Jump to content
  • 0
spark2212

Scoring on a walkoff

Question

Situation: bases loaded in a tie game in the bottom of the ninth. The batter produces a base hit that then bounces out of play for what would normally be a ground-rule double. However, since the winning run started at third only a single is needed to end the game.

 

Is this still a ground-rule double and how many runs score on the play?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

11 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

This is scored as just a single with one run scoring—here is the applicable scoring rule.

2019 OBR rule 9.06(f) Subject to the provisions of Rule 9.06(g), when a batter ends a game with a safe hit that drives in as many runs as are necessary to put his team in the lead, the Official Scorer shall credit such batter with only as many bases on his hit as are advanced by the runner who scores the winning run, and then only if the batter runs out his hit for as many bases as are advanced by the runner who scores the winning run.

Rule 9.06(f) Comment: The Official Scorer shall apply this rule even when the batter is theoretically entitled to more bases because of being awarded an “automatic” extra-base hit under various provisions of Rules 5.05 and 5.06(b)(4)…

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
2 minutes ago, Senor Azul said:

This is scored as just a single with one run scoring—here is the applicable scoring rule.

2019 OBR rule 9.06(f) Subject to the provisions of Rule 9.06(g), when a batter ends a game with a safe hit that drives in as many runs as are necessary to put his team in the lead, the Official Scorer shall credit such batter with only as many bases on his hit as are advanced by the runner who scores the winning run, and then only if the batter runs out his hit for as many bases as are advanced by the runner who scores the winning run.

Rule 9.06(f) Comment: The Official Scorer shall apply this rule even when the batter is theoretically entitled to more bases because of being awarded an “automatic” extra-base hit under various provisions of Rules 5.05 and 5.06(b)(4)…

Related question. Let’s say in the same scenario there are two outs and R2 and R3 both reach home plate before BR reaches first. Is it still only one run?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Under NFHS, the game ends as soon as the winning run scores.  The exception is for a home-run, where you would sore all runs.  Don’t ask why a ground rule double is different.

Rule 4 Starting and Ending Game

SECTION 2 ENDING A REGULATION GAME

ART. 1 . . . A regulation interscholastic game consists of seven innings (turns at bat) unless extra inning( s) are necessary because of a tie score, or unless shortened because the home team needs none of its half of the seventh or only a fraction of it (Art. 2); or because of weather, or darkness (Art. 3). Each team must have nine players in its lineup throughout the game (see 4-4-1f Note 2). Otherwise, the game will be forfeited. A forfeited game is regulation, regardless of innings played (4-4-2).

ART. 2 . . . The game ends when the team behind in score has completed its turn at bat in the seventh inning, or any inning thereafter if extra innings are necessary. If the home team scores a go-ahead run in the bottom of the seventh inning, or in any extra inning, the game is terminated at that point. Any game that is tied at the end of 4 ½ or at least five full innings when the game is called shall be a tie game, unless the state association has adopted a specific game ending procedure. Batting and fielding records are counted, but the game is not counted in computing percentages of games won and lost. By state association adoption, the game shall end when the visiting team is behind 10 or more runs after 4 ½ innings, or after the fifth inning, if either team is 10 runs behind and both teams have had an equal number of times at bat.

a. If an over-the-fence home run is hit, all runs score before the game is terminated.

b. Two seven-inning games shall constitute a doubleheader.

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
22 minutes ago, spark2212 said:

Related question. Let’s say in the same scenario there are two outs and R2 and R3 both reach home plate before BR reaches first. Is it still only one run?

Yes - doesn't matter how many outs or how many players cross - only one run is needed, only one run scores (unless an out of play HR)

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
5 hours ago, spark2212 said:

Related question. Let’s say in the same scenario there are two outs and R2 and R3 both reach home plate before BR reaches first. Is it still only one run?

The timing is irrelevant. The game is over when the winning run scores. Nothing else happens.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
42 minutes ago, maven said:

The timing is irrelevant. The game is over when the winning run scores. Nothing else happens.

I ask because the rules specifically state that with two outs the winning run cannot score before the batter reaches first. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
9 hours ago, spark2212 said:

I ask because the rules specifically state that with two outs the winning run cannot score before the batter reaches first. 

giphy.gif

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

Now, this isn't an umpiring-specific situation, but I never knew that. I figured any play with awarded bases to end the game would give the runners those awarded bases. But it appears that's only true for a home run.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.


×
×
  • Create New...