Jump to content

mrumpiresir

Established Member
  • Posts

    332
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by mrumpiresir

  1. I agree with you 100%, That's the way it is called and should be called. I was just wondering if this had been discussed before and what thoughts others have on this.
  2. That's what a literal interpretation of the written rule would suggest.
  3. I'm not sure where your confusion arises. If a batted ball bounces first in front of the base and then crosses over the base, that's the definition of 'bounding'. The ball you're describing bounded into the outfield, and was a fair ball. This is not a "technical" call. I'm not confused and I understand what a bounding ball is. I know it's highly unlikely that what I described in the OP will ever occur and I'm certainly not suggesting that we call it differently than we have been calling it all our lives. I'm just saying that a ball that never goes beyond the back edge of the bag does not meet the definition of a fair ball according to the book. A ball first hitting fair, going over the base, then hitting foul happens very often, probably once per game at least. It's a fair ball. Heck - this is one even the TV announcers get right. I agree with that, but what I'm saying is that we will probably never see a batted ball cross the bag but not continue beyond the back edge of the bag.
  4. I'm not sure where your confusion arises. If a batted ball bounces first in front of the base and then crosses over the base, that's the definition of 'bounding'. The ball you're describing bounded into the outfield, and was a fair ball. This is not a "technical" call. I'm not confused and I understand what a bounding ball is. I know it's highly unlikely that what I described in the OP will ever occur and I'm certainly not suggesting that we call it differently than we have been calling it all our lives. I'm just saying that a ball that never goes beyond the back edge of the bag does not meet the definition of a fair ball according to the book.
  5. Since the season is slowing down for most of us, I wanted to discuss something that I’ve been wondering about. According to OBR and NFHS rules, a batted ball which is on or over fair ground when bounding to the outfield past first or third base is a fair ball. The key phrase in the rule is “when bounding to the outfieldâ€. We all know that first and third base are entirely in the infield. So if a batter hits one of those cues shots off the bat and the ball hits the ground, takes a hard left turn, crosses the front edge of third base, and bounds to foul territory before it passes the back edge of the bag, should it be fair or foul since it did not bound to the outfield? I have always called a ball that passes over any part of first or third a fair ball. Is this the correct call according to the book? I hope Mr. Rich Ives will chime in because I could not help but notice he is a stickler for the literal interpretation.
  6. I don't bring a cooler or even a bottle of water on the field. I find that I can usually get through a 2 or 3 hour game with no problem and I have worked in some dry environments. If I felt I needed some water, I have gone to a dugout or the concession stand and asked. They are always happy to oblige. Often at the plate meeting, one of the coaches will let us know that they have water available if we need it. I have worked games where some young fellow will hustle out between innings and bring us water even though we had not requested it. So in my experience, I don't feel a need to bring my own water on the field. Of course it is necessary to keep yourself hydrated throughout the season. I do keep my cooler in the car and usually drink a quart of Gatorade or water after the game.
  7. I'm haven't watched the video yet on purpose and basing my comment on what I've read. Why was this obstruction and not the OP? What was obvious in your sit that wasn't in the OP. In my play the catcher obviously grabbed the runner to prevent him from scoring while he searched for the ball. In the OP it seemed that there was a tangle and both players were mostly doing what they were supposed to be doing. I think that you could call obstruction in the OP if you judge the defensive player was doing something other than merely trying to find the ball.
  8. I had a similar play at the plate. The big difference was that the catcher, while reaching for the ball, reached out and wrapped his other arm around the runner as he tried to reach the plate. It was so obvious, so I awarded the runner the plate.
  9. Three base award for touching a fair ball with detached equipment.
  10. mrumpiresir

    OBS at 1st?

    Thanks to Rich and noumpere for posting. I was unaware and too lazy to look them up.
  11. mrumpiresir

    OBS at 1st?

    Doesn't matter. In FED it's an automatic one base (mimimum) award. In OBR if the runner is obstructed before reaching first it's a dead ball and an automatic award of first base. 7.06(a ). I know what the rule is but I started thinking about a situation where the obstruction has no affect on the play. Suppose a batter hits a high, lazy fly ball to F8 which is caught. The batter is obstructed after rounding first base. We are not going to award the batter second base on a caught fly ball to the outfield are we? I agree that if the runner was obstructed on a close play where there is some doubt, we should call obstruction. But if the runner was at the 45 ft line, and had no chance to beat the throw, I don't believe I would have obstruction, unless he was knocked down or grabbed. Probably a htbt situation. Do we have any leeway on this?
  12. mrumpiresir

    OBS at 1st?

    Where was the throw when the batter runner slowed down? If the throw beat him by a significant margin would he have been out regardless of the obstruction? This sounds like a situation where your good judgement comes into play.
  13. Just curious where all this discussion about a "pop up" comes from. This was a batted ball that bounced in front of the plate, then went in the air down the first base line. If this was a pop up we wouldn't be having this discussion.
  14. I have always looked for a distinct move when he legally steps back off the rubber. If I don't see the "distinct move", and in the video it looks more like a spin move from the rubber, he had better throw to first or I'm balking him.
  15. This is a force situation, so no run scores. Look up the definition of a force play, and it becomes clear. MODERATOR EDIT: Locked thread, question answered.
  16. If the purpose is to prevent injuries from malicious collisions MLB could have added something to the effect of making obvious malicious contact illegal. This is a rare time the FED rule makes more sense to me.
  17. Go do it, then you can determine if you want to do it again. I went to CDP once and it was an interesting experience.... but I would not go again.
  18. I was trying to find a discussion of the play where A Rod says " I got it" as he is running to third base. My specific question is: Does MLB consider verbal interference as hindering the defense? I thought they didn't but a literal reading of 7.08(b) suggests the runner could be called out. What is the interpretation and is there an approved ruling?
  19. I should have said "If the BR is hit by a ball which is over fair territory, he is out. If the ball is over foul territory, it is just a foul ball".
  20. Do you recognize that it's the position of the ball, not the runner, at the moment of contact that determines the outcome? Yes. Yes I do.
  21. This is a rather long thread for something I thought was pretty simple. If the batter runner is hit in fair territory he is out. If he is hit in foul territory we have a foul ball. If he interferes with a fielder attempting to play the batted ball, he is out. Is there more to this?
  22. I'm 64 years old with arthritis in my ankle. I have no trouble beating the runner who has to make his turn toward second to the working area inside the diamond. Maybe you should work on your "skills".
  23. In general, I agree -- but there can be exceptions. Play; ball down the line, might go past the OF fence extended. Fiedler puts up his hands, then goes after the ball. I can see he picked it up on some gravel, but I don't know whether the gravel is beyond the fence. Went out. It was. Two bases. Good use of common sense, which is sadly lacking in many people I regularly interact with.
×
×
  • Create New...