- 0
Is R1 out if he/she never leaves 1B bag on this play?
Umpire-Empire locks topics which have not been active in the last year. The thread you are viewing hasn't been active in 1289 days so you will not be able to post. We do recommend you starting a new topic to find out what's new in the world of umpiring.

Question
Kyle Flanagan
NFHS Rules. 0 outs, runner on first base. Line Drive / Ground ball to 1B that hits the ground. R1 thinking it may be caught in the air, goes back to 1B bag. First Baseman tags R1 while he still on the 1B bag. Do we have an out? He is tagged before First Baseman Steps on 1B for the force out. I believe if First Baseman steps on 1B first, then the force is off and runner would be safe staying on 1B bag. But what if R1 is tagged first? I think we have an out. ( and then a Double Play if 1B steps on 1B bag)
Top Posters For This Question
1
1
1
1
Popular Days
May 11
7
May 12
1
Top Posters For This Question
noumpere 1 post
Catch18 1 post
Velho 1 post
Kyle Flanagan 1 post
Popular Days
May 11 2022
7 posts
May 12 2022
1 post
Popular Posts
beerguy55
One of the three triple plays I've been part of happened like this. Bases loaded (tying run on third), last inning...sharp hit to third base who short hops it...R3 goes back to base thinking it was c
noumpere
That's exactly what "forced" means -- R1 is Forced to leave the base, so the base is not a safe haven. That's only true when neither runner is forced. Not applicable to the OP
7 answers to this question
Recommended Posts