Jump to content

Catch18

Members
  • Content Count

    92
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

Catch18 last won the day on May 13 2018

Catch18 had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

22 Neutral

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    COBUA
  • Occupation
    Recreation/Parks/Sports
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Up to and including HS
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Other (explain below)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Yep, you’re right, thanks. I was watching w/ no volume when I found it. And of course SWMBO must never be disturbed & woken by late night umpire videos. But my assumption on age was correct. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  2. [emoji1787][emoji41][emoji1787] Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  3. To me, it looks like a high school tournament game. You can see the players’ senior posters on the fence (so home playoff game), 3 man crew, and I think the girls just look that age. I know most state assoc. don’t allow protests, but if I’m the coach of the black team, no way on this planet I continue until this is made correct. Most tournament games will have a site director, and we’re getting this one done. Maybe they eventually got it, that’s why I’d like to see the remaining video. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  4. I’d sure like to see more of the video, especially @ the end of the umpire conference, since it looks like they determined and told the coach it stands. [emoji2369] Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  5. There’s spirit of the rule, and then there’s letter of the rule. You can decide which applies when a kid putzes to the mound, has fun playing ball, then trots off to his position. It’s not necessary to give a coach a “gotcha” in this instance. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  6. Catch18

    Balls and strikes

    Where did I say anything about framing, fooled, etc.? Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  7. Catch18

    Balls and strikes

    Sounds like that’s a ball that’s in the dirt and isn’t “dropped” by the catcher. Thanks for playing, though. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  8. Catch18

    Balls and strikes

    Yes, I understand you’ve indicated the level of play matters in your thoughts, and I can respect that. But I don’t find it difficult at all to call strikes, regardless if the catcher catches it. I’m probably in the minority. I don’t believe in gifting the batter and punishing the pitchers, because the catcher drops a ball. For me, that’s deadwood old school. We should call pitches for what they are. Honest to goodness, I almost never get blowback for going that route. Had a competitive JV game a couple days ago (and yes I’ve done this at the V level too). Twice called two dropped pitches -
  9. I’m not in a bubble, I’m in the scenario that happened. It suits my rule interp and game management well. When I need to evaluate an intentional interference play, I’ll find a good example, just not this one. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  10. Why the heck has this devolved into something with like 4 additional variables that didn’t exist in the org. play? It wasn’t intentional, we really should subtract this from the discussion. Fielder biffed it. Ball is live like a throw that accidentally hits an umpire. Play the bounce. We should move on by now. [emoji1690][emoji1690] Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  11. USSSA is OBR, unless tournament had exceptions/tourney specifics/etc. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  12. Catch18

    Another oldie

    Top notch point. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  13. YES! An outstanding analysis of “get the call right” blabbering from dugouts. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  14. NFHS Rules: ART. 4 ... Balk. If there is a runner or runners, any of the following acts by a pitcher while he is touching the pitcher’s plate is a balk: b. failing to step with the non-pivot foot directly toward a base (occupied or unoccupied) when throwing or feinting there in an attempt to put out, or drive back a runner; or throwing or feinting to any unoccupied base when it is not an attempt to put out or drive back a runner; The runner need not have started at 2nd base in your play, in order to fulfill the “attempting to put” requirement. The runner advancing from 1st to 2nd makes this
  15. Who else comes on here to see if any of their games from the week made the “guest poster putting up their play/scenario/rules to find out if a man in blue biffed their game?” No? Just me? Cheers[emoji41][emoji41] Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
×
×
  • Create New...