Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest Douglas Nagy

Does the run count?

Question

Guest Douglas Nagy

There is a runner on 3rd, 2 outs. Batter swings and misses for 3rd strike. Catcher drops the 3rd strike and the batter runs to first. As the catcher throws to first to complete the strikeout, the runner on 3rd runs home and crosses the plate before the out is made at 1st base. Does the run count?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

No, the rule is that no runs can score on a play where the third out is made on a force or (as is the case here) by the batter before safely reaching first base.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
45 minutes ago, Guest Douglas Nagy said:

There is a runner on 3rd, 2 outs. Batter swings and misses for 3rd strike. Catcher drops the 3rd strike and the batter runs to first. As the catcher throws to first to complete the strikeout, the runner on 3rd runs home and crosses the plate before the out is made at 1st base. Does the run count?

No. No run can score on a play where the third out is made by the batter before safely reaching first. In fact, the runner reaching the plate first is irrelevant. 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
22 minutes ago, EAA_umpire_Sam said:

No because the batter/runner never reached first base successfully, so it is considered a force out at first.

Who forced the batter to 1st basE :)

  • Haha 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
48 minutes ago, Jimurray said:

Who forced the batter to 1st basE :)

The catcher when he didn't execute the putout on the ball in play after strike three.

  • Thanks 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

A batter/runner put out at first is not a "force out".

A "force out" is when a runner loses the right to his/her base due to the actions of the batter. The runner is "forced" to vacate his/her base.

As previously stated, the run does not score because the third out was made by the batter/runner prior to reaching first base.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...