Jump to content


  • Posts

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by BLarson

  1. Same with me last weekend (12 USSSA Majors)...left handed batter stepped out of the box on the plate to bunt an outside pitch. I only saw it because the ball was laid down right in front of him. The coach came over for an explanation and I told him I would only call it if I was 100% sure he was completely out of the box.
  2. I saw this last night. I was doing a double header 12u baseball solo. The field next to us was 13u, 2 man. We had started our 2nd game while the 13u game was still going. In between one of our innings we all heard from the 13u field: "That's bullsh*t blue" The umpire tossed the fan. I joked to the fans on our field...that's a lesson for everyone and they all laughed. Come to find out the fan on the other field wouldn't leave, the umpires went to the coach and he didn't/wouldn't do anything. So the umpires declared forfiet. The game had to be near the end of time/innings. Weekday game....I feel bad for the kids...they didn't deserve that.
  3. I don't know the size of the bats, but they seemed appropriate length/weight for this age. They certainly didn't seem to heavy. In the 3 games I did that night I probably saw about a dozen actual bunts and several more attempts. The wood just kills the ball...where the metal makes it take off and roll. I was a nice change of pace.
  4. Did my first USSSA baseball wood bat tournament games this weekend. I saw lots of bunt/bunt attempts...way more than I have ever seen in years doing metal bats. In one game the batter showed bunt and then pulled back and full swung at it. He missed. The defensive coach said that's not allowed in USSSA for safety reasons. I had no idea and neither did the offensive coach. We didn't spend much time discussing it and It didn't happend the rest of the game. The strike stood. I looked at USSSA baseball rules today and the only thing I could find was Rule 9.13.A, but this was under Rule 9.00 Machine pitch specific rules. This was 10u kid pitch. Am I missing anything?
  5. It is USSSA 11u baseball
  6. USSSA rules. There are a limit on the number of innings (not pitches) a pitcher can throw. Each out is considered 1/3 of an inning. The starting pitcher has reached his max innings for 1 day and comes out the next inning and thows 3-4 warmup pitches before the coach realizes it and makes a pitching change. Doesn't he have to face 1 batter? They could walk the batter, which wouldn't count against innings pitched. Is this covered in 5.10(i)?
  7. BLarson

    IFF follies

    11U USSSA tournament baseball. We're on defense, R1 and R2, 1 out. Batter hits a high pop fly to SS in infield (no wind, our SS was camped under it). Neither umpire calls IFF. Our SS doesn't catch it so the runners take off running. The SS throws the ball to 3rd. No tag. Umpire calls the runner out at 3rd. I go out and ask them: Shouldn't that have been an IFF? They confer and called BR out for IFF. Inning over. Our defense leaves the field and prepare to bat. The other team takes the field and pitcher finishes his warm up pitches when the other team figures out that since it wasn't a force the runner going to 3rd should be safe. The umpires then come over and say they made a mistake and they are going to correct it. The placed runners on 3rd and 2nd and send us back on defense with 2 outs. I said we believe runners should be on 1st and 2nd, not 2nd and 3rd, since they probably woudn't have run if IFF was called, and since it wasn't called we only tagged the base, not the runner. Why would we? They said that's what they were going to do and we went on to play. We knew the other team very well and everyone was calm and understanding and wanted to get it right Obviously this wasn't handled very well, but was this corrected the right way? Is it correctable up to the point the other team delivers a pitch? Where the runners placed correctly? We ended up retiring the next batter so it didn't have any affect to the game, even though it happened in the top of the 1st inning.
  8. It never happened by either team in the game, so no protest was needed. I could start another thread about another umpire a few weeks ago stated at the plate meeting: "You both aren't going to like my strike zone, so better have the kids swinging." Honest to god. We expected big strike zone, but it wasn't. Like 16 walks in that game between both teams.
  9. It was 2 man umpire. The PU was older (10-15 years) than BU and the BU said nothing at plate meeting except introducing himself. I will say that the game was officiated consistently by both umpires and there were no issues.
  10. I'm sure the TD wouldn't know the rule, they usually don't. When I told him that's not the penalty for a thrown bat and he said "That's my rule" I knew I wasn't going to win this battle and that's all the clarification I was going to get. I just wasn't sure since it was covered and stated at the plate meeting (like ground rules?) and then enforced in the game, I could protest it. I'm in the process of finding out what umpire association they came from so I can contact them.
  11. 11u USSSA trounament game. At the plate meeting the umpire told us the boys need to control their bats...we agreed. Then he went on to tell us that any bat that is thrown that hits him, the catcher, or the backstop the batter would automatically be out. I told him that's not the rule, or even close the correct rule and he told me "That's my rule". Of course we never had an issue during the game, but since he declared this at the plate meeting does it make it so? If a thrown bat and the umpire calling the batter out affected the outcome to either team, can this be protested?
  12. So why did he get ejected?
  13. let's say the ball was completely at rest on home plate. The batter has 1 foot entirely on the ground in foul territory (batter's box) and the other foot touches the ball (which is at rest on the plate) in fair territory. A lot of the discussion was from a batted ball that hits the batter while in the batter's box is a foul ball...I get that. But this is the batter potentially altering the outcome of a play with his actions.
  14. At our umpire meeting this weekend we debated this scenario: Batter hits/bunts a ball that comes to rest in fair territory on or around home plate with no one touching it first. The batter, now taking off for first has 1 foot in the batters box while the other foot steps on or touches the at rest ball (not intentionally). I am under the impression that the runner would be out for touching a live batted ball before fielder touches it.6.05(g) It wasn't a pitched ball that hit him in the box, nor was it a batted ball that hit the batter in the box.
  • Create New...