Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'Missed Base'.

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Umpire-Empire
    • Introductions
    • Ask the Umpire
    • Minor League Baseball Umpire Training Academy
    • Umpire-Empire
    • Announcements & Milestones
    • Buy, Sell or Trade
  • Speak out
    • Free For All
    • Situations
    • Umpire Mechanics
    • Rules
    • Ejections
    • Umpire Equipment
    • Books
    • War Stories
  • Umpire News
    • Quick Tips
    • Close Call Sports/ Umpire Ejection Fantasy League
    • Umpire News From Around the Web
    • Ump-Attire.com
  • Level of Play
    • High School
    • Collegiate
    • Recreation
    • Professional
    • Softball
    • Cooperstown Dream Park
  • Off-Topic
    • Off-Topic/Funny Stories
    • Photography
    • Humor
    • Other Sports
    • Announcers

Product Groups

  • Memberships
  • Umpire-Empire Items
  • Cooperstown Dream Park Posting/Advertisement

Categories

  • Interviews
  • Equipment
  • Game Management
  • Self Improvement
  • Health & Fitness
  • Miscellaneous
  • Get to Know

Categories

  • Equipment
    • Chest Protectors
    • Hockey Style Masks
    • Traditional Masks
    • Plate Shoes
    • Base Shoes
    • Shin Guards
    • Athletic Cups
    • Mask Pads
    • Other Equipment
  • Umpire Accessories
    • Equipment Bags
    • Indicators
    • Ball Bags
    • Line up card holders
    • Sunglasses
    • Other Accessories
  • Uniforms
    • Umpire Shirts
    • Umpire Pants
    • Undergarmets
    • Umpire Jackets/ Plate Coats
    • Umpire Caps
  • Suppliers
  • Umpire Manuals, Rules/Interpretation Manuals, Mechanics Manuals
  • Umpire Camps & Clinics
  • Books (pleasure reading)
  • Products no longer available for retail sale

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


Website URL


Location


Interests


Your Association Name


Occupation


Types/Levels of Baseball called

Found 8 results

  1. Here's an interesting one. Thankfully it did not come to fruition but this is the situation that occurred last night. Ball in play. R2 rounds 3rd and comes home...*I* notice he missed the bag on the way...see the 3rd base coach notice it as well but he doesn't call the kid back (play was developing and he was halfway down the line by then)...kid scores. No appeal yet...I wait....opposing coach calls time...I'm thinking...ok here we go lol...he makes a pitching change...I'm thinking...ok...does he have until the 1st pitch of the new pitcher to make the appeal or does the appeal become null
  2. While reading the LL rule book, I try to come up with scenarios to confound them. It's LL the more you think it can't happen, the more likely it is to happen. First situation, B hits and heads for first hard. F3 has his foot on top of the base, covering most of it. BR would have been safe but jumps over/goes around the base to avoid an injury. Would you call obstruction? Is it obstruction? Second situation, 1 out runners at 1B and 2B. A hit to deep right, for a triple with R1 and R2 scoring. R1 missed touching 2B. DT appeals by touching 2B and calling that he's out. R1 is out and hi
  3. Well .... It finally happened ..........to ME! Varsity non-conference-bases Bottom of 2, ....home teams F3 crushes one to left ....I pause, read, and go in to pivot and watch him touch first .....before he gets there I noticed his kind of hopping up and down watching the ball making sure it goes over the fence....and COMPLETELY misses first ....completely! As I go to follow him I glance back quickly and see the visiting team head coach pop up from the dug-out onto the top step. Uh oh.... He continues and in my head I'm thinking ...."ok, he's going to stop and go back" ....nop
  4. Not enough research. 7.12 Unless two are out, the status of a following runner is not affected by a preceding runner’s failure to touch or retouch a base. The BR did not "pass" R2. R2 crossed the plate (without touching it, I know), so he is assumed to have touched the plate until such time as an appeal is made.Once he 'crossed" the plate, he was no longer a runner. These are replies from this post, and they got my brain thinking about an entirely plausible (and probably encountered) situation: R1, less than 2 outs. Batter hits a HR. While rounding the ba
  5. Last night, in my son's AAA (ages 9-11) Little League game, a runner missed home plate while scoring. The manager tried to appeal as did the 9yo pitcher; neither one appealed it correctly. At that level, what is your thinking as an umpire? Require the kid to perform a tricky appeal play correctly, or be more lenient - let them do the appeal and then call the runner out for missing the plate? From the umpire's behavior, he acted as if the kid missed the plate, othewise I feel he would have rushed it all along. For the record, he is the best umpire at that level in our league.
  6. Ok, yesteday had a district game, Bottom 1st, I'm PU, R1 2 outs, batter hits an easy double possible triple to the right field gap. I start to rotate up to third, once i recognize there won't be a play into third i begin to head back home stopping when R1 rounded third to assure that he touched, sure enough he missed third by about six inches, plain as day. R1 scores and BR is standing on third after a potential time play. Catcher for DT calls time, DT Manager asks if i called time, I say yes. He then instructs his pitcher to step on the rubber so i can put the ball in play, I call play, knowi
  7. Situation: Home team down 7-6 Bottom 7 w/ 2 outs. R1 only. Batter destroys one over the left field fence for a HR. As R1 rounds second, he misses the bag. After the runners are done and before all the infielders have crossed the foul line (had to include that). The DC appeals that R1 missed second. Since he's correct R1 is called out. My question is this: Since the appeal was on a base that was a force out for out #3, am I correct when I say that the HR is nullified and the game's over? VT wins 7-6?
  8. Got a call from a friend today. Little league majors. He had the plate. R1, no outs. Flyball to deep LF. R1 doesn't think it's going to be caught, touches and passes 2nd when the ball is caught. Returning to 1st, R1 misses 2nd on his way back. He beats a throw back into 1st. U2 calls time, and with no appeal, calls R1 out for missing 2nd I told him I've never heard of such a thing. I said F3 could tag the runner while standing on 1st and say "he missed 2nd" and that would be an appeal and an out. Otherwise without a proper appeal I don't see any rule that allows the umpire to just call
×
×
  • Create New...