School
    • Collegiate
    • Recreation
    • Professional
    • Softball
    • Cooperstown Dream Park
  • Off-Topic
    • Off-Topic/Funny Stories
    • Photography
    • Humor
    • Other Sports
    • Announcers

Product Groups

  • Memberships
  • Umpire-Empire Items
  • Cooperstown Dream Park Posting/Advertisement


  • Interviews
  • Equipment
  • Game Management
  • Self Improvement
  • Health & Fitness
  • Miscellaneous
  • Get to Know


  • Equipment
    • Chest Protectors
    • Hockey Style Masks
    • Traditional Masks
    • Plate Shoes
    • Base Shoes
    • Shin Guards
    • Athletic Cups
    • Mask Pads
    • Other Equipment
  • Umpire Accessories
    • Equipment Bags
    • Indicators
    • Ball Bags
    • Line up card holders
    • Sunglasses
    • Other Accessories
  • Uniforms
    • Umpire Shirts
    • Umpire Pants
    • Undergarmets
    • Umpire Jackets/ Plate Coats
    • Umpire Caps
  • Suppliers
  • Umpire Manuals, Rules/Interpretation Manuals, Mechanics Manuals
  • Umpire Camps & Clinics
  • Books (pleasure reading)
  • Products no longer available for retail sale

Find results in...

Find results that contain...

Date Created

  • Start


Last Updated

  • Start


Filter by number of...


  • Start





Website URL







Your Association Name


Types/Levels of Baseball called

Found 25 results

  1. NCAA rules (i.e. no dead ball appeals) While the ball is dead, the defense attempts to make an appeal ("runner left early" or "runner missed the base"whatever - the play is immaterial to this question). Does the umpire responsible for the call a) make a "soft" safe signal (not indicating judgment on the playing action, but denying the appeal, without saying he is denying the appeal), or say something like "the ball is dead" and making no signal or further comment?
  2. Little League Major Softball tournament. Ball is dead. Defense wishes to appeal a runner missed home. Coaches are yelling instructions regarding the appeal process across the field. Offensive coach tells his batter to swing if it's a strike. Pitcher toes the rubber. Home plate umpire puts the ball in play. Pitcher steps off and then moves about 3' to her left of the rubber and throws the ball overhand toward home. (None of the players speak during the play.) The catcher moves forward toward the pitcher. The ball comes in near the outside corner of the plate. The batter swings at the ball and hits the catcher's mitt and hand. The catcher is unable to catch the ball. No runners attempt to advance. Home plate umpire calls time for injured catcher. What's your ruling?
  3. Opening day is tomorrow for NJ HS. Here is part of an email from our association interpreter, a very opinionated individual... We do not go to our partner on a check swing because the coach has requested it. We can go to our partner IMMEDIATELY if needed. We all must be consistent in this mechanic all the time. Coaches have told me and umpires that some umpires still go when requested by coach. Please stop that and be consistent and the coaches will understand better and not ask. While I know that we are not required to in HS, but I have always done it as long as the coach hasn't been a d!ck about it.
  4. R1, R2, 1 out. OT has been running the bases like a merry-go-round for the past inning, and has racked up 5 runs. 1B to 3B, 2B to plate, the works. Towering fly ball to F8. Flat sky, so nearly everybody loses sight of it (this umpire, as PU, included), but figure it has to be somewhere towards centerfield. R2 figures that, based on F8's previous body of botched catch attempts work, he'll take his chances and reaches 3B and rounds it towards HP. R1 follows suit, and is nearly to 2B when F8 actually... holy crap how'd he find it?... catches it. "Catch!" voices my BU. Now panic ensues. R1 taps on R2 (never breaks the plane of it, just touches on the front edge), then retreats