Jump to content

Search the Community

Showing results for tags 'foul ball'.



More search options

  • Search By Tags

    Type tags separated by commas.
  • Search By Author

Content Type


Forums

  • Umpire-Empire
    • Introductions
    • Ask the Umpire
    • Minor League Baseball Umpire Training Academy
    • Umpire-Empire
    • Memberships
    • Announcements & Milestones
    • Buy, Sell or Trade
  • Speak out
    • Free For All
    • Situations
    • Umpire Mechanics
    • Rules
    • Ejections
    • Umpire Equipment
    • Books
    • War Stories
  • Umpire News
    • Quick Tips
    • Close Call Sports/ Umpire Ejection Fantasy League
    • Umpire News From Around the Web
    • Ump-Attire.com
  • Level of Play
    • High School
    • Collegiate
    • Recreation
    • Professional
    • Softball
    • Cooperstown Dream Park
  • Off-Topic
    • Off-Topic/Funny Stories
    • Photography
    • Humor
    • Other Sports
    • Announcers

Product Groups

  • Memberships
  • Umpire-Empire Items
  • Cooperstown Dream Park Posting/Advertisement

Categories

  • Interviews
  • Equipment
  • Game Management
  • Self Improvement
  • Health & Fitness
  • Miscellaneous
  • Get to Know

Categories

  • Equipment
    • Chest Protectors
    • Hockey Style Masks
    • Traditional Masks
    • Plate Shoes
    • Base Shoes
    • Shin Guards
    • Athletic Cups
    • Mask Pads
    • Other Equipment
  • Umpire Accessories
    • Equipment Bags
    • Indicators
    • Ball Bags
    • Line up card holders
    • Sunglasses
    • Other Accessories
  • Uniforms
    • Umpire Shirts
    • Umpire Pants
    • Undergarmets
    • Umpire Jackets/ Plate Coats
    • Umpire Caps
  • Suppliers
  • Umpire Manuals, Rules/Interpretation Manuals, Mechanics Manuals
  • Umpire Camps & Clinics
  • Books (pleasure reading)
  • Products no longer available for retail sale

Find results in...

Find results that contain...


Date Created

  • Start

    End


Last Updated

  • Start

    End


Filter by number of...

Joined

  • Start

    End


Group


AIM


MSN


Website URL


ICQ


Yahoo


Jabber


Skype


Location


Interests


Your Association Name


Occupation


Types/Levels of Baseball called

Found 17 results

  1. Mad Mike

    What Ya Gonna Do?

    R1 outs don't matter. OBR rule set. R1 breaks early on the pitch to the batter. R1 arrives at second base at the time the batter fouls off the pitch. Can the runner be allowed to stay at second? Or do we have him return because the base he last occupied at TOP was 1st when the ball was fouled off? I seem to recall reading about this a few years ago, but I can't find the correct reference in the BRD. Any help would be appreciated!!!
  2. I need some input on a FED issue: R1, count 1-2. Pitch is made. Batter foul tips the ball. Cleanly caught by catcher. Unfortunately, base umpire (newbie) loudly announces foul ball. R1 is stealing on the pitch. Catcher does not play on the runner. They sent the runner back to first and did a "do over" as if the ball were truly foul. Returning the runner is certainly the correct thing to do because the defense was disadvantaged from playing on the runner. However, should this be considered a strike out? Or is it correct to treat this solely as a foul ball and the batter gets another crack at it?
  3. Your browser does not support iframes.
  4. Thunderheads

    OUCH!!

