Jump to content


Established Member
  • Content Count

  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by JamesC

  1. Because I haven’t purchased the shoe yet so can get any size. That’s about as easy as it gets I’d say.
  2. I have a few pair of these available. Brand new, never worn. Got lucky and stumbled onto a good deal. Message me and I’ll let you know if I have your size available. $120/pair and $15 for shipping. All black and white/black available. First come first served.
  3. I am not sure if there's anything wrong with it, but not something I would recommend. Especially if the game was crazy or got out of hand in any way. Couldn't image him hanging around to shake the hands of someone pissed at him, but then again I don't know the guy. I worked with some guys when I first started who liked (and taught) to hang around after the game during the hand shake to make sure things went "smoothly". I was never a fan of this but it's what the association wanted. Umpire jurisdiction ends when we leave the field, so I'm with the philosophy of getting off the field ASAP upon the final out of the game. Whatever happens after I'm gone is between the two schools. Or at least that's how I feel about it.
  4. JamesC


    I guess we'll have to agree to disagree on this one. Just because I haven't had to use a rule doesn't mean it doesn't have credibility. I've never had to eject a player for using a foreign substance, but that doesn't give the rule any less credibility.
  5. I downloaded too. Add me and let's play: jhc021
  6. JamesC


    Since this post, I still haven't had to address it yet. I like to keep the game moving. I'm sure you're a great guy, I am just having a difficult time understanding why someone would come to the board asking for advice on how to handle this particular situation and then when they are given a rule to support the advice (20-second rule) they decide to call it impractical and refuse to apply the rule if/when necessary. Don't get me wrong, I know there are a handful of rules in the book that seem to stretch it and there are many umpires who choose to ignore certain things. A lot of us understand the intention of certain rules and also understand how real-life baseball games work, so we do understand that there are situations where things seem impractical. I don't disagree with you that the 20-second rule is a bit strict and is rarely (I've never seen anyone call it) called on a pitcher, but it is a tool (rule) in our arsenal if we need it. The 20-second rule is a straightforward way for you to address the delay you're describing in a supported approach. While I'm sure you would get plenty of argument if you assessed this penalty, you're 100% supported by the book and they don't have a leg to stand on unless they want to say you don't have an official timer/watch to assess the penalty. Then it's your word against theirs I suppose at that point. And so far (8+ years) I haven't lost the count yet. **Knock on wood** since I have the dish on a big district championship 4A game tonight with the series tied 1-1.
  7. JamesC


    I don't even consider timing someone unless I think they're taking too long, and then I'll do a rough count in my head. Even when I think they're taking a long time, it's normally a few seconds short of 20 so I don't worry about getting too technical. Plus, I don't use an indicator so my left hand is free for the stopwatch. Is that Smitty enough for you?
  8. JamesC


    I guess I'm confused why this is impractical and how it's going to turn the game to crap. This is a rule to the game and it is not uncommon. There are 20-second clocks in the majority of your major college stadiums (if not all) and there are even 20-second clocks in your MLB stadiums. This rule is to assist in moving the game along, which you're asking for assistance with through this thread. I'm normally very lenient with this and even when I feel like a pitcher is taking too long I'll start to keep a mental track of their time in my head. Rarely do I get a pitcher over 17-18 seconds after receiving the ball so I haven't had to address the matter yet, but I think it's good to know the rule is in place to avoid the aforementioned 3.5 hour games. If the plate guy is working the game as he should be and has good game management, you shouldn't be out there that long. We completed a 10-inning game last week in 2 hours and 10 minutes. None of that BS between innings where the pitcher wants to hang out in the dugout until the catcher is ready because he was the last out. Not my problem. There are 8 other people on the bench who can warm up the pitcher. In those cases, when the pitcher walks out thinking he's about to warm up after hanging out in the dugout for 2 minutes, I'm calling for a batter. Bet me he doesn't get his ass out there next time and get warmed upon the completion of the inning. Not meaning to hijack a thread but I despise calling with guys who are letting pitchers take 7-8 pitches in between innings, drag around, 4 minute half-innings, and everything else. Those things add up and add up quickly. I think a pretty popular guy in the Northeast says it best, DO YOUR JOB!
  9. I've always been curious about this and would be interested in hearing everyone else's stories on handling this. If/when you tell a coach that you kicked the call and missed it, do you not catch a lot of hell or even more grief for admitting that? It doesn't escalate the coach's anger? I've never admitted to a coach during a game that I've kicked a call, even if I know without a doubt I did. Don't get me wrong, I've made calls where I immediately wished I could have a mulligan; however, I've taken my ass chewing because I deserved it. I guess I've just never had the balls to admit to a coach while he's chewing my ass that I missed a call. Either it's not having the balls or not wanting to make the matter worse. I guess I just feel like admitting it is going to piss the coach off more and he's going to be wanting me to change the call because it's "for the kids".
  10. JamesC


