Jump to content

BigVic69

Members
  • Content Count

    82
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

BigVic69 last won the day on February 18

BigVic69 had the most liked content!

Community Reputation

12 Neutral

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. If he was hit while hands over the strike zone, a strike. If he was hit while swinging, regardless of ball position, a strike. If he was hit in the batters box, not swinging and attempting to avoid the pitch coming at him, a hit by pitch (gets first base). If he is hit in the batters box, and in the umpires judgement he leaned into the pitch or made no attempt to avoid the ball, a strike.
  2. The lodging of the ball (as described) is a ball out of play with its own consequences. But that is outside of this topic.
  3. BigVic69

    Passing Runner

    It is a live ball, play on.
  4. Pony baseball Once a pitcher delivers a pitch, may an intentional walk be issued?
  5. Please read the words "he may" bellow as this means the batter runner does not have to do anything but run down legally in the batters lane. If he is in the runners lane and he is hit, then he is not out by this rule. "He may" leave the runners lane to avoid getting hit or a collision, but he does not have to leave the lane. MLB Rule 6.05(k) In running the last half of the distance from home base to first base, while the ball is being fielded to first base, he runs outside (to the right of) the three-foot line, or inside (to the left of) the foul line, and in the umpires judgment in so doing interferes with the fielder taking the throw at first base, in which case the ball is dead; except that he may run outside (to the right of) the threefoot line or inside (to the left of) the foul line to avoid a fielder attempting to field a batted ball; Rule 6.05(k) Comment: The lines marking the three-foot lane are a part of that lane and a batter- runner is required to have both feet within the three-foot lane or on the lines marking the lane. The batter-runner is permitted to exit the three-foot lane by means of a step, stride, reach or slide in the immediate vicinity of first base for the sole purpose of touching first base.
  6. BigVic69

    Faint to 3rd

    Ha ha ha...stupid spell checker got me again!!!
  7. BigVic69

    Faint to 3rd

    High school rule set (NHS). Runner on 3rd Can a pitcher (in contact with the rubber) feint a throw to 3rd without it being a balk? Would the situation change if there were a runner on 1st and 3rd?
  8. Did he really have a play on the ball? Not unless he had rockets in his shoes, eh? This will be a judgement call by the umpire as to the playability of another fielder on the ball. If a base runner is hit by a fair-batted ball while standing on a base, the runner is out, unless the ball has already passed an infielder or the infield fly rule has been declared. The base is not a sanctuary.
  9. BigVic69

    Infield fly

    The run is scored, the runner is not out. 5.08 How a Team Scores (a) One run shall be scored each time a runner legally advances to and touches first, second, third and home base before three men are put out to end the inning.
  10. After time is called by the umpire, the pitcher needs to have the ball in order for time to be called back in. If time has not been called back in...no tag on the base runner can be made. Nice try, but no dice.
  11. Once the pitcher engages the rubber, he is committed to a set of procedures that includes coming set, etc. If he did not disengage and yet threw home, it is a balk.
  12. Two questions: did the tag beat the offensive player to the bag, and if not did the runners momentum carry then off of the bag. If the answer is no to both then no it was not a tagged out. The defense cannot force, push, etc. an offensive player off the bag.
  13. BigVic69

    Over throw

    The difference in awards depends on "who" throws the ball out of play: When a pitcher steps off the rubber he is now now a fielder and the award is two bases, from TOW (time of wild throw). If a pitcher, engaged with the mound, steps toward a base or does a jump type disengagement, or in throwing the towards home, then it is a 1 base award from TOP (time of pitch).
  14. From LL 2019 7.13 - Little League (Major) and Minor League: When a pitcher is in contact with the pitcher’s plate and in possession of the ball and the catcher is in the catcher’s box ready to receive delivery of the ball, base runners shall not leave their bases until the ball has been delivered and has reached the batter. Being "near" the rubber is not in the verbiage. I love when the coaches / parents yell, "give it to the pitcher" to kill the run opportunity. That is wrong in LL as there are two elements that must be satisfied. Sauntering, running, skipping, rolling, or any other method chosen by the runners to make their way to the next base is up to the runners, As is the risk to whether they are put out in the attempt since it was THEIR own player causing the confusion. I would say to call the batter back, allow the fellows that progressed "untagged" to the next base(s) to remain on their new bases, because you cannot say it was because of the "walk" (or the intend to steal ( that they made their move. If the runners were tagged then those outs should stand. Yes, you will have argument (don't we all have those from time to time), but the real issue was the batter runner needing to be called back. Right or wrong, you took control, they do not have to like it, just buy into it. Your explanation sounded good enough to me. Ha ha. I have had the defense start to leave the field because they thought it was 3 outs, as the runners came running home. I let it stand just the same. Pay attention to the count and the the outs, I announce before each pitch.
  15. I think that I know that "No run may score on an inning-ending play in which the third out is a force out or on the batter before he reaches first base. " My situation: Drop 3rd strike, runner at 3rd makes it to home before the batter-runner is hit by a thrown ball by the catcher. The batter-runner was in fair territory. 1) I called the runner out, I said no run scored. Was i correct? 2) What would have been the call if it was not an inning ending out? Batter runner out, the run scores?
×
×
  • Create New...