Jump to content

lawump

Established Member
  • Content Count

    1,120
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    66

Everything posted by lawump

  1. First, let me say from personal experience Rojas is a piece of SH*# and I'd tell him that to his face if he walked into my office right now. I had the pleasure of throwing him out at a plate meeting; he's that big of a POS. With that said, to answer the question in the OP, I'd want to know what level of baseball I was working. If it was a professional game, there is no way I'm brushing off the plate. And, I'd hope for the next pitch to be right down the middle. I would then "ball" the pitch. And when F2 asked where that pitch was located, I'd respond with, "how do I know, I can't see
  2. The universal DH is a collective bargaining issue. For now, the union will not agree to the universal DH. How strongly they are opposed to it is unknown, as it is very likely that at this point in time they just are not going to concede to any management request on any CBA issue since the negotiations on a new CBA are expected to be very contentious. (The current CBA expires at the end of this season.) Personally, I would be very surprised if the 2022 season starts on time as I would expect a strike/lock-out...just because its baseball and they (both sides) never do anything right with
  3. As an aside to this thread, I think a CR should be allowed. (Not that what I think counts anymore...it used to count 1/11th...but not anymore.) The purpose of the CR rule is to speed up the game; that is, it is a "suggested speed-up rule". I, personally, don't think that it should matter if F1 or F2 is also the DH. The purpose of the rule is to speed up the game. So, under this interpretation we don't allow the F2 to go into the dugout and get his gear on while his team is still batting (thus, speeding up the game) simply because he's also the DH? That doesn't make sense to me. If the C
  4. I suggest going through each potential answer to a question and asking yourself, "is this potential answer true?" [I am going to change the nomenclature from the OP to the correct nomenclature] Is "R2 scores, R1 is awarded third base, and B/R is awarded second base," correct? No. So, we eliminate "A". Is "R2 scores, R1 scores, and B/R is awarded third," correct? As discussed above, it is. So, we know "B" is a correct answer. Is "R2 scores, R1 and B/R are awarded a minimum of one base and potentially more based on the umpires' judgment," correct? We all know this is i
  5. There was that time when I said, "screw it" when I had a Division 1 game with a game time temperature of 29-degress and a wind chill much lower (one of the coldest days in SC history). On the bases, I wore my long sleeve shirt (on top of some thermals). On top of the shirt I wore my insulated zip up base coat. On top of that I wore my plate coat. So there you go: I wore a long sleeve shirt and plate coat on the bases, at the same...and at the same time I was wearing a base coat between them. I dare anyone to criticize my fashion choices!!! (For the record, four years later and
  6. lawump

    Profanity

    Not to hijack the thread...but I'm sick of all these "Canadians are so nice" posts all over the internet. I mean, Blue Jays fans are complete buttheads (see the "beer throwing at umpires as they walk of the field" incident from a few years ago) and there are a TON of videos on YouTube of Canadian parents going batSH*# crazy at youth hockey games. I'm beginning to think Canadians aren't really that nice...they just have a great marketing department.
  7. lawump

    Uniform question

    https://www.southcoasttoday.com/article/20081016/sports/81016013 https://www.nytimes.com/2008/10/24/sports/baseball/24capecod.html Just an interesting piece of history about uniforms and who "owns" them...at least when it comes to copyrighted logos/names of MLB teams.
  8. All three look extremely professional. Unless your assignor/association has a mandatory uniform policy...what does it matter? And a little bit of history...in 1997 MiLB umpires were not allowed to wear a "base jacket" on the plate. Back then, you wore a short sleeve shirt or a plate coat (there were no long sleeve shirts). In 1998, us MiLBer's were suddenly allowed to wear a "pullover" jacket on the plate. The reason for change in terminology and policy? MiLB took over running umpire development from MLB and they didn't want to pay for plate coats anymore. Starting in 1998, Mi
  9. lawump

