Jump to content

BrainFreeze

Members
  • Posts

    13
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Profile Information

  • Location
    Minneapolis - St Paul

More information about you

  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    HS, Legion
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

82 profile views

BrainFreeze's Achievements

2

Reputation

  1. Sorry for the slow response -- this has been a fun tangent! Thank you @kylehutson for the assist. @MadMax, another good one is /rant -- hehe. Enjoy the next to last weekend of Fall Ball -- my games are starting this afternoon and it's stopped raining
  2. Our replies crossed paths. the CB play made it completely clear. Thank you again! I appreciate your effort and I hope I wasn't too frustrating.
  3. Nothing negative about being mistaken -- I signed up to get feedback from other umpires, and hopefully give constructive feedback when I can. Thank you again.
  4. @Tborze is that the FED casebook? I did mention I need to get one 🙂 So for the shoulder turn -- I need to concentrate on 6.1.1 and not apply 6.1.3 at all. Thank you. It's very clear now.
  5. Hi @Matt thanks for your response. Can I ask why I'm incorrect? I agree he gets one move to come set, and I appreciate you clarifying. But 6.1.3 also says "Natural preliminary motions such as only one stretch may be made." And that's part of what's confusing me.
  6. @Tborze, pitcher had turned his shoulders to look at the R1 -- that's legal under FED. It's legal, but I thought it was part of the stretch ( FED 6.1.3 -- "only one stretch may be made" ). So, I ruled that after F1 had turned to look at R1, any movement after that shoulder turn required him to go "to the set position without interruption and in one continuous motion". I agree with you -- it's two separate moves, but my understanding is that the pitcher only gets one move. @maven says it's nothing, and TBH from the way it looked I might be inclined to agree. But I'm still trying to get my arms around *why* it's nothing. He should be able to, shouldn't he? He can disengage, or step and throw to 1B, or step and feint to 2B or 3B if there are runners there.
  7. maven, I'm mistaken all the time, just ask my ex... And thank you for your answer. The defensive HC said the same thing, and FED 6.1.1 is pretty clear that turning shoulders to check the runner is not a balk. But 6.1.3 is also pretty clear about coming out of the stretch in one continuous motion without interruption. And we do balk pitchers for failing to do that whether or not their hands are moving. Think of the pitcher who leans in for the sign, starts to straighten up and then leans in again. That's a balk whether or not his hands or feet have moved at all. I understand I just described a different motion. But, I don't understand why one is a balk and the other isn't. My take on the situation was that when F1 turned his shoulders back towards the batter ( moving from "B" to "A" ) he needed to continue that motion to come set or he would violate 6.1.3 So I guess that's where I'm getting stuck -- at what point does turning shoulders under 6.1.1 give way to uninterrupted continuous motion of 6.1.3 ? I don't have a FED casebook -- do you know whether it's addressed in there? ( I need a casebook anyway.... ) Thank you again!!
  8. Similar to this - differences: I call each pitch but do not give the number. I usually try to announce the count on every other pitch -- but that really depends on the action in progress. Frequent throws to first, etc. I always announce the count before putting the ball back into play. ("3-1, Play!") It gets a little redundant on the fourth foul ball in a row, but I'd rather do that to keep my internal timing. I always make sure to hold up both fists for a full count, though. /s
  9. I don't think that's correct. In FED, any outs made on a ball hit by an improper batter stand. The out for BOO supersedes any out made by the improper batter, but not any other outs made on the play. Situation: R1 and R3, no outs. Abel is the proper batter. Baker bats instead of Abel. Baker hits into 6-4-3 double play, scoring R3. Charlie comes up to bat, and defensive HC appeals the improper batter. On the appeal, R3 returns to 3B, but R1 is still out 6-4. Abel is declared out for BOO, and Baker is the proper batter. Baker is not charged with GIIDP. Baker now bats again, with 2 outs and R3. ( FED 7.1.1 ) OBR is similar wording, the only parts of the improper at bat that are nullified are runners who either score or advance due to the improper batter. Once an appeal is made, the defense does not have any choice available. Happy to hear other opinions?
  10. I was reading this thread and realized it was 11 years old, but I wasn't the first person to bring it back from the dead. So.... 16U Travel ball, FED Rules. Strike two on batter, he swings. Me: FOUL BALL! Batter: That hit my hand! HC: That hit his hand! Me: I had a foul ball. That hit your hand? Batter: YES! Me: OK, That's strike three, batter's out! Luckily for me, the coaches in this league demand and expect sportsmanship, and demonstrate it on the field. I explained the rule to the coach, he was surprised and admitted he didn't know that. End of funny story -- but I would like some feedback. Should I have stuck with the original call of Foul Ball?
  11. 15U club tournament game, FED rules. I called a balk that was disputed, and I was pretty sure I had the right call. I'm reviewing the FED rules, and now I'm confused. I would like some feedback and advice please. Here's the situation, along with my reasoning for the balk. F1 is pitching from the set position with R1. I'm going to call his initial stretch position A: hands at sides, feet slightly apart, standing up straight facing 3B, with his back to 1B and R1. F1 now turns his shoulders to look at 1B and R1 -- I'm calling that position B. He holds that position briefly, and slowly rotates his shoulders until he's back in position A, where he stops completely. When F1 stopped after returning to position A, I called a balk. Here's why: FED 6.1.1 allows the shoulder turn to first: FED 6.1.3 defines when/how the pitcher comes set from the stretch: So position B is legal (6.1.1). While he's turning his shoulders back from position B to position A, he can step towards 1B and throw (6.1.3), or he can disengage the pitcher's plate (6.1.3). What he cannot do is return to position A and stop -- he's required to come set because position B is the one stretch (6.1.3) Help? I've tried to find some references for this, but to no avail. It seems like there's a conflict here between 6.1.1 and 6.1.3 Be kind: it's my first post here.
×
×
  • Create New...