    I must have misunderstood the rule. I thought the ball call applied at all times, regardless of runner situation? I was under the impression the pitcher had 20-seconds to take action after receiving the ball; whether this be a pickoff attempt, pitch, or whatever else you would consider a play. I don't have the FED rule book with me, does anyone have that rule reference readily available?
  11. Why would it matter if the foot was off the bag or not if the initial call was safe to begin with? Appealing (correctly) that the foot was off the bag wouldn't change the call, right? If he was deemed to have beaten the throw to begin with but an (defensive??) appeal determines he pulled his foot, the call is still the same? I'm having a hard time understanding this situation.
  12. I have a pair of Honig's PolyWool base and a pair of their plate pants I need to get rid of. The waste is 36 and length is hemmed to approximately 30 but with some room left for modification. They're about 4 years old with maybe 30-40 games total on each pair. These are the prior model pants and I can get pictures if you need them. Overall, they're in good condition and actually just had them dry cleaned before I put the away. $35 each shipped or $60 for both, shipped.
  13. JamesC

    BR misses 1st

    Can someone give me the rules reference that says a runner is to have legally acquired a base once they reach/pass it? As demonstrated in the OP? I do not have my rules book or case book with me. A reference to each would be nice if you have it, rules book and case book.
  14. To add question to the mechanics, in FED verbal appeals are allowed. In this particular situation, if BR overruns first base as normal and the DC yells from the dugout that the BR missed first base as F3 is attempting a throw on R1 who is rounding second heading towards third, are we accepting the DC's verbal appeal and awarding an out upon completion of the play, or is this a situation where F3 would have had to actually tag the BR in an expression of appealing of his missing of first? Complex much?
  15. Anyone else who calls football, any advice on how to keep your flag tucked in and keep it from hanging or coming untucked? As I run to keep up with the plays, my flag continuously comes further and further untucked and I have to tuck it back in after nearly every play.
  16. I had this very same thing happen by an assistant coach a couple of years ago. Gave them ample time on the mound and walked out there to break it up. Told them let's go. No response or acknowledgement from the assistant. At first, I didn't think anything about it because usually they don't really say much anyway and will turn and walk off about the time you tell them to wrap it up. Well, I started to walk away because I thought the catcher was headed back too, and realized he wasn't and the coach wasn't moving. Told him again, "Let's go!" and he didn't do anything. I said, "Coach, we're finished here. Get back to the dugout." He told me something along the lines he wasn't done yet and would head back when he was finished. I was so caught off guard I wasn't thinking straight I guess. Normally I would have dumped him immediately (assistant coach telling me what he is/isn't going to do). Oh well, I stepped in the middle and broke them up. There was much more excitement to this story that I will not divulge, but the advice I was given was to eject an assistant after their second refusal not to leave. A little more rope for the head chief, but not for assistants I'd say.
  17. I'm sorry, I don't know how this post got under this thread. I was reading the other thread about mound visits not breaking up and tried to login. After logging in, somehow it brought me back to this post and I didn't read back over it. Didn't mean to hijack your thread!
  18. I don't give location of the pitch and was alway taught from an early age that it was best not to do it. Not that it was right or wrong, just best to avoid it. The reason, which still makes complete sense to me, was because you will inevitably get one or two close pitches a game where you think to yourself, "WOW! That was a close one!" and then you verbally signal, "BALL!" Instead of saying, "BALL! Outside." like you've been for the last 4 innings, you didn't indicate location and now everyone in the stadium is wanting to know why you missed that call and, "You must even know you missed it because you couldn't tell us where it missed!" You get the picture. For me, that is my reasoning. Now, I will tell the catcher and/or batter quietly, "I have that one just outside guys." or "I can't go that low tonight." Just seems like a way to make talk but also acknowledge to both that the pitch was very close but just outside of the zone. Typically, the catcher and batter will relay that kind of information to the right people at the right time.