    Profanity

    I will add this war story (which I'm certain I have posted before): Normally, for the levels I work (shaving-aged players) I do not eject a player simply for swearing (as opposed to calling me a swear word). With that said: I was once working a high school game. A groundball was hit up the first base line, fielded by F1. F1 made a swipe tag attempt at the B/R and my partner (the base umpire) called safe/no tag. After the play, my partner came to me for help and I quickly told him that I didn't have anything different. Now...to set the scene...as we were talking, parents/fans of th
  10. We're Zooming it for weekly rules meetings. We are, however, having our on-field camp/clinic for guys with 3-years of experience or less. However, it will be socially distance (we are limiting attendees, it is entirely outdoors, we are using two fields and two cages to break-up groups, everyone has to wear a mask, etc.).
  11. https://www.espn.com/mlb/story/_/id/20294816/skunk-outfield-how-most-epic-trick-play-history-broke-baseball
  12. And, they get the money back if they win the protest.
  13. $100 is the standard fee for all youth groups in my area of the country...including high school
  14. South Carolina is being pushed back roughly 2 1/2 weeks. We'll start our "pre-season" tournaments (these are games with umpires) at the end of the first week of March. Our state championships will be the first week of June rather than the second week of May. Of course, with positivity rates running at 20% right now in our state (that is, 20% of all people tested are testing "positive") it is entirely possible that this season could be delayed further.
  15. Not me! I actually tried to change this rule to the OBR rule. I didn't get very far. In fact, it didn't even come up for a formal vote, as I recall, as there was little appetite in the room to change it. So, it is more than one person.
  16. The game management lesson in this scenario is that the line-ups must be reviewed carefully at the plate meeting, and the plate umpire has to ask a couple of questions. These include confirming for whom the DH is batting (including batting for himself if he is a DP/DH) and confirming that all of the team's substitutes are listed. These should be routine procedures followed at each and every plate conference. So, I'm with beerguy55...who played on defense in the first inning? For whom was the listed DH batting? We cannot fully evaluate how you handled this until we know that informat
  17. With the numerous rule changes over the last several rules cycles, I would say the differences are becoming greater as NCAA has been trending towards being more in line with OBR interpretations and away from FED over that time. All of that to say: that even though it is not that long ago a 2016 edition of the BRD is probably too out-of-date when dealing with the NCAA as it has had a lot of significant changes.
  18. I have mixed feelings about the “must use hammer mechanic” mantra. On one hand, if an umpire has consistently good timing, he can point to the side without any problems. In the 23-years since I completed my formal professional training, I have always pointed to the side. That includes when I worked Class “A” baseball (which is the most advanced and fastest level of baseball in the world using a 2-man umpire crew). I have never missed anything as a result of pointing to the side in those 23-years. (A brief aside (pardon that pun): I DO realize that I have probably just jinxed myself).
  19. And just to add my two cents: some day this will happen again only the head coach/manager will come running out directly to you (the plate umpire). Your only reply must be, “you need to talk to my partner,” followed by (should the coach continue to talk to you) “skip, you need to talk to my partner about his call!”
  20. Here's what happened. I talked to the base umpire after the game. First, he said that the plate umpire gave a loud and unmistakable strike three mechanic (which was a different mechanic than his strike one and two mechanics...as is the case for most of us (the late, great Harry Wendlestedt not withstanding)). He said they both couldn't believe what happened. Second, he said they got together after the play. While talking, my base umpire told the plate umpire that it was BOO and they needed to handle it accordingly. The plate umpire said, "no, its too late we have to let it stand." Ultima
  21. Sometimes, third world plays actually occur. This play happened in a weekend travel ball game involving 13u teams. The game was played using FED rules with some modifications (the modifications are inapplicable to this play). I assign the umpires for this travel ball organization's games in my geographical area. Top of the seventh inning, tie game, R3, no outs. Batter is called out on strikes. The umpires then did what they normally do between batters (give each other signals, mentally reset, etc.). The next pitch comes in and the batter hits a deep fly to left field which is caught
  22. Actually @grayhawk did not give such an example. (And that's no dig at Grayhawk.) Grayhawk's suggested mechanic was actually taught in 1997 at umpire school (and, in fact, it continues to be taught). So, Grayhaw's post is a compelling example of an amateur umpire knowing and using an advance mechanic taught at pro school that a lot of pro school students struggle with. (I would expect nothing less from @grayhawk, BTW). Unrelated to the quoted posted above, but related to other posts in this thread, I'm going to stick up for some of us trainers. By way of example, I actually receive
  23. If I were a coach (and, by the grace of GOD, I am not one and never will be one) I would never ask (nor have my catcher ask) this question. For, in my umpiring career I have seen too many umpires verbally describe their strike zone (whether it be to other umpires or to a coach/player) as being one thing, only to see them go out and call a strike zone that is the complete opposite. It is my experience that if one, for whatever reason, has a desire to be covered from head-to-toe in bullSH*#, one should listen to one of his fellow umpires describe their strike zone. (Not saying that
  24. I won't re-tread an old discussion (that I apparently missed). LOL. I'll just add that I see the merits of your argument, but I'm not sure my pro umpire school instructors would have agreed with it (at least in 1997...they certainly could have changed since then.) But, in fact, the lawyer in me likes your argument/position as it seems very logical to me.
  25. I cannot totally agree with this post, @maven, with regards to a batter’s interference with a catcher’s throw. In Fed, calling a second out (when the batter strikes out and then interferes with the catcher) against the runner being played upon is discretionary and requires the umpire to determine if the defense had a possibility of getting a double play “but for” the interference. Under OBR, there is no discretion. Compare, “(i)f the pitch is a third strike and in the umpire’s judgment interference prevents a possible double play (additional outs), two may be ruled out,” (FED 7-3-5 Pena
×
×
  • Create New...