Jump to content

mrumpiresir

Established Member
  • Posts

    332
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by mrumpiresir

  1. I wouldn't do this. You are giving the coach the idea that he can come out and ask you to get help on every call he disagrees with. I tell them it was my call, I had a good look at the play, and am 100% sure of my call. I think it makes you look like are indecisive or that you could be manipulated.
  2. Jr Legion played under OBR. Pinch hitter receives a base on balls and then offensive coach enters a legal sub from the bench to run for the previous sub. Defensive coach comes out and says "You can't sub for a sub!! ??????
  3. mrumpiresir

    What if...?

    The runner must not interfere with the fielder attempting a play on a batted ball. I have interference on the BR
  4. Ground rules are specific to situations on any given ball field, such as tree limbs hanging over the field or how to handle open bullpens. Umpires should use the proper terminology. What you are talking about is a book rule double. We don't need ground rules if the situation is covered in the rule book. You often hear ground rule double when a batted ball bounces and then continues out of play over the outfield fence. It's not a ground rule, it's a book rule.
  5. Where did you get the authority to tell a player he cannot wear non prescription sunglasses? you know the rule book does not give you such authority. If they are truly distracting, Have them removed. If not, leave it alone. The only sunglasses, IMO that I won't allow are mirrored sunglasses.
  6. I have worked in three different HS associations in the last three years and heard something I would like your comments on. A discussion took place in a HS association meeting concerning the mechanic for a time play being in effect. One of the more respected umpires said that if a play occurs, the base umpire should make the call immediately so the PU knows if the run scores before or after the out on the bases. I disagreed with this because it goes against everything we were taught about your timing on the call. See the play, look for secure possession, make a determination, make the call. Takes about a second. If I'm the plate umpire, I line up the play much as I would if I were getting in position to see a runner tagging up on a caught fly ball. I really don't pay attention to the BU, but if he has an out, because I saw the play I know which occurred first, and don't have a problem making the call. Has anyone heard of this?
  7. Are you saying the runner from second base was tagged out before he reached third base? If so, this is a force out and the run does not score. (See the definition of a force play). I think you got it wrong.
  8. Sounds like obstruction to me.
  9. Your kidding! The book, your 24 years, and Ump JM can't convince him? I'll have to rephrase the question: Who trained him? I don't know the guy all that well. He seems to be a decent umpire but he was wrong about this. I haven't seen him since. You can lead a horse to water............
  10. While true, this principle does not apply to the OP. The BR reached 1B on a third strike not legally caught, which is not an award. That's true but we also disagreed on a scenario where the batter received a base on balls and the pitch subsequently went into dead ball territory. I should have brought this up in the OP. UmpJM gave you the rulebook reference for your OP. For the reference to the above OP you look in the same table in 8.2.9 and under the batter you will find #2: NO. BASES AWARDED DETERMINED FROM BASE OCCUPIED AT TIME OF: ONE BASE (runners) 1. Balk 1. Infraction 2. Pitch from pitcher’s plate thrown out of play 2. Pitch 3. Throw from pitcher’s plate goes out of play 3. Throw 4. Unintentional catch and carry 4. Pitch 5. *Catcher obstruction (if attempting to advance) 5. Pitch 6. Forced (because batter is awarded 1st base) 6. Pitch 7. Pitch strikes runner 7. Pitch ONE BASE (batter) 1. Walk 1. Pitch 2. Pitch thrown out of play on ball four 2. Pitch I understand the award is one base. I ruled that as I said in the OP. I simply wondered if a specific reference stating that base awards are not added together which is what my partner wanted to do. I thought UmpJM answered appropriately. PS I'm working lower level games because I have medical conditions which limit my mobility. After 24 years of umpiring, I am trying to cut back on the number of games I work, but the assigner won't let me.
  11. The "rule of thumb" we typically use is the ball should reach the height of the highest fence height around the infield to qualify as an infield fly. So at most of my diamonds that's about 20 ft., maybe more Seriously??? This is not a good way to umpire.
  12. Just to keep the website equitable and to back up Noumpire on another thread, why would you even ask this question? Ok, JV you get a break. But who is training you? I asked this question because my partner and I disagreed and nowhere in any rule book could I find anything that specifically addresses this situation. I ruled correctly because I follow these forums. I really don't understand why you would ask who trained me. I don't need your condescending attitude.
  13. While true, this principle does not apply to the OP. The BR reached 1B on a third strike not legally caught, which is not an award. That's true but we also disagreed on a scenario where the batter received a base on balls and the pitch subsequently went into dead ball territory. I should have brought this up in the OP.
  14. I have the plate in a JV game. R3 and the count is 0-2. Pitch in the dirt is swung at and gets away from the catcher and is rolling toward the opening in the dugout fence. BR is heading to first where he will easily be safe. Ball rolls into dugout and I kill the play and award R3 home. When I look for the BR, I see he is trotting to second. Now I'm sure i read on this board that base awards are not cumulative so I told him to return to first. What I didn't know was that my partner told him to go to second. So we had a brief discussion. He says the runner has first on beating out the uncaught third strike, and he gets second on the ball going out of play. I tell him he gets 1 base on the dead ball from the TOP, and you can't "add" the awards together. He disagrees but allows my call to stand. It was an amicable discussion. During our post game discussion we agreed to disagree but we would research it. I couldn't fin anything specific in the rule book. What do you guys think? Does anyone have an ruling on this by some credible authority?