to 1B in a mad dash while F8 throws a... oh no... pond-skipper to F3, who can't field it cleanly and can't secure it before R1 arrives at 1B, touches it, then at the pleading of his coaches and fans heads to 2B (it turns out, these pleas and promptings were to R2 to return to 2B). While this is going on, R2 suddenly figures out he has to head back and tag up, so retouches 3B, and heads back towards 2B. F3 now throws to 2B, but R1 has already "safely" arrived there, and is sitting on it after sliding into it. F6 catches throw with his foot on the bag, and then tags R1. Who is (technically) out? FWIW, we called R2 out on the touch of 2B by F6 in possession of the ball. I made a point of saying, "That (point at) runner is out!" Was there an out sooner that we missed? Is R2 the one who is the third out or is R1 the third out?
  5. Ok ...I'd like everyone to first pardon my caffeine free morning brain-fart post .... Yesterday, Varsity league rivalry game, 2nd inning .... bouncer to F5, throw takes F3 off the bag and up as he must jump, B/R misses first (not perfectly clear, but..... Now, after B/R returns to first, then F3 tags him (while he's standing on first) and said to me ....'blue he missed first' ....I just signaled safe, and off we went. Question though (and here's the brain-fart): If F3 said to me, "blue he missed first" and tags B/R as he comes back to first before he arrives, THEN he would be out, if in fact, he missed first. Yes? And further, .... F3 must tag the B/R, NOT just touch first, correct? Fart....fart.....fart...........
  6. While reading the LL rule book, I try to come up with scenarios to confound them. It's LL the more you think it can't happen, the more likely it is to happen. First situation, B hits and heads for first hard. F3 has his foot on top of the base, covering most of it. BR would have been safe but jumps over/goes around the base to avoid an injury. Would you call obstruction? Is it obstruction? Second situation, 1 out runners at 1B and 2B. A hit to deep right, for a triple with R1 and R2 scoring. R1 missed touching 2B. DT appeals by touching 2B and calling that he's out. R1 is out and his run is removed. I'm thinking that nothing happens with R2 or BR because R2 was out before they passed him. Am I correct? Same situation but with 2 outs. R1 is out by force upon the appeal, therefore no runs are scored. Correct? Thanks. I guessing that regardless of the appeal the out occurs when it should have happened, not upon appeal.
  7. Well .... It finally happened ..........to ME! Varsity non-conference-bases Bottom of 2, ....home teams F3 crushes one to left ....I pause, read, and go in to pivot and watch him touch first .....before he gets there I noticed his kind of hopping up and down watching the ball making sure it goes over the fence....and COMPLETELY misses first ....completely! As I go to follow him I glance back quickly and see the visiting team head coach pop up from the dug-out onto the top step. Uh oh.... He continues and in my head I'm thinking ...."ok, he's going to stop and go back" ....nope ...I take him to second, and I see my partner standing a little closer to 3rd than the library and signals that he'll take him in ..... I jog back to my position and here the VC say .... guys, throw it to first ........throw it to first. In my head in the seconds that follow I think: He's out, and I have a EJ coming! Then I thought ... can I sell a 'safe' here to make it easy? Decision: No. They throw over, and I bang him out. (all the while thinking ....here it comes!) NOT A PEEP!! And this head coach makes no qualms about coming out and asking questions ..... he never left the bench! The first base coach says ...."he missed it?" I said: "Not even close" So there it is .... it happened to me! On a HR, base umpire's responsibility is super simple ....... watch them touch the bases
  8. Guest

