Quick pitch or no

Gfoley4
Umpire-Empire locks topics which have not been active in the last year. The thread you are viewing hasn't been active in 1908 days so you will not be able to post. We do recommend you starting a new topic to find out what's new in the world of umpiring.

• Replies 9
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Popular Days

Top Posters In This Topic

On further review, the call stands.

I think it probably is a quick pitch, but it wasn't dangerous (yes, I know that's not a requirement, but it is the reasoning). I'm not arguing with anybody on this one (unless I'm a coach and it's against my team). The batter didn't seem to be fazed by it.

10 minutes ago, kylehutson said:

it wasn't dangerous (yes, I know that's not a requirement, but it is the reasoning).

That is absolutely not the only reasoning for preventing quick pitches. It's to give the batter an opportunity to actually have a chance to hit the pitch.

10 minutes ago, kylehutson said:

The batter didn't seem to be fazed by it.

He stood there and stared back at the umpire. The pitch was basically a cock shot, so he's definitely not questioning the location.

I absolutely have a quick pitch here. Not knowing the context, such as inning or whether the pitcher's been doing it, I can't give a full opinion on what I'd do. If this is the first time he did it, I'm talking to F2 at the start of the next inning. If there's been a talking already, then I'm killing the pitch.

Timing of being a quick pitch or not, the new NCAA rules for both the windup and set positions have him in an illegal pitching position.  If he's in a windup, his non-pivot foot has to be at or behind the front edge of the rubber with shoulders facing the batter.  If he's in the set, his shoulders need to be facing the respective foul line at the time of stopping and his pivot foot parallel and in contact ot the rubber.  Ruling:  Balk if anyone was on base, ball on the batter if not.  No more warnings.