Jump to content

Jay R.

Members
  • Content Count

    12
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

2 Neutral

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    Alexandria Little League
  • Occupation
    Researcher and Editor
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Little League, other youth recreational
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Referred a member
  1. Unfortunately, @beerguy55 is correct
  2. You may have been taught some version of the "hands are part of the bat" fallacy, common among players and coaches. (If you haven't heard that from an arguing coach yet, you will eventually.) The hands are not part of the bat. If the ball hits his hands as he swings, it's the same result as if it him anywhere else on his body as he swung---dead ball, strike. Where the ball goes after hitting his hands is irrelevant.
  3. Yes. Joe Maddon did it more than once with the Cubs recently. For example: https://www.mlb.com/cut4/three-cubs-pitchers-play-left-field-in-cubs-15-inning-win-over-the-reds-c1868355 Moving the pitcher to another position prevents his team from using the designated hitter the rest of the game. See rule 5.11(a)(8): "Once the game pitcher is switched from the mound to a position on defense, such move shall terminate the Designated Hitter role for that Club for the remainder of the game."
  4. That is terrible. I umpired in a local Little League for six years and was really strict about batters getting to the plate, staying in the box, etc. I called several strikes on batters who were slow to take their position, for whatever reason (all backed by my UIC on review). I would NEVER do what you describe above.
  5. Yes. From Rule 5.09(c) "Appeal plays may require an umpire to recognize an apparent 'fourth out.' If the third out is made during a play in which an appeal play is sustained on another runner, the appeal play decision takes precedence in determining the out. If there is more than one appeal during a play that ends a half-inning, the defense may elect to take the out that gives it the advantage."
  6. I should have known better than to quibble with a Senor Azul citation. That's really interesting that they actively removed that---I'm really curious as to why.
  7. FWIW, the LL "UMPIRE SCHOOL RULES INSTRUCTION MANUAL (RIM)" for 2014 clarified that the play, as described, would not be obstruction. From page 27, which includes comments on Rule 2.00 (Obstruction): “Train wrecks are still going to happen and are not to be considered as obstruction. Example: Throw from the shortstop to the 1st baseman in an attempt to get a batter-runner out pulls the 1st baseman down the line toward home plate and the 1st baseman and the batter-runner collide. This is a train wreck because the defensive player is doing what he/she should be doing (fielding the ball) and the batter-runner is doing what he/she should be doing (running the bases)."
  8. The guy who was my local LL head umpire for several years (pretty high up in LL, did state tournaments a few times) basically said that the offensive team can be as loud as they want, but that they can't change what they're doing as the pitcher is winding up or delivering, or it constitutes an attempt to make the pitcher balk (or illegally pitch, at Majors and below). Generally, chanting, clapping, yelling, and commotion is fine; screaming during a delivery isn't. That said, I don't know that I could point to a specific rule or interpretation affirming this.
  9. 1. Correct, but for the wrong reasons (see #4) 2. Assuming you're the base umpire, I would have made an out call when the batter got to first base. (I'm not sure why the PU signaled safe at the throw down to first---isn't that your call?) I would point toward home, signal out, and say something like "Batter's out---dropped third not in effect". It's primarily the plate umpire's call, but I would clarify that the runner was out to prevent more craziness in case of more throws around the infield. 3. Probably better to confer with your partner, but it seems like the first conference hadn't totally broken up. Doesn't sound like you did anything wrong, IMO. 4. This is not correct. First base is considered occupied regardless of a steal attempt (unless, in baseball, the runner starts for second while the pitcher is set, and makes it before the pitching motion starts). 5. "Does it give them any ammunition?" Yes, but I'm not convinced. It'd be one thing if your partner somehow caused the craziness (maybe an emphatic "Strike---no catch! No catch!" call on a ball in the dirt that stayed in front of the catcher?). But I see a passed ball and kids reacting because they're not sure of the rules. As noumpere said, the PU should've been ready with an emphatic---maybe even repeated, given the age level---"Batter's out!" call. S/he wasn't. You did a good job, given the circumstances.
  10. To go back to the OP: This can be minimized by clarifying at the plate conference what the time limit is. I was umpiring a LL local playoff game ~10 days ago. Partner and I checked with the coaches; both agreed that with no following game the time limit (1:45 no new inning, 2 hours drop dead) was not in effect (not a school night, if it matters). The game was a doozy on multiple levels, though I think we got most calls right. It went from 16-5 after the top of the 6th to 16-14 with tying runs on base at end of game. Plenty of parents were grumbling (and yelling!) that I should have stopped the game, but the coaches were cool.
  11. 1) Agree with Noumpere 2) Umpire got this right. The relevant NFHS rule is Rule 6, Section 2, Article 4(d)(1): "If the pitcher, with a runner on base, stops or hesitates in his delivery because the batter steps out of the box (a) with one foot or (b) with both feet or (c) holds up his hand to request “Time,” it shall not be a balk. In (a) and (c), there is no penalty on either the batter or the pitcher. The umpire shall call “Time” and begin play anew. In (b), a strike shall be called on the batter for violation of 7-3-1. In (a), (b) and (c), if the pitcher legally delivers the ball, it shall be called a strike and the ball remains live. Thus, two strikes are called on the batter in (b). If the umpire judges the batter’s action to be a deliberate attempt to create a balk, he will penalize according to 3-3-1o."
  12. The runner is also not out if he was on the base he started on and an infield fly was declared (OBR 5.09(b)(7))
  13. I've worked in a Little League with similar setups for the past several years. The home scorekeeper is official, and the electronic scoreboards are rarely used. I agree with you that you're not likely to reconstruct the second inning at the end of a game, and it sounds like you handled a crappy situation pretty well. FWIW, I typically ask the scorekeepers to check with each other twice: once at the third inning, once after the next-to-last inning (eg, after the fifth for a six-inning game). I don't want to know the score; I just want to know that they agree. If there is a scoreboard, I might ask them if they agree with the board at the same inning markers. I also confirm any potential score/no-score decisions at the end of an inning with both books immediately. Good luck avoiding this in the future!
×
×
  • Create New...