    Appeal Situation

    R3 and R2, one out. B1 hits double to RF. R3 scores but R2 gets thrown out at the plate for the second out. B1 stops at second. Defense properly appeals B1 missing 1st base. Do any runs score?
  9. This is on the NJ test this year... Question #18 The bases are loaded and there are two outs. B1 hits a triple but misses second base. A legal appeal is made by the defense. How many runs should score? a. 0 b. 2 c. 3 What have you got?
  10. Your browser does not support iframes. Your browser does not support iframes. should this be one of those plays where the umpire rules safe, then out on an appeal? The last angle shows that Bryant beat the pitcher to the bag (just stepped off to the side to avoid stepping on him) I'm not too familiar with this type of play.
  11. Your browser does not support iframes. ... how did they have enough to overturn? And kinda embarrassing that it took that long just for an appeal, then the review.
  12. Not enough research. 7.12 Unless two are out, the status of a following runner is not affected by a preceding runner’s failure to touch or retouch a base. The BR did not "pass" R2. R2 crossed the plate (without touching it, I know), so he is assumed to have touched the plate until such time as an appeal is made.Once he 'crossed" the plate, he was no longer a runner. These are replies from this post, and they got my brain thinking about an entirely plausible (and probably encountered) situation: R1, less than 2 outs. Batter hits a HR. While rounding the bases, R1 misses 3B (for the sake of the hypothetical, let's say he misses this one... it could be he missed 2B). 3BC realizes R1 has missed the bag, and is calling out to R1 to come back and touch it. Let's pause for a second, and introduce a fork: • A) R1 has not touched HP yet and BR has not touched 3B yet. • B) R1 has touched HP by the time he hears his 3BC yelling to him, and realizes it's directed at him. BR has not touched 3B yet. • C) R1 has touched HP and about to congratulate BR who has "touched 'em all" and is on the verge of stepping on HP when the 3BC or BR finally gets R1's attention to the missed touch at 3B. In A, this is easily remedied by R1 coming back, touching 3B, and then proceeding to head to HP. BR may have to slow up and wait before touching 3B for R1 to accomplish his touch of 3B before proceeding. What I'm most interested in is how B and C are accomplished, if there is a legal course of action. Obviously, the DT cannot make an appeal yet because the ball is still dead, and likely has not been given a new ball by the umpire to make live. Also, let's assume that R1 stays near the plate and does not return to the dugout. What has to happen?
  13. So I had a situation with my partner yesterday. 2man system, runner at first, 18+ league. I am PU. Ball was hit to outfield, I had the runner rounding third and coming home. He missed third on his way. When the ball was sent back to the pitcher, he threw the ball to his third baseman who was standing on third saying they want to appeal. I called the runner out, and the run doesn't score. At the end of the inning, my partner was talking to the pitcher and third baseman on "how to do a proper appeal". He said that the pitcher had to be on the rubber, come set, step off, then make the throw, so the appeal they did wasn't valid and should not have been granted. I said that that doesn't fit with my memory on how to do an appeal properly, my partner has been umpiring for around 30+ years, so I trust him, and two) if the appeal should not be granted, why didn't he come to me and say that so I wouldn't call a runner out and take a run off the board. I have two questions: 1) If the ball is not dead, does the pitcher need to be on the rubber then step off to initiate an appeal? I thought he had to be on the rubber just to make the ball live so he could step off and make the throw. 2) Should/would you approach me if you believe that I granted an illegal appeal, or would you let the call stand and basically tell the players that they did it wrong?
  14. Hypothetical Question - FED rules. R3, no outs. Batter hits fly ball to left field. R3 leaves too early on the tag and is safe at home without a play. While the ball is still live (no verbal appeals can be made until ball is dead/time is called), the coach tells the pitcher (who now has the ball) to throw to the 3rd baseman to appeal, only the pitcher air-mails the throw over the 3B head, but not out of play. What do we have? Does the defense lose the appeal if they didn't successfully attempt it? I was plate umpire yesterday and this play came up, except the runner did legally tag at 3B, so he was safe anyway, but wondered what would have happened had he left early and this happened. Thanks all
  15. 9U Cal Ripken Regional Tournament; OBR-mod (no leadoffs, balks). R2, R1, no outs. I am BU. BR hits a fly ball to right field, R2 takes two steps toward third, F9 makes easy catch. R2 never re-touches and beats the throw to 3B standing up. Meanwhile, R1 tags up and advances to 2B. F5 is now holding the ball, and the entire dugout is yelling at him, "He left early! Throw to second; step on the base!" F5 complies, throws to F4, who steps on the base. I give an out mechanic with the right hand, point to R2 (who is standing on 3B) with the left hand, and say "He's out." Then, R1 (who is standing on 2B) begins to walk off the base toward the third-base dugout. F4 tags R1, and I bang R1 out for the triple play. I gave the point to R2 with the left hand because I wanted it to be clear to everyone who was out (remember, 9U); I believe R1 stepped off the bag because R1 thought R1 was out. Is this an appropriate mechanic given the situation? Or is it unnecessary? If this were a higher age group, I probably would not give this mechanic - I would only give an "out" mechanic.
  16. From the WUM: R2, R3, 2 outs, 1-1 count. The batter hits a ball down the right field line. As he reaches the 45' line, the BR severely twists his ankle and falls down. R3 easily scores and R2 touches third base and attempts to advance to the plate. The right fielder, not seeing the BR lying between home and first base, throws the ball to home plate. The throw beats R2 easily and he is called out by the plate umpire. The defense, seeing that the BR has not yet reached first base, tags first base, appealing that he never touched it. Ruling?
  17. Guest

    appeal runner leaving early

    Runner on third, no outs, ball hit to center field. OBR. coach wants to appeal that the runner on third left early. I know that proper appeal is pitcher getting on rubber, stepping off, and throwing to third. However, what happens if the coach just tells the pitcher to throw to third without going on the rubber? What should the umpire say/do?
  18. R1, R2, w/ 2 outs ....   BR hits a gapper .....  R2 misses third base , defense appeals, called out, inning over.   How is this scored in the book? (p.s. this is for a parent/coach who was keeping the book last night)   Thanks guys!
  19. Guest