    got to hurt ........ Your browser does not support iframes. AND ............. Mark Ripperger got hit yesterday as well .......... (embed not available) http://m.mlb.com/video/v356953983/?query=umpire
  5. R1/R3 under OBR. R1 goes on the pitch. Batter fouls it directly off catcher's mask and it bounces up towards 1st base dugout. Umpire first calls "foul ball" but then watches the catcher make a spectacular diving catch. R1 is standing on second and defense throws to first in an apparent appeal. What should be the call here?
  6. A supposed foul ball that not everyone agrees with, ...then, ...a next pitch home run leads to EJ's ...... discuss....... Your browser does not support iframes.
  7. ok ...what did he hear? (embed not available for this video) http://m.mlb.com/video/v234939983/?query=umpire
  8. you don't see THIS one that often ...... Your browser does not support iframes.
  9. http://m.mlb.com/video/topic/63106348/v36865963
  10. I don't think this was posted....anyone see this?   http://m.mlb.com/video/v36751717
  11. once you get a concussion, you're more likely to get another ....... hope he's ok ....   http://m.mlb.com/video/v36367431
  12. We had a recent conversation among a few umpires about the mechanics and responsibilities of calling a fair or foul ball by the plate and base umpire. The situation discussed was that in a two-man system, and no one on base, a ball is batted up the first base line. The question(s) are: 1) Using NFHS mechanics, does the plate umpire have the call on the ball's status anywhere before the bag and the base umpire takes it after the bag? 2) Same question, but using NCAA or Pro Mechanics? We have one guy who is adamant the base umpire takes the it down the line before the bag and plate takes it down the line after the bag. This seems to be opposite of what most of us think and pre-game. I did note there does seem to be one instance in which the plate umpire would take it past the bag, when the base umpire in A, has to move to avoid being hit by the ball and is no longer in the best calling position on the ball. Please chime in with suggestions on the approved mechanics by the level.
  13. Anyone see this last night ....   What other explanation does Ausmus need here?   http://m.mlb.com/video/v32991155/detbos-pedroias-fair-ball-ruled-foul-pops-out/?query=umpire
  14. R2, R3 2 outs. Airborne fly ball batted into foul territory behind home plate. F2 slides toward the backstop, the ball tips off of the catcher's mitt and lodges into the top of his shin guard. F2 pulls the ball out and shows it to the plate umpire. (I saw it happened in a game this year) The ball never touches the ground. The ball lodged between the inside of the shin guard and F2's knee cap. What say you: FED: NCAA: OBR:
  15. Guest

    Fair or Foul

    Hi everyone, I have a question regarding the MLB official rules regarding fair balls, specifically the meaning of a ball that first fall in fair territory "on or beyond first base or third base." Here is the definition: A FAIR BALL is a batted ball that settles on fair ground between home and first base, or between home and third base, or that is on or over fair territory when bounding to the outfield past first or third base, or that touches first, second or third base, or that first falls on fair territory on or beyond first base or third base, or that, while on or over fair territory touches the person of an umpire or player, or that, while over fair territory, passes out of the playing field in flight. This definition is pretty clear for a ball hit down the line, but what if a fly ball gets hit, and lands behind the pitchers mound in the infield grass, but hits a water spigot (or rock or something in the field). As a result of the object it hits, it bounces in front of third base and rolls to a stop in foul territory, without being touched by anyone prior to it settling. Is this a fair ball or foul ball? I have read in other forums that in some rule books it talks about an "imaginary line" drawn from first base to third base. Are we to assume that MLB means the same thing when it says "beyond first base or third base?" If that is the case, is the imaginary line drawn between the front edge of the bag: <>____________<> , or from the middle of the bag: <>-------------------<>, or from the back? Or alternatively does "beyond first base or third base" mean "beyond an arc in the infield that is 90 feet from home plate".... or even "beyond the line drawn from third to second to first." I know the chances of this happening are less than winning the lottery but I am really curious and would love to hear your thoughts! Thanks, Nick
  16. Guest

    Touch up on a foul ball

    I had a situation last night that luckily the coach did not question. My partner and I struggled to come up with a correct answer. I know that on a foul ball there is no rule that states the runners must touch up at their previous bases even though everyone thinks that there is. Here is the situation we had: Runner on 1st (R1) and third (R3) one out. As the pitcher come set at the mound R1 takes off to second and reaches second bases before the pitcher delivers the pitch. The pitch is then fouled off. The runner (R1) remained at second. My question was is the pitchers coach asked to return the runner back to first what should we have done? Time of pitch R1 had become R2 or is he still R1 from when pitcher was set?
×
×
  • Create New...