  15. wow, ... that's deep, thanks for your insight You fancy yourself an umpire then drag professionals through the dirt. You sound like a rat. You can question the validity of a call without coming off like a pubescent female. If you were standing in front of the umpire in the booth who reviewed the call would you ask him, "seriously? Omg, you call that a catch?" As a moderator, you should be aware that impressionable yet tech savvy young umpires will quickly find this forum. Let's see here, ... I express my opinion on a play (mind you, I'm not the only one who feels the same about this reversal),...you come one here and call the "title" of the thread $h1Tty without even expressing your opinion? And I'm coming across like a pubescent female?? If I was a part of the crew in the booth, (which I never will be because I suck) ...yes, I would have said "I have a catch on this guys". Does the title of my thread really rub you the wrong way that much ?? Jeeeez.... Moderator or not, ... I'm a part of this forum, and everyone is entitled to their own opinion, even you, and you give it without regard quite a lot. By the way, you haven't given your insight regarding this play aside from your infantile "look at the scorebook" comment , ... LOL And, ....please show me where I "dragged professionals through the dirt" ??? Please, ...I'll wait patiently "look in the scorebook" ?? YOU definately now sound like a pubescent female HEY! KNOCK IT OFF! You probably don't know me well because I tend to lurk and read posts every day. You two guys are always (with a few exceptions), right on with your interpretations and application of rules. I understand arguments between a veteran umpire and one who comes here and makes incorrect statements. But this exchange between you guys accomplishes nothing and it is disturbing to me. You are the kind of umpire who should expend you energy teaching those less knowledgeable. Maybe I'm getting soft in my old age.
  16. I've got the dish in an American Legion game when F2 throws down to pick off R1. R1 was well off the base and is now caught in a rundown. I start down to cover the first base end of the rundown when F2 who is also heading to cover first base tosses his hockey style helmet down in front of me. My right foot steps square into the open end of the helmet and I go flying doing a pretty good face plant. Worst i got out of it were huge grass stains on my knees. Must have looked ridiculous to the crowd.
  17. Yup. Years ago I have the plate in a Varsity playoff game. Runners advancing to home on a gapper to right center. I move a few feet back and am watching tags at third and runners touch the plate. I look for the throw from right field and it's way off line coming at me. F1 and F2 are converging on me to play the ball. I don't know exactly what happened but apparently F2 kind of had to go around me. I hear a mad female voice from the stands " That's interference on you Blue!!" Well it is - it's just that there's no penalty. I guess it's true that I hindered the player trying to field the thrown ball but it is not umpire interference by definition. I was where I was supposed to be. The point is that the throw was so far off line it put me in a bad position and this mom thought I should call runners out or something because certainly her son's team couldn't be responsible for such a bad play. Right over your head?? You interfered with the play. But because it doesn't fall into the official requirement for enacting a penalty it is "nothing". can't have it both ways. If he interfered, we'd have interference. Since it didnt meet the definition of INT, it isn't INT. It either is or it ain't. If it ain't. ....then you can't say it 'kinda' is. Terminology notwithstanding. C'mon Rainman. You sound like a rat. Oh.....wait... Go easy on him Jocko. Rich Ives often gives us literal interpretations of the rule book. And that's OK. I think he's saying I interfered according to dictionary definition of interference. But not the Rule Book definition.
  18. Yup. I missed it. Early morning, no coffee yet, recovering from last nights effect of the beer. I have a bunch of excuses. I'm ok now.
  19. Yup. Years ago I have the plate in a Varsity playoff game. Runners advancing to home on a gapper to right center. I move a few feet back and am watching tags at third and runners touch the plate. I look for the throw from right field and it's way off line coming at me. F1 and F2 are converging on me to play the ball. I don't know exactly what happened but apparently F2 kind of had to go around me. I hear a mad female voice from the stands " That's interference on you Blue!!" Well it is - it's just that there's no penalty. I guess it's true that I hindered the player trying to field the thrown ball but it is not umpire interference by definition. I was where I was supposed to be. The point is that the throw was so far off line it put me in a bad position and this mom thought I should call runners out or something because certainly her son's team couldn't be responsible for such a bad play.
  20. In the OP we have a ball thrown out of play which is the first play by an infielder (The catch of the line drive is not a play). Two bases from time of pitch. R1 awarded third base.
  21. Yup. Years ago I have the plate in a Varsity playoff game. Runners advancing to home on a gapper to right center. I move a few feet back and am watching tags at third and runners touch the plate. I look for the throw from right field and it's way off line coming at me. F1 and F2 are converging on me to play the ball. I don't know exactly what happened but apparently F2 kind of had to go around me. I hear a mad female voice from the stands " That's interference on you Blue!!"
  22. It was a Fed JV game and I fixed it the best I could. I really goofed. VT has a DH for F1. Along about the 5th inning, the coach tells me the DH is now pitching and F1 is going to F3 and will bat in the old F3 slot. The former F3 is now out of the game. I allowed it. The HT coach didn't say a word. Now this would be legal under pro rules, and for some reason I mixed them up. But the whole time I have this feeling that something is not right. So with a 2 and 1 count, I realize no way can the former DH and the defensive player for whom he is batting cannot be on defense at the same time. I call time and both coaches and my partner have a long but amiable discussion. I decided the only thing to do was put the original F3 back in and the original F1 would be out of the game. I did tell the coach he could reenter. Guess I'm just getting old and confused. But it's better than the alternative. Would you have done differently?
  23. Don't make up your own rules. It's a fair ball. And you are already getting an out. Why would you award the batter 1st base on this play if the ball were fair? Uh, because that's what the rule book says.
×
×
  • Create New...