Jump to content

pnewton

Established Member
  • Posts

    256
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by pnewton

  1. I haven't umpired in a few years now but I remember that an infield fly is like anything else except that the batter is already out. I read OP to say the ball was caught, so why isn't this a valid appeal? Editing to add: I read OP as a tag-up appeal... It's possible that isn't what OP meant which would change my comment.
  2. So here's how I think of it it: I'm not looking for a swing, I'm tracking the ball. If I happen to see a swing then great, I'll call it. If I see a swing it was certainly there. Just because I don't see something I wasn't looking for doesn't mean it wasn't there, that's when I need help.
  3. On the jump turn the pitcher has not disengaged. Treat him as if he is still in contact and apply all relevant rules based on that.
  4. I had to give up officiating when I moved from the classroom to administration but being a teacher was perfect for working school ball. I wouldn't work games for my school but 9th grade and JV games in that conference were fine (with no standings or championships there was no reason to question neutrality). For Varsity games I would work out of conference, I do y know how plausible that is where you live here it's quite simple. There were many times where I could work a JV game and then a Babe Ruth game that came on the field after. Not sure that this is any advice, but proof that teaching isn't a problem while officiating. Btw let me know if I can offer any support as you move into teaching. We're all in this together.
  5. This is no different than if the second baseman threw the b-r out at first. It's not a hit until he/she reaches first base safely.
  6. pnewton

    Wrong Ejection

    You are incorrect, there is no such rule. Why have more than one umpire if they are going to have to 'get help' anyway?
  7. pnewton

    Obstruction

    Impossible to be sure without seeing it myself. Umpire makes judgement as to what would have happened without the obstruction, this one clearly judged that the runner would have been out at home anyway. I am currently in no place to question that judgement. Putting the runner back isn't an option. Btw, if there was a play being made on the runner at the time of the obstruction it would change the way this is officiated (assuming LL still used the OBR obstruction rules, it's been a long time for me).
  8. pnewton

    Fair or foul

    Foul ball. Ball was first touched over foul ground without having passed first or third. The fact that it touched the plate is meaningless.
  9. A foul tip (sharp and direct to the catcher, and caught) is a live ball. Assuming this one was strike 3 the catcher should know the situation and not throw. The umpire should also be clearly verbalizing that the batter is out. Pretty similar in scenario 2, but with umpire clearly and repeatedly communicating "strike 2!"
  10. No, the third out was made on a batter before safely reaching first base.
  11. OP says it was touched over fair territory, with they played standing in foul.
  12. Video? As described it is strike three. Possible something else happened? Possible there was only 1 strike at the time and this was strike 2?
  13. Batter-runner (any any other runner for that matter) must avoid a defensive player attempting to field a batted ball. Fielder being in the line between the bases doesn't change that. If that contact was malicious then yes, batter runner may be ejected.
  14. Cancelled games: if 1 hour notice then nothing, if less pay half fee. Rain delays: nothing extra or special Working solo: fee and a half Incomplete games: full fee
  15. 1: I believe this is illegal in Fed (I don't work fed games) but is legal in OBR. Pitchers must declare if they are in windup or not, but that motion itself isn't illegal. 2: It is a balk to feign to first base while in contact with the pitcher's plate, so yes, that's a balk.
  16. I have no problem as described. Foot can go behind pitchers plate and still come home, I would say same for the knee. Possible there is something really funky but I don't see it in my head from this description.
  17. Pitcher may throw to a base for the purpose of making a play. Umpire judgment as if that's what the pitcher was really doing, but if runner is out at second or is now in a rundown then the pitcher was making a play.
  18. Ever watch a pro game where a batter is hit by a pitch and charged the mound? Was that batter both ejected and called out or was he ejected and now a substitute was on base? Did they pretend that HBP didn't happen and start over with a new batter? At bat counts. Home run counts.
  19. It's a caught ball. If we aren't going to let runners advance because it's a foul ball then why is the batter out?
  20. No, the rule is that no runs can score on a play where the third out is made on a force or (as is the case here) by the batter before safely reaching first base.
  21. So "sharp and direct" from the bat to the glove and is caught. This is the rule book definition of a foul tip. It's strike two and the runner may advance. In other words treat it like a swing and miss as long as the catcher legally caught the pitch. Many people use the term foul tip incorrectly, but this is actually it.
  22. pnewton

    Force Removed?

    Not sure if you mean why isn't this treated as an exception or why isn't there an exception in the rules. The answer to the first is that there are no exceptions to this rule. This was a play where the third out was recorded on a force out. I can't answer the second as I wasn't there when they wrote the rules.
  23. The reality is that unless it's really egregious it's not going to be seen. Base umpires are too far away and the plate umpire needs to be focused on the pitch. No one is specifically watching for this.
  24. pnewton

    Balk or no balk?

    This is a balk if playing under official baseball rules (obr). It is not a balk in NCAA or Fed (high school rules). So the simple answer is "it depends".
  25. Or just do it from on the rubber and only move the runner the one base. Would be hard to do this with a pitch in current mlb stadiums, but still.
×
×
  • Create New...