Jump to content

DevildogUmp

Members
  • Posts

    35
  • Joined

  • Last visited

About DevildogUmp

  • Birthday 09/03/1981

Profile Information

  • Location
    Indianapolis, IN

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    IUA
  • Occupation
    USMC
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Little Legue, High School
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

2,359 profile views

DevildogUmp's Achievements

12

Reputation

  1. So a Facebook post was discussing positioning between innings and I saw a few people post how they stand on the offensive foul line as the plate umpire so they can let the on deck batter know how many pitches are left. Is this something taught at schools? I've never given the on deck batter the number of pitches left. They know it is time to come up when the catcher throws down (at least in the games/levels I do) and if they aren't moving towards the plate on the throwdown, I'm calling for them as I go to sweep the plate. Matt
  2. Little league game and there is yelling and swearing from a participant with the crowd? I'm stopping that game until the board member on duty (regular season) or TD (tournament) takes care of the problem. If the coach is swearing at a little league game he has just informed me that he doesn't want to be there anymore. If there are no league reps present, I'm pretty sure I can get the cooperation of the other coaches that the game will not continue until the coach and spectator leave. And yes, definitely going to be a pretty detailed report to the board about what I saw/heard. Matt
  3. The World Baseball Softball Confederation appoints them. The WBSC was created by the merger of the International Baseball Federation (IBF) and International Softball Federation (ISF) in 2013 and headquartered in Switzerland. WBSC has 3 levels of umpires: A, B, C. 'A' umpires can work the baseball world cup, the Olympic umpires were chosen from this pool of umpires based on their evaluations over the past 3 years. Matt
  4. Max, what is the IFF signal over the right shoulder? The only 2 IFF signals I have ever learned or seen is the arm across the chest (old and discontinued) and the brim of the hat, Matt
  5. First there is no rule that says a umpire must get help on any rule. Umpires are encouraged to get the call right, but that is not a license for a coach to shop calls. Lots of information missing from this situation. Where was BU? If I'm in A and there is no weird action that may have blocked my view there is no way I am entertaining going to my partner 40' or more away for help. It is my call. If I am in 'B' or 'C', I might agree to go for help, but I would have to have my own doubt on whether I saw everything. Second, the coach's response is very close to the line for me. If there have been other issues during the game or the coach has already been warned, that statement might be enough for the coach to leave early. Coaches do not direct what umpires do or don't do, they can request that umpires get together, but whether or not a defensive player held the bag is a judgement call and you really don't win yourself friends arguing a judgement call. Matt
  6. ArchAngel - LL a runner must slide or attempt to avoid contact of a fielder in possession of the ball and waiting to make a tag. The bolded sections are the ones that everyone always forgets.
  7. Wow do any other states besides Texas have umpires in the Southwest region?
  8. So, video on YouTube getting some argument in regards to the following play: OBR R3/2 outs - pop fly on the 3rd base line, R3 interferes catcher while the ball is still in the air for 3rd out. No problems there. The question is who leads off the next inning and does it matter if the ball was touched fair or foul after the interference. When I started digging this is what I think I found: 1. The interference rule doesn't actually place the batter-runner at first when the interference with a fielder occurs prior to him reaching 1st - "Penalty for Interference: The runner is out and the ball is dead. If the umpire declares the batter, batter-runner, or a runner out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was in the judgement of the umpire legally touched at the time of interference."(page 65) - even though it is done in practice. 2. When a fair ball touches a runner prior to touching an infielder, by rule we place the batter-runner at 1st - 5.05(b)(4) 3. On an infield fly with interference, we wait for the fair/foul status to rule on whether to get 2 or put the batter back in the box (infield fly definition) So everything in my gut says the fair/foul status of this hit needs to be determined to make the correct ruling: 1. If fair, the BR completed his at-bat, because he was placed at first due to runner's interference with the catcher. 2. If foul, the BR did not complete his at-bat, because it was a foul ball and he leads off the next inning. My problem is that I can't find anything that backs up my gut. Am I looking in the wrong places or am I just wrong? Matt
  9. I'm going with you kicking it. Think of it this way, if the catcher threw the ball down to third because he saw the runner "sauntering" before you called time, would you have disallowed the out? For your second point, there is no pause button on the baseball field, just because the pitcher has the ball runners are not required to do anything. The rule specifically states that the pitcher must be on the rubber, not "close enough to the pitchers plate" and the catcher must be in a position to receive the pitch (mask on, facing the pitcher) and at that point, it is a violation for the runner(s) to leave a base they are standing on. If a runner is moving between bases at that time he/she gets to keep going as long as they can. You posted the third one while I was typing. The case play you gave is completely different. In this case the plate umpire caused the confusion by declaring it ball four. Once that mistake was realized and corrected, an umpire is allowed and should always correct any outs or advancements that were caused by the umpires improper call. In your OP you stated that you twice gave the correct count to the field that it was only ball 3, at that point it is on the players/coaches to continue to play it out. Matt
  10. When the umpire judges that the batter made an attempt to swing.
  11. What I really want to know it what in the world they could have been talking about with NY that took that long. That has got to be one of the most obvious RLI that you can get.
  12. Lou B - see the above comments about coach's not knowing rules. I have seen it all the time, especially used with R3 and a walk. Pitcher gets the ball, BR never stops and keeps going to second. Players and coaches don't do anything except start screaming how the pitcher has the ball.
  13. There is no one rule that cover this situation. I think part of what @Jimurray is saying about reading the rules books and manuals consistently is that you need to understand when you need to take different parts of the rule book together in order to make an informed decision. I don't have an electronic version of the rule book on this computer so I can't cut and paste the LL rules and I am not cool enough to have rule numbers memorized, but here is where I get my interpretation: 1. A runner is assumed to have touched any and all bases that they have passed. 2. A runner who has scored cannot be guilty of runner's interference, a player who has scored on the play and subsequently interferes is interference by an offensive player authorized to be on the field; therefore, a player who has legal scored is no longer a runner and thus cannot be found guilty of running infractions. Matt
  14. Some of the more experienced members may correct me, but: 1. Runners are assumed to have touched the plate once they have passed it (subject to out on appeal). So at that point, R3 has scored. 2. R2 scoring negates R3's ability to retouch to correct his mistake. 3. Both R3 and R2 have scored and therefore are no longer baserunners, rather simply offensive players. Therefore, you can't have passing and unfortunately I think you kicked it.
×
×
  • Create New...