Jump to content

ErichKeane

Established Member
  • Posts

    270
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

Everything posted by ErichKeane

  1. The best I can tell from watching it over and over... You have U3 and PU with conflicting calls. U3 puts his hands down pretty quick, almost as if he changed his mind after seeing PU's 'fair' call. They decide to 'ignore' the U3's call on the field, and decide the 'on the field call' is a fair-ball. They go to video review with the 'on the field' as a fair-ball. At this point, the video review is only concerned about fair/foul, and don't have enough evidence that it is foul to overturn. IMO: The problem here has nothing to do with the replay, and everything with the U3/PU deciding to 'ignore' the effect of U3's foul call, and pretend it didn't happen. The video review is just an irrelevant source of confusion at that point.
  2. I suspect the ump at 2nd was just confused here,and called it forgetting R1 was already out, and the 'confirmed' was replay noticing the foot pulling off of 2nd. Nothing else makes sense to me with his mechanic.
  3. Huh, I stand corrected! Thanks! So an appeal _IS_ a force play, but abandonment isn't.
  4. I don't believe it becomes a time-play. Abandonment would be getting out before reaching 2nd base, and no run can score if the 3rd out is made before a runner reaches a base to which he is forced (or a BR that didn't make it to 1st).
  5. There is a case for abandonment and calling him out right there (and, as noumpere said, would be out as a 'force', and thus no runs would score). According to the case play in the 5.09(b)(1-2) comment listed here: https://baseballrulesacademy.com/official-rule/mlb-umpire-manual/abandoning-base-path-including-after-third-strike-not-caught/ This is what SHOULD have happened. That said, I'm not sure I've ever seen someone call that without an appeal.
  6. It seems to me that umps are the only ones who care how umps dress, or even if we match at all. I'm sure just about no-one noticed that he was wearing MLB gear.
  7. Even with delayed-dead balks?
  8. Wouldn't the feint be the balk in OBR, not the throw afterwards? That is, does OBR allow feint to 2B, then throw to 1B/3B without disengaging?
  9. No one on base means not a balk. At best, it is an illegal pitch (though from the description and lack of ruleset, I'd have a tough time specifying why), which would be a ball.
  10. I saw it in an article about 3 weeks ago, and we discussed it here. The big item was the end of the jewelry rule.
  11. Thats really neat! The tourney I've been attending at SOME of their sites have a good ump room, though others don't (so it is understandable that folks skip them!).
  12. Ah! Thank you very much! THIS makes way more sense. I'm glad to see the 2017 manual confirm my mental idea of what is allowed with the pivot foot, despite the rule not making that clear.
  13. This got me looking, and I only have NFHS 2022 in front of me. However, the last sentence to 6-1-2 is: "During delivery, he may lift his non-pivot foot in a step forward, a step sideways, or in a step backward and a step forward, but he shall not otherwise lift either foot" Note that commas are in tact there, as they are in my manual. I point that out, because it isn't clear to me whether it is parsed: "(step forward, a step sideways, or in a step backward) and a step forward" OR "step forward, a step sideways, or (in a step backward and a step forward)". That said, the last part of that seems to imply that this, and basically EVERY 'windup' position would be illegal, he's clearly 'lifting' his pivot foot, as does every single person in the windup. I Googled the OBR rule (5.07(a)(1)), and found they have similar language: " He shall not raise either foot from the ground, except that in his actual delivery of the ball to the batter, he may take one step backward, and one step forward with his free foot" (note it doesn't allow 'sideways', but no definition/split line is apparent). I suspect this is intended to allow a 'twist', BUT I've never in my life seen this called, and would likely allow the pitcher in the video above, simply because I know how the hole in front of dirt mounds can be (and there being no advantage). Side note: ONE REALLY curious thing that I'd not picked up before, is that in OBR, if you disengage, your hands must go to your sides, else its illegal! (comment here: https://baseballrulesacademy.com/official-rule/mlb/rule-5-07a1/)
