Jump to content

mrumpiresir

Established Member
  • Posts

    332
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by mrumpiresir

  1. I know you can use the DH on defense in FED.. My point is that in FED the defensive player is locked into the same spot in the batting order as the DH but under OBR the pitcher could bat somewhere else.
  2. In a Fed game, it makes sense to list the DH and the defensive player together in the same spot in the batting order because neither could bat anywhere else. In a game played under OBR, the designated hitter may be used on defense, continuing to bat in the same position in the batting order, but the pitcher must then bat in the place of the substituted defensive player which means he could bat in another spot. So putting the pitcher at the bottom makes sense.
  3. I think it would come down to the umpire's judgement as to whether or not he offered at the pitch. In my opinion he didn't. How well will it go for a coach arguing a judgement call?
  4. Do you seriously believe the batter struck at the pitch? That's all the umpire should consider.
  5. This is not an attempt to strike the pitch. I would not consider this a strike.
  6. Where is the line when he is on top the wall?
  7. So the fact that part of his left foot was extended beyond the wall when he made the catch means nothing? Or is he not out of play until he actually steps into the seats?
  8. My thought was his foot extending beyond the wall makes him out of play and there would be no catch. There are a couple of similar plays and they have been called catches. Your thoughts?
  9. The bases are loaded in this video but if there was no runner on first and the runner on second does not advance, is he awarded third on the balk? In other words, can both the CI and the balk be enforced on the play?
  10. No, in most situations. There have been times when I was unsure if I had the correct count. I said loud enough for the batter and catcher to hear the count I had and if it was correct. Sometimes they corrected me and sometimes they affirmed my count was correct. This doesn't happen often but I can't think of a time when the batter and catcher disagreed. So it worked for me.
  11. Totally agree. My first thought was that the ball should remain live because of the deflection but cannot be caught in flight because it touched the umpire.
  12. mrumpiresir

    Fed DH Rule

    1. Kent, the DH, is batting for a defensive player, not a position. Kent must always bat in the #4 spot. You can never have Kent and Rob in different places in the lineup. They share the #4 spot. 2. The DH cannot sub for Kirk because he is already in the lineup. The DH and the player he is batting for can never play on defense or offense at the same time. If the DH plays defense, Rob is out of the lineup. 3. If the DH gets a hit, and Rob runs for him the role of the DH is eliminated and Kent is now out of the game. If Kent were to reenter, he could only reenter in the #4 spot for Rob. He cannot run for Jeff.
  13. I agree with the brevity when explaining balks but I once called a balk for no step ahead of the throw toward first on a pickoff attempt. I said "No step". The coach responded by saying he did not need to step off. Then I had to further explain the call was for no step to first. Now I say "no step toward first".
  14. I've been a member of three different state HS associations and none of them use the Fed Umpire manual. Much of the manual makes no sense, and as a result, those umpire manuals usually end up in the circular file. Much better to use the NCAA manual or the MLBUM.
  15. I'm having trouble understanding why there is so much discussion on this. Because it is foul does not mean it is a dead ball. 1.This is a foul ball because it was first touched in foul territory. 2. Since nothing happened to cause the ball to become dead, it remains live. It is both a foul ball and a live batted ball caught for an out.
  16. mrumpiresir

    Crazy Play

    The defense has the responsibility to know the situation. If the catcher had thrown to third and the advancing runner was tagged out, that out would stand.
  17. I always thought a runner in this situation had three options; Slide legally, Retreat to third, or give himself up. The runner did none of these. Yes it was a hard tag and I understand why some believe MC is the correct call, but the catcher was protecting himself from the imminent collision. The runner has to assume some degree of responsibility for the collision.
  18. It would only be Interference with a thrown ball if the runner did something intentional.
  19. There is no option for the coach on a balk. If all runners and the batter advance on the play, the balk is ignored. If not, the balk is enforced. There is an option for the coach when the pitcher delivers a defaced ball.
  20. Ok I see what you are saying. Maybe I wasn't quite clear but my reference to the play at first was as to whether or not the runner scored before the out. I think we are on the same page though.
  21. What did I say that wasn't quite right? We agree it was an appeal play and since the batter was put out on the play, there can not be a force, so it is a time play. Please enlighten me about what I posted was inaccurate.
  22. Your mistake was believing the second baseman outrunning the runner back to first base was a force out. It wasn't, it was a time play. There can never be a force out when the batter is out on a fly ball.
  23. The Thrown bat D3K reminded me of a discussion about whether or not the following scenario should be ruled interference. Batter hits a high pop up which is coming down in foul territory a few feet down the first base line. The batter, as he runs to first, drops his bat which comes to rest in foul territory. F2 is tracking the ball but trips over the bat and the ball falls foul. Is the batter out for interference?
  24. He was completely in fair territory when the tag was attempted and he crossed the running lane which is three feet wide. I would say he was out of the basepath. Good call.
  25. I recall that the ruling was that the tag was complete and a subsequent action (the glove hitting the ground) caused the ball to come free. I agree with the out call.
×
×
  • Create New...