Jump to content

ErichKeane

Established Member
  • Posts

    270
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

ErichKeane last won the day on July 13

ErichKeane had the most liked content!

Profile Information

  • Location
    Gaston, OR

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    NYBUA
  • Occupation
    Compiler Engineer
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    NFHS Rules, JBO Modified (4th-8th grade)
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Other (explain below)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

ErichKeane's Achievements

82

Reputation

1

Community Answers

  1. The best I can tell from watching it over and over... You have U3 and PU with conflicting calls. U3 puts his hands down pretty quick, almost as if he changed his mind after seeing PU's 'fair' call. They decide to 'ignore' the U3's call on the field, and decide the 'on the field call' is a fair-ball. They go to video review with the 'on the field' as a fair-ball. At this point, the video review is only concerned about fair/foul, and don't have enough evidence that it is foul to overturn. IMO: The problem here has nothing to do with the replay, and everything with the U3/PU deciding to 'ignore' the effect of U3's foul call, and pretend it didn't happen. The video review is just an irrelevant source of confusion at that point.
  2. I suspect the ump at 2nd was just confused here,and called it forgetting R1 was already out, and the 'confirmed' was replay noticing the foot pulling off of 2nd. Nothing else makes sense to me with his mechanic.
  3. Huh, I stand corrected! Thanks! So an appeal _IS_ a force play, but abandonment isn't.
  4. I don't believe it becomes a time-play. Abandonment would be getting out before reaching 2nd base, and no run can score if the 3rd out is made before a runner reaches a base to which he is forced (or a BR that didn't make it to 1st).
  5. There is a case for abandonment and calling him out right there (and, as noumpere said, would be out as a 'force', and thus no runs would score). According to the case play in the 5.09(b)(1-2) comment listed here: https://baseballrulesacademy.com/official-rule/mlb-umpire-manual/abandoning-base-path-including-after-third-strike-not-caught/ This is what SHOULD have happened. That said, I'm not sure I've ever seen someone call that without an appeal.
  6. It seems to me that umps are the only ones who care how umps dress, or even if we match at all. I'm sure just about no-one noticed that he was wearing MLB gear.
  7. Even with delayed-dead balks?
  8. Wouldn't the feint be the balk in OBR, not the throw afterwards? That is, does OBR allow feint to 2B, then throw to 1B/3B without disengaging?
  9. No one on base means not a balk. At best, it is an illegal pitch (though from the description and lack of ruleset, I'd have a tough time specifying why), which would be a ball.
  10. I saw it in an article about 3 weeks ago, and we discussed it here. The big item was the end of the jewelry rule.
  11. Thats really neat! The tourney I've been attending at SOME of their sites have a good ump room, though others don't (so it is understandable that folks skip them!).
  12. Ah! Thank you very much! THIS makes way more sense. I'm glad to see the 2017 manual confirm my mental idea of what is allowed with the pivot foot, despite the rule not making that clear.
  13. This got me looking, and I only have NFHS 2022 in front of me. However, the last sentence to 6-1-2 is: "During delivery, he may lift his non-pivot foot in a step forward, a step sideways, or in a step backward and a step forward, but he shall not otherwise lift either foot" Note that commas are in tact there, as they are in my manual. I point that out, because it isn't clear to me whether it is parsed: "(step forward, a step sideways, or in a step backward) and a step forward" OR "step forward, a step sideways, or (in a step backward and a step forward)". That said, the last part of that seems to imply that this, and basically EVERY 'windup' position would be illegal, he's clearly 'lifting' his pivot foot, as does every single person in the windup. I Googled the OBR rule (5.07(a)(1)), and found they have similar language: " He shall not raise either foot from the ground, except that in his actual delivery of the ball to the batter, he may take one step backward, and one step forward with his free foot" (note it doesn't allow 'sideways', but no definition/split line is apparent). I suspect this is intended to allow a 'twist', BUT I've never in my life seen this called, and would likely allow the pitcher in the video above, simply because I know how the hole in front of dirt mounds can be (and there being no advantage). Side note: ONE REALLY curious thing that I'd not picked up before, is that in OBR, if you disengage, your hands must go to your sides, else its illegal! (comment here: https://baseballrulesacademy.com/official-rule/mlb/rule-5-07a1/)
  14. I've definitely observed this, the SDs/TDs seem to work their butt off before, and after the games. One thing that seems to frustrate them is when there is an 'ump area' and the umps don't use it, and either meet up at their cars (or even off-site!). Not being positive until game-time that your umps are there seems to be the most stressful part for them that I see. An umpire that will show up reliably and early (AND check in), and handle their games without intervention is a giant relief for them.
  15. It DOES, but I still can't figure out the pattern As far as the scratchiness, I found that taking it apart and doing a mild-deburr and oil on the wheels made a vast difference.
×
×
  • Create New...