Jump to content

Kevin_K

Established Member
  • Posts

    1,304
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    29

Everything posted by Kevin_K

  1. An official ruling would include a run being scored since F3 advanced at his own risk and was not retired. Further, since R1 was improperly declared out at 2B, correcting the error of the umpire would place him back at 2B. R2 should be at 3B and there should be 2 outs. Just because it's Little League does not mean umpires can MSU resulting in teams being placed at a disadvantage (offense) or given an advantage (defense).
  2. I disagree with @noumpere's suggestion that the slide is legal under NCAA rules. The OP indicates F6 is on the left field side of 2B. FPSR protects the infielder in such a location.
  3. In every game I work that's an out at second base. Additionally, the rule indicates that on force play (not force out) the runner, if he slides, must slide in a direct line between the bases. A runner may also slide in a direction away from the fielder to avoid making contact or altering the play of that infielder. Clearly that is not the case on the play above. In the NCAA, the rule book has an diagram clearly showing where a runner needs to be when they slide on such a play.
  4. I think some people may be afraid to talk to @MadMax. It may be the don't poke the bear survivalist instinct tingling.
  5. Kevin_K

    5.09(b)(7)

    The part you are failing to include is that when the runner is hit by the ball when those conditions are met the ball is immediately dead, thus eliminating any concern about another fielder having the opportunity to make any other play.
  6. Kevin_K

    5.09(b)(7)

    A fair batted ball is dead immediately when it touches a runner before touching any fielder and before passing any fielder other than F1
  7. WTF is that? Whatever assigner/association negotiated that for the umpire community is saying a lot about how they view the time and skills of their fellow umpires.
  8. So does the PU have the tongs in his ball bag, on an S hook attached to his belt, or in his back pocket next to his plate brush?
  9. It may be another example of the keyboard warriors who use all kinds of social media to anonymously pontificate on their view(s) of the world that no one else needs or cares to know
  10. What is this indicator you speak of?
  11. Masks that have an insert in the upper seam that allows the user to make a more complete seal are far better at preventing glass fogging. KN95 and N95 masks have this feature as do some commercially available fabric masks. The wire insert is exceptionally malleable and will adapt to most faces. Mrs Kevin_K has made a boat load of these masks and they work exceptionally well. She also designed them so they have thin elastic that goes around our heads and necks rather than tugging on the backs of our ears. We both work in schools and are required to wear them at all times when in the school. By the end of the day my ears felt like they were being stabbed so she pulled an @MadMax by pulling apart other masks, finding their best features, broke out her domestic power tools, and built a better mouse trap.
  12. Respectfully, I disagree with your assertion that the wedge does not work at 2B. It may not be feasible in 2 man or in some situations in 3 man, but it does work. It's applicable at all bases depending on the crew size. While the play above may have looked great, there may have been some degree of good fortune for your partner. What would have happened had the ball been misplayed by F6 and the BR proceeded to 3B? Who was going to make the call? Him trailing the play from the RF side of 2B? You, having to cover an open base when you were at the plate for R1? I would also suggest that taking the play at 2b from 10-12 feet away (6-8 feet from the cutout plus some more to the base) from 2B "just on or straddling the 1st/2nd baseline" would create a significant potential for being straight-lined and having no idea when the tag was applied with regard to the BR contacting 2B. My .02. YMMV
  13. Kevin_K

    Appeal plays

    @maven, they are finally beginning to see what so many of us already know!
  14. So how do they field, pitch, and hit?
  15. You cannot and you should not. If you do, you will likely have an less than casual conversation with the DHC when he inquires what you saw or, more specifically, what you didn't see. It's a limitation of the 2 man system. It is impossible to see everything that happens on a baseball field with a 2 man crew, and any coach worth his sunflower seed littered dugout knows you could never see such a play while in C.
  16. If you knew him, it would not surprise you!
  17. Perhaps. @LRZ's reply suggests that Supreme Court Justice Potter Stewart's ability to determine what is or is not is often in the eye of the beholder. For further details see Jacobellis v. Ohio (1964)
  18. I love the veiled reference!
  19. Mr @Senor Azul, I might suggest that the second caseplay offered does not address the engage/disengage questions. The ruling offers that F1 did in fact disengage, which makes the ruling obvious that he was an infielder and no longer a pitcher, but those details are not in the play as described. The bolded part would indicate that F1 has disengaged the pitching plate doesn't it? The last line of the first caseplay also muddies the waters as the situation does not indicate whether or not F1 had disengaged the pitching plate when feinting to 3B. It also does not indicate that F1 stepped to 1B prior to throwing there. From my reading, there is no indication in the rulebook or the casebook that a throw without a step to first base is a legal pickoff unless F1 disengages the pitching plate. The test question posed in my zombie revival offers no indication that F1 either stepped toward 1B or disengaged from the pitching plate, hence my post.
  20. Here is what the rules writers say on the language: Situation 12: At the plate conference, the home team head coach provides to the plate umpire three baseballs. The plate umpire notices that while the baseballs have the NFHS Authenticating Mark, they do not have the SEI/NOCSAE mark. RULING: The game shall be played, but the home plate umpire shall provide a report to the state association. The baseballs are required to have both marks to ensure that proper testing has been done on the baseballs. SEI/NOCSAE testing provides a means to maintain a consistent and uniform standard for high school competition and to ensure that every baseball manufactured meets the same level of quality and playability. https://nfhs.org/sports-resource-content/baseball-rules-interpretations-2020 Suddenly, I feel like I am trampling on @Senor Azul's territory.
  21. Thanks Jeff! After all these years you would think that this nonsense with pedantic phrasing would not continue to be the proverbial burr in my saddle, yet it is. The idea of these refresher tests is supposed to get guys in the rule book and to consider situations they may likely experience in games. Instead, test questions are devised in a manner so Byzantine in their structure and phrasing that most reasonably intelligent human beings are no longer thinking about the rules and the situations , rather they suffer paralysis through the analysis of "What answer are they actually looking for?" It would have been so much more effective for the question to read: With R3 on third base and R1 on 1st base, the pitcher steps toward third and fakes a throw. He then turns and throws to first base. The umpire should: As usual, @Thunderheads provides solid feedback. And I have B on my test!
  22. I know.... it's going on 3 years.... The refresher test for NJ has been published and here it is.... With R3 on third base and R1 on 1st base, the pitcher steps toward third and fakes a throw without disengaging the pitcher's plate. He then turns and throws to first base. The umpire should: A. Call a balk B. Make a call at first as this is a legal move. I know how it's going to be called in real life...
  23. The first time the wedge opened to me on a play at the plate has left an indelible impression. I can remember the teams (Boonton v. Delbarton), the score (3-1 Boonton), and the inning (top 5) with 2 out. R1 and R2 with a laser hit to left center. F8 fielded the ball moving to his right. R2 scored easily as the runners were moving on the pitch. R1 was was fast and as he rounded 3B F8 got to the ball. F8 fired a seed to F2 about 3 feet up the 3B line. As F2 moved to the ball I stayed on his left hip rotating into fair territory. The play opened in front of me and the clear view of F2 swipe tagging 1 on his left hip just outside the RH batter's box is a as vivid today as it was that day. I would strongly urge everyone who has not been to a clinic where this mechanic is taught to get to one where it is. It is a an invaluable tool that will improve your umpiring skills significantly
×
×
  • Create New...