Jump to content

Kevin_K

Established Member
  • Content Count

    1,205
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    24

Everything posted by Kevin_K

  1. So it happened yesterday. In the bottom of the 6th inning Tony Thomas stole first in the Southern Maryland Blue Claws game. It was scored a fielder's choice. http://atlanticleague.com/mobile/scoreboard-standings/
  2. Perhaps Sorry. Sometimes I can't help myself.
  3. Kevin_K

    Caught ball?

    I cannot remember the last time neither my partner nor I failed to call "catch" at some time during a game. Whether it was on a non-routine fly ball or on a routine fly ball where PU is simply informing his partner(s) on the status of the ball, which one or more of his partners may not be looking at because they are watching runners touch bases. Just because @beerguy55 has not heard it doesn't mean it wasn't called.... just like all those plate meeting where coaches positively respond to the questions on legal equipment and uniforms and then plead ignorance when their team is called on it. My .02. YMMV
  4. I have found that when PU calls a balk F1 continues his delivery more often than when BU calls a balk. I wonder if it has something to do with the direction of the announcement.
  5. Kevin_K

    pitcher reentry

    Legion rules clearly allow re-entry S. Re-entry Rule. Departments may use the following re-entry rule for their respective department baseball program during regular season play only: “Any of the starting players may be withdrawn and re-enter once, including a player who was the designated hitter, provided such player occupies the same batting position whenever he is in the lineup. A substitute who is withdrawn may NOT re-enter.” I am amused how some people are club house lawyers, cherry picking certain rules to support a claim while ignoring other rules from the far away parts of the rules book that are on the next page because those aspects of the rules do not support the argument presented.
  6. Kevin_K

    pitcher reentry

    Some legion leagues allow starting players to re-enter a game once they are removed from the lineup. If F1 is removed for another player, he retains re-entry rights. F1 can also take another position in the field and then come back to pitch unless he is removed on a 2nd trip from the coaching staff.
  7. Kevin_K

    New Logo

    That's why I umpire. And I don't care what you people think anyway.
  8. And I bet you have not given even a bit of thought about how your partner's back will feel after carrying you for two games. So selfish.....
  9. The players are children. The rules prohibiting jewelry in LL and NFHS are safety guidelines designed to protect the player. Jewelry is not illegal in OBR or NCAA. Those players are adults who allegedly can make reasoned decisions on their own well being. Last I checked, I am an adult and I can wear or not wear jewelry (including a wedding band) as I see fit. I choose to not wear any bling. You may choose otherwise. That's what adults do.
  10. You did not include players sliding beyond the bag for outs (especially when the turf is wet) and no need for a plate brush. Snow is easily removed so early season games are more likely to be played when other fields are still in the freeze/thaw process.
  11. Kevin_K

    New Logo

    I'll be the curmudgeon. I liked the monochromatic logo better.
  12. I would suggest that this was the call. And this should be accurate, but likely is not based on the OP. To be clear, I am not suggesting the OP is correct.
  13. How did the free foot not end up closer toward 2B than when F1 engaged the rubber in the set position? Unless F1 simply spun on the toes of his non-pivot foot, it would be virtually impossible to not gain distance toward 2B. The standard for calling a balk would be that F1 did not step toward 2B from his starting position. Gaining distance and/or direction toward 2B rather than clearing the rubber is how we can determine the legality of F1s move(s).
  14. Kevin_K

    Tag & Missed base

    Perhaps a hand gesture pointing at the ball akin to the one U1 makes when F3 holds the bag while stretching for the throw? Combined with a verbal you demonstrate that you see the circumstances of the situation while not putting either side at a disadvantage.
  15. You should let them know you don't have your hearing aids in while you do the plate.
  16. I see what you did there.
  17. Kevin_K

    Squeeze out fo box?

    As is the case for adding emphasis, underlining, bolding, and/or italicizing text are the typical methods one would use. The response that I was referencing cites the mechanics of softball umpires while the game in OP was baseball. I would never stop you from using "Dead Ball" but I can guarantee that anyone who has attended one of the better camps will cringe every time they hear a baseball umpire use it. It's use, no matter how picayune it may seem, will deaden (pun intended) any progress that umpire hopes to make. Uniformity in basic mechanics is important when working with so many partners through the baseball season and dead ball will make its user stand out in a way that I would suggest one might avoid. No one has to agree with what will happen, but that's the world of umpire assigning.
  18. I think that's too tight for 8-10 year olds.
  19. IIRC, it was @BigUmpire who had quite an array of bumper stickers and one of them said something like "If you kill one monkey, the rest will fall in line."
  20. Kevin_K

    Backswing vs BI

    The OP indicates hindrance on F2. Interference is defined as any act of an offensive player, umpire or nongame person who interferes with; physically or verbally hinders; confuses; or impedes any fielder attempting to make a play. If the BR's bat hinders F2 in retiring a runner attempting to advance, why would it not be BI? As @maven indicates, F2 ran into the bat. The swing was over with no contact with the batter or the ball so backswing interference is not an option. If F2 ran into anything other than a bat, would there any question that BI would be the likely call? Could a batter just stick their bat across HP without a swing and hinder F2 without penalty? Please don't take my comments as attacks. I am trying to figure this out.
×
×
  • Create New...