Jump to content


Established Member
  • Posts

  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won


Community Answers

  1. Jimurray's post in No run scores was marked as the answer   
    Your ruling is correct and there is no exception for an uncaught third strike but some will quibble with your use of 7.12 as the batter being put out at 1B is technically not a force out. You should use 4.09(a) Exceptions: (1). 
  2. Jimurray's post in Batted Ball Hits Bat for a Second Time was marked as the answer   
    His feet do matter in OBR/MLB and because he was in a legal position in the box this would be a foul ball when the ball hit his bat. 
  3. Jimurray's post in base award on throw out of play was marked as the answer   
    If the throw is the first play by  an infielder the award is two bases from the runners location at time of pitch unless all runners had advanced one base at the time of the throw. Then the award is from the runners base at the time of throw. So in 1, if the batter was the only runner he would get 3B if the throw was RELEASED after he touched 1B.
    In 2 not all runners had advanced one base so the award is still time of pitch. R2 who was on 1B gets 3B and the batter gets 2B.
    "5.06(b)(4)(G) Two bases when, with no spectators on the playing
    field, a thrown ball goes into the stands, or
    into a bench (whether or not the ball rebounds
    into the field), or over or under or through a field
    fence, or on a slanting part of the screen above the
    backstop, or remains in the meshes of a wire
    screen protecting spectators. The ball is dead.
    When such wild throw is the first play by an
    infielder, the umpire, in awarding such bases,
    shall be governed by the position of the runners at
    the time the ball was pitched; in all other cases the
    umpire shall be governed by the position of the
    runners at the time the wild throw was made;
    APPROVED RULING: If all runners, including the batter-
    runner, have advanced at least one base when an
    infielder makes a wild throw on the first play after the
    pitch, the award shall be governed by the position of the
    runners when the wild throw was made."
  4. Jimurray's post in dropped third strike was marked as the answer   
    ”Rule 5.08(a) to 5.08(b)
    EXCEPTION: A run is not scored if the runner advances to home base during a play in which the third out is made (1) by the batter-runner before he touches first base; (2) by any runner being forced out; or (3) by a preceding runner who is declared out because he failed to touch one of the bases.”
  5. Jimurray's post in Tagging Up was marked as the answer   
    It's not a force out but if you have the ball you can touch the base before the runner gets there while holding the ball or tag the runner off the base. Both are ways a live ball appeal can take place. 
  6. Jimurray's post in Stealing Home was marked as the answer   
    While the batter normally wouldn't be swinging during a steal of home there is no rule (other than one made by local fools) that prevents him from swinging at the pitch. If he was swinging at the pitch and the catcher was contacted because he was reaching out or stepped on or in front of HP it would be catcher's interference.  Assuming the ball was not put into play you would have a dead ball, batter awarded 1B on the interference and R3 awarded home on a balk in OBR. Even without a swing if the catcher stepped on or in front of HP without the ball it would be CI.
  7. Jimurray's post in compression sleeve was marked as the answer   
    Legal unless you consider it distracting:

    2014 interp:

    SITUATION 17: The starting pitcher comes to the mound to take his warm-up throws to start the game. He is wearing a compression sleeve only on his throwing arm. The opposing coach demands that the sleeve be taken off before the pitcher may pitch. RULING: A pitcher may wear a compression or medical sleeve on one or both arms that is any color, including one that is white or gray, provided it does not extend below the elbow. A doctor’s signed permission slip is not required. If the pitcher wears a sleeve that extends below the elbow, it can be worn on either arm, provided it is not white or gray or have white/gray on it. It also cannot be of a color or color combination that would be deemed distracting by the plate umpire. (1-4-2; 6-2-1i)
  • Create New...