Jump to content

mrumpiresir

Established Member
  • Posts

    332
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by mrumpiresir

  1. mrumpiresir

    Interference

    Pop up slides are NOT illegal. Pop up slides into the fielder are illegal. That may be what you were saying, but making an encompassing statement that pop up slides are illegal is incorrect. You are correct. We are discussing FPSR and pop up slides are illegal in this context. A pop up slide or going in standing up on a FPSR situation, as I have been taught, are both illegal. In fact our association instructs that if a runner slides in a FPSR situation, the runner must stay down, thus no pop up slides allowed. Are you saying that on a force play, if the runner does a pop up slide without making contact or altering the play, that your association instructs you to invoke FPSR and call the BR out? That's what they are saying, but in reality, if he doesn't alter the play, I wouldn't call it . But any benefit of the doubt goes to the defense. Fed is basing this whole situation around safety and the protection of the fielder. You can't take the pivot man out as they do in pro ball. Heck, you can't even get in his way as he attempts the relay to first.
  2. mrumpiresir

    Interference

    Pop up slides are NOT illegal. Pop up slides into the fielder are illegal. That may be what you were saying, but making an encompassing statement that pop up slides are illegal is incorrect. You are correct. We are discussing FPSR and pop up slides are illegal in this context. A pop up slide or going in standing up on a FPSR situation, as I have been taught, are both illegal. In fact our association instructs that if a runner slides in a FPSR situation, the runner must stay down, thus no pop up slides allowed.
  3. mrumpiresir

    Interference

    If a runner does not slide legally, we will get two outs on the FPSR. If he doesn't slide and doesn't veer off and in any way hinders the fielder, we will get two outs on the FPSR. If pop up slides are illegal, how can anyone argue that going in standing up and altering the play doesn't result in two outs? I will get two outs every time on this play.
  4. Either way, there is one one out. The only question is as the defense coach, would you rather have baker or charlie bat.
  5. I have not ejected anyone this year and that is strange because I always get three or four during fall ball. I've always said that in fall ball you run into coaches who think they can say anything. And of course at this time of the year my tolerance is low with some of the idiot coaches (Read Daddy Coaches) I have to deal with. If a coach ever says to me " If you toss my player you will have to toss me" the next thing out of my mouth will be "OK you can leave too". Why would a coach say that? It's no problem for me to send him to the parking lot. ?????????? I had a situation where I was behind the plate and the batter swung and the ball trickled out toward the mound. I was not sure if he fouled it off his foot or leg so I let it play out. The 3rd base coach started yelling at me about how it hit him in the box and it was foul. After all action had stopped, I beckoned my partner in and started walking out to confer with him. Meantime the coach is still screaming at me. I stopped and said in an authoritive manner "DON'T HOLLER AT ME". He stopped yelling and I did not hear a peep out of him the rest of the game. I was surprised at how he backed down. (BTW my partner said it did hit the batter so we ruled it foul. I told my partner that if he knows it hit the batter he should kill it immediately)
  6. As I said on the other forum, He begins his turn to first and starts a throw before his foot hits the ground. He did not step back off the rubber. I have a move from the rubber and thus a one base award.
  7. You handled this correctly but I don't see why you think your partner put you in a pickle. He was asked to get help and apparently wasn't 100% sure of his call so he did the right thing coming to talk to you in private. You got the call right and your explanation to the coach was perfect. Play on.
  8. Heads he's an idiot, Tails, he's just plain stupid. Call it in the air.
  9. Why do we refer to Tim He-who-shall-not-be-named as " He-who-shall-not-be-named"? The guy is an idiot and I've been hoping for years that he might read some of these forums and humble himself. I have the right of my opinion and the 1st amendment allows me free speech, so by what justification are we not allowed to use his name? He is a public figure so he has no right of privacy. Any member of this site could do a better job of explaining the rules of the game. He-who-shall-not-be-named's opinion is worthless because he is untrained in the rules and doesn't know what he is talking about. The sad part is most fans get their rules knowledge from announcers and when a jerk like this constantly gives incorrect information it makes the job of amatuer umpires much more difficult. Has anyone ever contacted Fox sports to tell them they have a moron constantly giving incorrect rules interpretations on the air? Forgive me, I just had to rant. One more time, Tim He-who-shall-not-be-named is either an idiot or just plain stupid. I expect this post will be deleted because it is not politically correct, but that doesn't change the fact that He-who-shall-not-be-named is an idiot who has no business explaning the rules of baseball.
  10. Well said. When I miss a call for whatever reason, and I do on ocassion, I mentally remind myself that it happens to the guys on TV, so I don't beat myself up about it. I simply try to figure out why and prevent it from happening in the future.
  11. I did this not too long ago. Legion Regional playoff game, 4 man mechanics and I was PU and R3. Ground ball to F6 who throws to F2. I was so intent on seeing if the tag was applied before the runner reached the plate, I didn't see the ball bounce away from F2. I felt like a fool giving an out call and then having to reverse it and signal safe. Since then I have been trying real hard to remember to slow down and see the play to it's conclusion.
  12. mrumpiresir