  19. $20 for anything. Negotiable for multiple items/groupings.
  20. Excellent points! And don't put your mask on the ground EVER! I will get partners sometimes whose excuses are that the starting catcher wasn't out there yet. Oh well. I tell them at 4 pitches: "Save the last one for your starter." I'm not out there to babysit. If he wants to drag around in the dugout, that's fine. I'll let the pitcher get all 5 warmups in and when the starter comes out we start playing. "But I didn't get to throw down!" Maybe next time you'll hurry up. The warmups are for the pitcher, not the catcher. He's likely not throwing 84 MPH every pitch. Or the pitcher who wants to come out, walk around the mound a couple of times, clean the rubber off, dig a couple holes out, fill a couple of holes in, say a prayer, get some rosin, wipe his spikes, and then start on his warmup pitches. I say, "2 more!" "But that was only 1 pitch, I get 5" I love when that happens. Had one guy tell me, "I'm taking all 5". I did not object, told him he could take 30 if he wanted but each one after the 2 remaining I gave him would be a ball. He changed his mind quickly. I would have loved to enforce that one just for the fun of it.
  21. I'll add this to the list which are some of my pet peeves: - Putting the ball back in play too early. Pitcher is off the rubber and/or the batter is still out of the box. WAIT! - Going to your partner on calls that YOU are responsible for when your partner has other responsibilities. Prime example of going when you shouldn't go - pulled foot at first base when you're in A. Why? Just because a coach asks for you to go for help doesn't mean you go. DO YOUR JOB! - Refusing to go to your partner in B or C for help on check swings because they "can't see it from there". BS. I can see perfectly from here and I'll give you what I got if you come to me. - Partners who "take it easy" on teams because it is early or for whatever reason. If they balk, call it. If they commit batter's interference on a steal play, call it. I take the crap 2 weeks later because I'm going to call it and "No one has called that all season!"
  22. JamesC

    Mouthy Moment

    I used to think I had a quick trigger (and in some cases maybe I do) but now I'm glad that I handle my business. I don't know why we aren't issuing ejections for things like this after the first "knock it off!" It's like us telling our children if they do something they're going to get in trouble, but when they do it we just tell them not to do it again. When you told them to knock it off the first time, especially considering the F bombs and gestures that were being dropped, start ejecting them after that. One of two things will happen: A) they will quit (which is what you want), or B) there will be no more players left to play the game. They'll get the point after 1-2 ejections, I'd think, and realize you are serious and they better cut it out.
  23. About 34-36. The XL were around 38-40 I think.
  24. I know this is our baseball site but some people work multiple sports. I have a couple pair of Adidas Turf Hogs for sale, size 10 (low and mid-top), a pair of large Honig's football pants, black with white stripe. Pants are the all-weather or the heavier duty pants. Hemmed to be around a 30" inseam but have 3-4 inches to be let out further. I don't have photos with me but if anyone is interested let me know. Pants and shoes were only worn one season. Nothing wrong with them. And if anyone on here is in Louisiana I have a short sleeve and long sleeve LHSOA shirt I'll get rid of for a good price too. Long sleeve still has tags and never worn. I can do pictures if there is any interest.
  25. I posted about my terrible experience with a partner throwing me under the bus a couple of weeks ago. To answer your question, I came home from the game and threw my pants on the couch while I was telling my girlfriend about the game and how frustrated I was. Ten minutes later I grabbed the pants to hang them up and they were wrinkled all over. No pants should have wrinkled that quickly.
  • Create New...