Jump to content

NavyBlue

Members
  • Posts

    21
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by NavyBlue

  1. "You'll pick up your BU when you get to the field, and if you don't, give me a call, I'll ump with you."
  2. 16.5" F3 shin guards, used half a season, too big for me (had to order the next smaller size). Excellent condition. $70 shipped.
  3. This is a multi-part question about the ball being thrown out of play. OBR, Adult Men's League. R1, R2, outs don’t matter. Fly ball hit to shallow CF just behind 2B. F4 and F8 converge, neither catches it, so force play now in effect. R2 thought ball would be caught and hangs close to 2B (but not touching it). R1 didn’t think it would be caught and advances toward 2B. F8 picks up ball and throws to F6 covering 2B, but R1 was already standing on the base (so he’s safe). R2 realizes he must advance to 3B so he turns and runs. F6 throws to F5 for the force but ball goes out of play before R2 gets to 3B. We rule two base award from time of throw. R2 who had not yet acquired 3B scores. R1 who had acquired 2B scores. BR goes to 3B because he had acquired 1B at time of the throw. 1) Did we get this right? DHC thinks this situation falls under the rules of a first play by an infielder, which, in fact, the ball going out of play was indeed the first play by an infielder. So he thinks base awards should be from time of pitch. I fumbled with some words, but essentially told him that rule does not apply since an outfielder had made “the first play”. I need some clear language to address this… 2) “Coach, once an outfielder handles a batted ball the first play by an infielder rule is no longer applicable.” Would that be an accurate and acceptable response to him? If my proposed statement were NOT true, anytime a batter hits a triple all an outfielder would have to do is throw the ball to an infielder and have the infielder throw the ball out of play over near 3B, then we’d have to move B1 back to 2B in accordance with a two base award from the time of pitch. That would be all kinds of bad. So, this got me thinking…change the scenario…bases empty, no outs…infield ground ball hit to F5 who gloves it while diving to his left. Knowing he can’t make a throw to 1B from the ground he tosses the ball up to F6 who turns and fires the ball over to 1B. Ball sails out of play. I don’t think we’d consider his toss to F6 a play attempt so F6’s throw is the first play by an infielder. 3) Two bases from time of pitch? Finally, (change scenario again), R1, no outs…R1 stealing on the pitch, slow ground ball to F6. F6 fields and throws to F4 for the force at 2B. F4 realizes R1 will beat the throw so he just catches the ball away from 2B and fires to 1B. Ball sails out of play. A coach might argue that there was never actually a “first play” at 2B, but in my mind when F6 threw to 2B he was attempting a play. Just because F4 decided to abort the play attempt at 2B doesn’t change the fact that there was a play attempt. 4) Two bases from time of throw? R1 scores (since he had acquired 2B at the time of throw) and BR goes to 2B (he had not acquired 1B at the time of the throw). Hoping someone will reply with Yes, Yes, Yes, and Yes. Thanks!
  4. HokieUmp, I'm just north of you up 35 and I was REQUIRED to assign TWO umpires to Shetland for PONY Sectionals (which is before Regionals). PONY actually has a "Foal" division now for 3 and 4 year olds, which because of the age cut off date means 2 and 1/2 year old kids are now playing in an organized division. This was our first year for this program. Every other kid after hitting the ball off the tee would chase the ball him/herself and some would cry if a defender got the ball before he/she did. So far I have fought off any attempts to put umpires at this age group.
  5. We had one get close, about two feet on the fair territory side, so it wasn't controversial. This is a NCAA D3 field. School is hosting a select/travel tournament. The guy that laid down the "line(s)" (who shall remain un-named) wanted to get the lines down the night before, BUT, the school had a "lights out policy" for that night in support of an Astronomy program, so the field lights could not be turned on. He figured he'd done this enough times that he could literally do it in the dark. He got 3B line done just fine. On the 1B line he fell victim to the string getting caught up on the striping machine and drifting off course, and he didn't notice it in the dark naturally. You'd think the second attempt, now weary of "string drift" would go better, but no, it did not. All the coaches were good sports about it (probably because we didn't have any close calls though!).
  6. Hopefully the image will come through this time. Like I said, might as well fail a second time!
  7. Yes, I actually called games all weekend on this field. If at first you don't succeed, might as well fail a second time.
  8. NavyBlue