    The Appeal Process

    With bases loaded and two outs, a batter hits a single. The runners advance and the runner on third base scores an apparent run. The defensive coach calls time out and takes the ball from his pitcher to replace him with a new pitcher. After the new pitcher warms up, the umpire calls to resume play. The new pitcher appeals that the runner from third base never touched home and throws the ball to the catcher. The umpire rules that runner was out and the half inning ends. I believe the rule states that an appeal has to happen before the next play but it's unusual for a manager to handle the ball and a player to leave the field. Is an appeal after the manager takes the ball, changes pitchers and has the pitcher warm up still valid?
  20. He most certainly DID ask for help and no that trigger wasn't "quick". That is all. http://mlb.mlb.com/video/play.jsp?content_id=26539905&topic_id=&c_id=mlb&tcid=vpp_copy_26539905&v=3
  21. Had seen it in a Dodgers game years ago, but finally experienced it...almost fully. I have the dish, R1 and R3. One out, squeeze play with R1 also stealing. Batter pops bunt up to the 3rd baseman who catches it. Two outs. R3 finishes crossing plate. 3rd baseman throws the ball to FIRST base 3rd out. No appeal of R3. IFers leave the field. OC immediately reminds me that the run counts. I think about it and yes, absolutely it counts. A few innings later we had another R3, R1 situations. One out. Grounder to 1st baseman, steps on 1st, throws to SS who applies the tag on R1. R3 has already crossed home. Count that one too on the timing play. Fun game to work.
  22. Here is the scenario: batter swings at strike 3. Ball is dropped. Catcher throws the ball into right field. Batter, now runner advances to 2nd. He sees that RF has trouble with the ball and goes to third. He slides safely into 3rd. Player tags him after he is on the base. Now here is the question: if the batter misses first, and no one but the umpire sees it, at the point the runner is tagged out is he out, or does the opposing coach need to appeal? The umpire sees that the batter hasn't successfully reached 1st, so is he out? It is a continuation of the dropped 3rd strike, so the tag at 3rd would be just like a tag by the catcher. Thoughts.
  23. Situation: Home team down 7-6 Bottom 7 w/ 2 outs. R1 only. Batter destroys one over the left field fence for a HR. As R1 rounds second, he misses the bag. After the runners are done and before all the infielders have crossed the foul line (had to include that). The DC appeals that R1 missed second. Since he's correct R1 is called out. My question is this: Since the appeal was on a base that was a force out for out #3, am I correct when I say that the HR is nullified and the game's over? VT wins 7-6?
  24. Guest

    Touch up on a foul ball

    I had a situation last night that luckily the coach did not question. My partner and I struggled to come up with a correct answer. I know that on a foul ball there is no rule that states the runners must touch up at their previous bases even though everyone thinks that there is. Here is the situation we had: Runner on 1st (R1) and third (R3) one out. As the pitcher come set at the mound R1 takes off to second and reaches second bases before the pitcher delivers the pitch. The pitch is then fouled off. The runner (R1) remained at second. My question was is the pitchers coach asked to return the runner back to first what should we have done? Time of pitch R1 had become R2 or is he still R1 from when pitcher was set?
  25. RichMSN's "coaches visit" post spurred this on. I didn't want to hijack his post, but this is becoming irritating lately. EVERYONE wants you to ask for help, on EVERYTHING. And, when you don't ask for help, THAT is what they get all pissy about! Last night (14u travel, OBR, ... R1, 1 out. Ground ball to F6, bobbles it, ..flips poorly to F4 and it brings him off the bag..my partner SAFES him...) VERY NICELY and politely, my F2 turns and says, .. "can you help in something like that blue?" I say, ... absolutely not, ...from 100+ feet away? I said "first , he'd have to ask me for help, second, he'd never do that ...he's right there, and plus, can you imagine if that happend and for some reason I overturned his call from my vantage point?" He just smiled, ... " yep, ...doesnt' make sense, ..thank you sir, I've always wondered that" But it got me to thinking ...where is all this ASK FOR HELP crap coming from ?!?!?!? :shrug:
  • Create New...