  14. I've definitely observed this, the SDs/TDs seem to work their butt off before, and after the games. One thing that seems to frustrate them is when there is an 'ump area' and the umps don't use it, and either meet up at their cars (or even off-site!). Not being positive until game-time that your umps are there seems to be the most stressful part for them that I see. An umpire that will show up reliably and early (AND check in), and handle their games without intervention is a giant relief for them.
  15. It DOES, but I still can't figure out the pattern As far as the scratchiness, I found that taking it apart and doing a mild-deburr and oil on the wheels made a vast difference.
  16. At leaset based on the velcro, it looks like a V2 pad would work on a V1 if the velcro is all that we're worried about. It looks like it would just end up in the 'empty' space on the 4-spring-location one.
  17. It seemed like a bang-bang play that I don't fault him not getting right, but I'm guessing he would have been better with a little more angle (though, he should have been able to see that fine anyway). The REAL question I have, is why is a field-ump not involved in the controversy taking off his shoe and throwing it? It seems like that ump lost his temper all over the field. I understand/support ejecting folks that are that out of hand, but it seems like he's actively screaming at the players. I suspect he ought to be ashamed of how his actions/response are portrayed on this video...
  18. DOH! I meant DEFENSIVE coach. Thanks for catching that
  19. So humorously, I called this last night! Thanks to this thread/others, I got it right! NFHS playoff game with an R1. F3 had the ball after a throw on the B/R went behind him (and he picked it up with no one moving). He fakes the throw to the pitcher, and seeming _I_ am the only one who noticed (at this point, I'm 1 of only 3 people who knows this is going on I think!). The only 'mistake' I made here was staying in "A" and not moving to "B" through this, since i was pre-occupied with making sure I kept an eye on pitcher and ball. R1 is distracted chatting with his base coach, but standing on the base. F3 is keeping a very close eye on him, but has the ball hidden. Pitcher gets up on the mound, stands behind the rubber ready to 'take' the rubber, just loitering. I KNOW of the 5ft rule (thanks in part to this thread!), but wanted to make sure he was 'absolutely guilty' before calling it without a tag. He gets way close, and I call "BALK, BALK, thats a BALK!", and make the signal to move the runner. Everyone else is looking around cluelessly trying to figure out what happened, and 1 of offensive coaches said something about, "He wasn't even on the rubber, how could he balk?!". An offensive coach called time out, and came out for the explanation, and I told him that he took position within 5ft of the rubber without the ball. Coach said, "Wait... he didn't have the ball?". Me: "No, the 1st baseman did, they were running a hidden ball trick". Coach: "... so he didn't have the ball... and couldn't be on the mound?" Me: "Part of the rule is he cannot be within 5 feet of the rubber." Coach: "I've never heard that... ok", and walks off. I move to 'B', and continue the game. I see the offensive coaching group muttering, "I never heard of that before... what?", then pull out a rule book and spend the rest of the inning flipping through it. Apparently they figured it out, because they never came up to me to talk about it afterwards. After the inning, my partner told me he was glad I caught it, he had no idea and thought the pitcher had the ball. I explained to him that I think I was the only non-conspirator that knew
  20. Ok then, so "Time" seems to be the magic word? Good to know! I always yell "foul" 2-3x loudly (the last one is foul-ball), as that is what I've heard umpires use before. I suspect I picked up dead ball the same way. Thank you!
  21. Good grief... I'd do a 16U game without gear before I'd do a 9/10U game without gear. The younger the kids, the more I get beat up.
  22. So as someone who didn't end up at any umpire-schools, what is the right thing to call in a dead-ball case like that? Out of play, dead because interference/HBP/etc? Dead Ball at least seems to stop any action, not sure what else I should be saying?
  23. Note if this is a league following NFHS/Fed Rules, a 'verbal dead ball appeal' is sufficient. I realize that is usually 'high school rules', but a handful of local leagues use NFHS with modifications (like my local org).
  24. I had the SAME thing happen in a 10 U tourney that lead to the ejection of the coach. Catcher kept setting up over the other batters box, and the hit his spots perfectly. I called none of them, and kept telling the catcher what he was doing, and the coach chirped a TON. I ended up ejecting him after way too much leash.
  25. Yep, I do! Thanks!
×
×
  • Create New...