Jump to content

ousafe

Members
  • Content Count

    92
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

22 Neutral

1 Follower

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. @ArchAngel72 , in my experience a "that's nothing" call from a partner tells me he's very experienced. It means that not only did he see the action, but processed it and came to the conclusion that there was no infraction AND understood in the moment that others might think otherwise and that his "no infraction" judgment needs to be communicated accordingly. I considered it an important milestone in my own development when I signaled my first "that's nothing" on the field. I am working hard to make it a more natural part of my game for sure. FWIW.
  2. I do a lot of LL, and that's a strike all day long. That said, at the HS level they do complain about the "LL zone" ha ha! (And hitters will have to get used to the pitch at the midpoint...or truly in the corners...)
  3. I think I have a new called strike three mechanic!
  4. ousafe

    Bats

    This ^^^
  5. Correct. That grand slam immediately after a balk call? In Fed it didn't happen.
  6. I get the part about the runner being able to run anywhere when the ball is thrown. I dont get the part about being able to run anywhere when reversing direction and the trailing defender, with the ball, is in the runner's way.
  7. Lets see if I understand this. We have an attempted tag by F6. We have a baseline, yes? F6 never gives up the ball. BR runs a big loop around F6 to reverse direction toward 2B and *get around* F6, who has the ball. I'm having an extremely hard time believing this is not out of his baseline. Just because the fielder didn't reach out in his direction as he was running the big loop? [Edit] I guess this comes down to what constitutes a tag attempt?
  8. You were correct, in LL baseball there are penalties for leaving early, but an out is not one of them. In LL softball, yes you get an out if a runner leaves early. So she was probably confusing the two rule books.
  9. @RBIbaseball, see @noumpere's response above. (He is very smart.) If your runner attains 2nd prior to time of pitch, then 1st is unoccupied. Time of pitch = first movement of pitching delivery. *Otherwise*, 1st is still "occupied" for the purposes of uncaught 3rd strike. I may be wrong, but the only time I've seen a reference to "release of pitch" is as softball distinction relating to when runners can leave their bases (LL majors softball, and above). Likelihood of runner attaining second before first movement is very low in OBR games (i.e. leadoffs possible), and pretty much impossible in majors LL and lower with closed bases (no leadoffs).
  10. Might want to consult the LL casebook called "Make the right call". Your league UIC or league president should have a copy to share with you.
  11. R2. RHP in set position. Pitcher wheels toward 2nd in a sort of jab step motion. Both feet end up on the home plate side of the rubber. The free foot did wind up closer to second base than where it started. Pitcher feinted but did not throw. I had nothing. Coach claimed it was a balk because the free foot had to clear the rubber (i.e. end up on 2nd base side of the rubber). What's the right call?
  12. I spent a bit of time researching this last night and also couldn't find a distinction. Approved ball list is here: https://www.littleleague.org/tournament-resources/approved-balls/ There is no categorization by division in that list, but some balls are noted as "Sr." - it doesn't look like a determinative distinction though.
  13. @SJA You are right. But it is intended to provide context and aid in correct interpretation and application of the rules. Ignore it at your own peril.
×
×
  • Create New...