    Out of Play

    I don't believe it has to be intentional. Intention makes the time of award to be different. Yep. You're right.
  13. mrumpiresir

    Out of Play

    I don't believe it has to be intentional.
  14. I hate to hijack the thread but is this the mechanic you guys usually use? With a runner on 2nd base and a fly ball to the outfield, the BU should have the catch, the tag up at second and the susequent play at third. The PU stays home. At least that's the way we do it here and it makes more sense. If there is an overthrow at third base the PU is already in position and does not have to hustle to the plate to make the call. Comments?
  15. mrumpiresir

    Out of Play

    OK, good point. But all fields I have ever worked on that weren't enclosed has the "ground rule" of the lines extended. As you said earlier, a batted or thrown ball that goes out of play is still a two base award by the rule book, not by any special ground rule. A ground rule is meant to cover anything the book does not, such as a tree hanging over live ball territory, or wires passing over the field. Too many people also refer to a batted ball that bounces once and goes over an outfield fence as a ground rule double when it is not. I just think we need to be able to differentiate between a book rule and a ground rule.
  16. mrumpiresir

    Out of Play

    One more time. As an educator, I think it's important to use the proper term. If you don't feel this is important, press on.
  17. mrumpiresir

    Out of Play

    I have to mildly disagree here. A ball that is still moving that, in the umpires judgement, will
  18. mrumpiresir

    Out of Play

    In neither case would it be a ground rule double. It will be two bases according to rule, either second or third base depending on the impetus that caused the ball to go out of play. Noumpere, grayhawk and mstaylor have it right. I know "ground rule double" is often used to describe any two base award when a ball goes out of play because this is what announcers often incorrectly say, and the public learns the rules from announcers. As umptres we need to be precise and use the corrrect terminology. then more correctly it's a 2 base error. Potato-potahto It may or may not be an error. fact is I don't care how it's scored, I need to know where to place the runners. And it really isn't potato potahto. You wouldn't call a ball fouled to the backstop a foul tip (as most announcers do), so why would you call a book rule double a ground rule double? Just trying to make the point that we as umpires must use the correct terminology.
  19. mrumpiresir

    Out of Play

    In neither case would it be a ground rule double. It will be two bases according to rule, either second or third base depending on the impetus that caused the ball to go out of play. Noumpere, grayhawk and mstaylor have it right. I know "ground rule double" is often used to describe any two base award when a ball goes out of play because this is what announcers often incorrectly say, and the public learns the rules from announcers. As umptres we need to be precise and use the corrrect terminology.
  20. On ball four, the Batter becomes a batter-runner. 4.09(a) says a run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made by the batter-runner before he touches first base. I'm voting for no run scores.
  21. Reading through this thread made my head hurt.
  22. I suppose you could invoke 9.01c. The umpire's job is to manage the game. The pitcher is, in a sense, showing you up and making a farce of the game.
  23. The pitching rules apply once the pitcher contacts the rubber. Prior to that, he can take signs from anyone. The purpose of the rule is to prevent a quick pitch. Once he contacts the rubber he must take (or simulate taking) his sign from the catcher. This is a poorly written and generally misunderstood rule.
  24. The trail runner is out when tagged. Tagging the base is nothing.
  25. ump_24 is correct. There is a case book play for FED that covers this exact scenario. 8.1.1 Situation C.
×
×
  • Create New...