    Time/Balk

    Don't get too excited, the pitcher must "legally deliver the ball" in order to get the strike in (a), (b), and (c). You do get the first strike for (b) without the pitch. One of the things that has always bugged me about this rule is that in (a), (b), and (c) the pitcher must have "stopped or hesitated in his delivery". Is it possible to stop or hesitate and yet still "legally deliver the ball"? If he stops in his delivery doesn't the pitch become illegal and therefore you can never meet the criteria to get the strike for the delivered ball?
  9. Senor Azul, regarding the 2010 Situation 13 caseplay, I thought a base belongs to the runner who last acquired it until he touches his next base, so can R2 "legally" acquire 3B while R3 is still in a rundown? If R3 was NOT tagged out in the caseplay on the rundown but returned to 3B and R2 was also on 3B, and both were tagged while on the base, R2 would be out because he could not legally acquire 3B, right? Therefore, at the instance of interference by R3 during the rundown in the caseplay, 3B becomes open to be acquired (because R3 is now out), but it also seems that at the instance of interference R2 should return to his last legally acquired base, which is 2B. I'm confused obviously.
  10. My safety concern is the flash distracting the pitcher and him losing just enough control of that pitch such that B1 gets hit by the pitch. "Ma'am, for the safety of the players would you please turn off the flash? Thank you."
  11. FED rules. No, I did not encounter this. Just contemplating rules and this came to mind. Probably never going to happen...I think. IFF is declared, F4 catches the ball (or at least touches it with his glove). Offense claims F4 using illegal glove. You check, and indeed it is illegal. Now what? BR was called out before the ball was touched by the glove, so the glove had nothing to do with the out. Everyone should be awarded three bases per 8-3-3b. What takes precedence, the IFF or the illegal glove?
  12. Would it be considered runner (batter-runner) interference if his follow through hit the catcher and that contact made the catcher unable to run down the line and grab the ball as it rolled fair? It was still in foul territory and called foul in the OP so the play is dead, but what if the BU had not called it foul and what I proposed had happened? Would this be an example of the OP's question about interference with no one on base? Thanks.
  13. I got a specific confirmation e-mail from them last year so look for that shortly.
  14. I believe the team can refuse to advance on the balk. OBR 5.06(b)(3) "Each runner, other than the batter, MAY without liability to be put out, advance one base when: (A) There is a balk." Doesn't state that they have to.
  15. I understand experience is the best teacher and it takes time. Even though I may have called every pitch correctly, it's just awkward discussing pitches with a partner and not having the pitching lexicon to say, "Yes, that last pitch in the top of the sixth was a great (fill in the blank) ball", or being asked, "How's that pitcher's (fill in the blank) ball?" Asking the catcher what was just thrown doesn't do much for your credibility either. Will just be patient and keep working to develop ability to recognize the pitches. Appreciate the help.
  16. Is there a good reference (training presentation, book, or video) that effectively explains or shows, 1) what pitches look like from the umpire’s perspective, and 2) what pitches to expect based on both the batter’s count and positioning of the catcher? Most videos are about how to throw the pitch and the ones that do address the delivery path from catcher or umpire GoPros are not always clear enough to give a good view of ball movement nor are they aligned with the umpires’ eyes (most with catcher's mask), and most are shot for fun and not for instructional purposes. Having only played recreational baseball growing up I never advanced to the point of knowing what pitch to expect/anticipate based on the batter’s count. Having a few games under my belt now I am starting to learn. I have also learned where to expect the pitch based on where the catcher sets up (obviously) but I don’t know what kind of pitch to expect to be thrown to that set up location. I realize you could say that none of this matters because it is our job to call the pitch in relation to the strike zone and we don’t care how it gets there (fastball, curve, etc.) or where the catcher sets up. You could also rightly say that anticipation of a pitch is a bad thing for an umpire. We should “call ‘em as we see ‘em”, and not anticipate. Just seems that this kind of knowledge would help us be better. I am guessing that a fair number of association training programs use pitching machines to provide plate practice for new umpires but not sure if our rookies are seeing much other than fastballs in that training (I’m sure some associations have high end machines that can throw a variety but probably not many have them). Any recommended references for helping rookie umpires learn about pitching?
  17. I have both. Bought the 6 inch. Didn't like it, stuck too far out of shirt pocket. Bought the 5 inch, fits nicely. Get the 5 inch.
  18. Welcome to Texas, Hokie. Prayers on the way.
  19. Looking for any gems/pearls of wisdom to build a list of tips for new umpires. Below are the things I find myself reminding our new guys about routinely. The 10 Commandments of Umpiring by Ford Frick are excellent but those are geared toward umpire demeanor, I want to give them a list of mechanic type things to keep in mind. These tend to become my pre- or post-game discussion items with rookies. What are the most important tips you tell your rookies? The lines are in, unlike in other sports Slow down your call Never turn your back on a live ball Watch the pitch all the way to the catcher’s mitt Always put the ball back in play Pause after the catch before signaling Never observe a play on the run, be set instead Never duck your head when behind the plate Choose angle over distance Plate mechanics vigor is consistent, base mechanics vigor increases with closeness of the play Hustle on every play
×
×
  • Create New...