Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest

Runner obstructed during pickoff

Question

Guest Randy

Runner leading off first base dives back to base to avoid being picked off by pitcher, but first baseman is clearly blocking the base. Runner could not reach the base and was tagged out but obstruction was called. Is the runner placed on first base, which is where he was trying to get back to, or is he awarded second base?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 2

All OBS in FED, and Type A (play being made) OBS in OBR and NCAA, requires an award of at least one base.

​Just to clarify for non-umpires: this phrase means the next base, beyond the last base legally touched. In the OP, ruling OBS would result in sending the runner to 2B in all codes.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 1

All OBS in FED, and Type A (play being made) OBS in OBR and NCAA, requires an award of at least one base.

 

Only in Type B (no play being made) OBS in OBR and NCAA can you have "no award"

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

would he not just be on first safely? In the judgement of the ump, where would he be if the OBS had not happened? First Base IMO.

​If obstructed it is the next base by rule. No judgement as to this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

would he not just be on first safely? In the judgement of the ump, where would he be if the OBS had not happened? First Base IMO.

​If there was no award of 2nd base, what would be the "incentive" for the defense to play by the rules? 

Edited by Richvee
  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

would he not just be on first safely? In the judgement of the ump, where would he be if the OBS had not happened? First Base IMO.

​This is not intended to be snarky.

What is your thought process on this? As @Richvee says, why would defense not block the bag entirely if there is no penalty? All baseball codes award the next base if a play is being made on any runner and he is obstructed for this very reason.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...