Jump to content

BigVic69

Members
  • Posts

    98
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    1

BigVic69 last won the day on February 18 2020

BigVic69 had the most liked content!

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

BigVic69's Achievements

16

Reputation

  1. A coach sits outside on a bucket to call pitches (because this is the MLB at age 10u, right?) If during the course of play, if an overthrown ball hits the bucket is this a "play on" situation? Thank you,
  2. Thanks fellas Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  3. Hopefully a better scenario After an overthrow to the 3rd baseman (in an attempt to get the runner out) The runner is headed to home. The 3rd baseman retrieved the ball and lobbed the ball home. The catcher started out on the 1st base side of home plate in an attempt to catch the now airborne ball, he realizes that the ball is trailing to his left (3rd base side) instead and swings around the batter to get the ball. The batter was moving infield to avoid the play at home. The pitcher never left the mound area. The catcher failed to catch the ball after the runner had already made it to home plate. Q: is the catcher having to swing around the batter interference? My thought is that the batter did not interfere with the thrown ball, nor the inbound ball and since the ball was so way off the mark and the runner had already scored before the failed attempt to catch the ball by the catcher then there is no interference. Thanks Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  4. R3 is headed to home. 3rd baseman lobs the ball home. The catcher started out on the 1st base side of home plate in an attempt to catch the ball, he realizes that the ball is trailing to his left (3rd base side) and swings around the batter to get the ball. The batter was moving infield to avoid the play at home. The pitcher never left the mound area. R3 reached home before the catcher failed to catch the ball. Q: is the catcher having to swing around the batter interference? Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  5. Thank you, as I cover those as well. But any idea about LL?
  6. Offense calls time for a visit with the batter. If the defense runs out and talks to pitcher during this time, is this a charged Pitcher visit?
  7. Coaching a team was stressful for those players that did not get much practice off the field, you know those kids... We had such a kid, great heart, never talked, very polite, did all that was asked of him. He was small in comparison, inevitably he was assigned to RF, not a very coveted location. 1 out with a man on 1st A batter sent a ballistic missile to RF, I could hear the coaches sigh as it was going to be another missed ball... The young man tracked the ball like a pro, he held up his glove and I swear he closed his eyes as he turned his head...he caught the ball and had the mind to throw it to 1st as R1 was now on his way to 3rd. The entire team ran onto the field (like he had hit a home run) and cheered, screamed, and carried him back to the dugout. I hardly see that kid any more, but when I do he greets me with “hi coach” and I reply “how are you right fielder”. Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
  8. in the rule there are terms like "voluntary and intentional" and "in the act of making a throw". This is what I would like to understand better. how is "voluntary and intentional" to be judged (other than dropping the ball)? - I have heard moving of the foot, change in direction, etc. how is "in the act of making a throw" to be judged? Does this mean that the ball at least needs to be in the throwing hand?
  9. That is what I wanted to clarify from your first statement: "If" your statement happens and he leaves his foot on the rubber, then it is a balk if he throws anywhere but second base, correct? However, if he makes the twisty motion (correctly) AND steps of the rubber with his pivot foot, then he can throw anywhere he pleases. Is this what you describing?
  10. Noumpere, does your first statement assume that the pitcher's foot does not disengage the rubber?
  11. Whew! That is how I called it this weekend. I figured that a feint meant as you described.. I sold it, they bought it and all was good. I just wanted to double check that in was not making something up. As funny as it sounds...this has never occurred to me, such that the runner made a break for 3rd.
  12. PG (Perfect Game) group (ie USSSA with minor changes) rule set. Assume that the pitcher makes a legal move to second base and R2 breaks for 3rd. If the pitcher does not throw to 2nd, can he throw to: 1) 3rd base 2) the SS, in between 2nd/3rd base 3) or run down R2 - Big Vic
  13. There is an app for that (sort of) and it will give an overview. It is the app in the upper left corner. Happy hunting
  14. Situation: A batted ball hits a defender in flight (R3 takes off for home), and bounces high which is eventually caught. In the Little league rule set the last sentence reads "the runners may leave their bases the instant the first fielder touches the ball." Does this mean that the tag up requirement is satisfied once a fielder "touches" the ball, even though it still may be caught for an out? i.e. If the ball is caught Batter-Runner is out and R3 run scores if they made to home safely. Rule 2.00 Definition of Term A CATCH is the act of a fielder in getting secure possession in the hand or glove of a ball in flight and firmly holding it before it touches the ground providing such fielder does not use cap, protector, pocket, or any other part of the uniform in getting possession. It is not a catch, however, if simultaneously or immediately following contact with the ball, the fielder collides with a player, or with a wall, or if that fielder falls down, and as a result of such collision or falling, drops the ball. It is not a catch if a fielder touches a fly ball which then hits a member of the offensive team or an umpire and then is caught by another defensive player. If the fielder has made the catch and drops the ball while in the act of making a throw following the catch, the ball shall be adjudged to have been caught. In establishing the validity of the catch, the fielder shall hold the ball long enough to prove complete control of the ball and that release of the ball is voluntary and intentional. A catch is legal if the ball is finally held by any fielder, even though juggled, or held by another fielder before it touches the ground. Runners may leave their bases the instant the first fielder touches the ball.
×
×
  • Create New...