Jump to content
  • 0


  • Answers 7
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters For This Question

Popular Days

Top Posters For This Question

7 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Yes, the runner can retreat -- it's not an "automatic out" nor is it "running the bases in reverse to confuse the defense or make a tragedy of the game."


Of course, if both BR and R1 are on first, then R1 will be out when tagged.  Or, if second base is tagged, R1 will be out.

If R1 is on first and first is touched before BR arrives, then BR is out, and R1 can legally occupy first.

Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
21 minutes ago, tward4@twcny.rr.com said:

Hi:  If  a runner is on first base with less than two outs and a ball is hit to second baseman can the first base runner go back to first base to avoid running into a double play?

      Thank you.

Yes - there is a myth you can't.   The only modicum of truth lies in what the batter can and can't do - namely when a player with the ball is between the batter and first base.

In baseball - the batter can't retreat past home plate - if he does he's out.  He can retreat towards it though.

In softball - the batter may not retreat towards home plate to avoid a tag - if that happens, batter is out, ball is dead, and all runners return to the base they occupied at time of pitch.

A forced runner may run back to their base to avoid a tag, or try to delay a double play attempt.   He can, however, be tagged out while on the base if the batter hasn't been put out yet.

Link to post
Share on other sites
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

  • Create New...