Jump to content

tankmjg24

Established Member
  • Content Count

    131
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

4 Neutral

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    West Virginia

More information about you

  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Referred a member

Recent Profile Visitors

2,914 profile views
  1. NFHS Varsity baseball game with R1, R2 and 1 out. Batter hits a soft line drive towards F6, R2 runs back to 2nd base while R1 takes off for 2nd base. F6 jumps for the ball and is unsuccessful in catching the hit ball and it lands about 15 feet deep in short left field. At this point R2 reverses and heads to 3rd as R1 has reached 2nd and BR has reached 1st. F6 chases down the ball and attempts to throw out the advancing R2 and in doing so overthrows F5 and the ball sails into the dugout. Is this award considered 2 bases from TOT since the ball is located in the outfield, or is it considered 2 bases from TOP since F6 is doing the throwing? We scored R2 and R1 and placed BR on 3rd. Coach questioned this ruling but accepted the answer that the ball was physically thrown via the outfield and that it did not necessarily make a difference who does the throw but the location of the throw. To answer a few questions that may be asked; no it was not an infield fly, no R1 did not pass R2, and no all base runners had not acquired the next base at the time of the throw.
  2. I agree that it is ugly, and while ugly does not always equate to balk, it sure does in this situation. I had pretty much everything that you all said. I wanted to confirm that my thought process was correct, and it was . The field umpire is a first year guy, and this was literally his first game ever. Weather has not been too good to us, and all of our on field scrimmages and training got snowed out (yes snow). All of the training prior to this game was pretty much done in a classroom and indoor facility. He has a very good athletic background and officiates other sports, so hopefully with time he catches on to baseball.
  3. Check out this pick off move (48 seconds) and tell me why you would call a balk.
  4. So I believe what I did was overthink the situation. When I first read B I took it as the runner advancing on the play, but see now that it is more of the situation where the runner is already advancing.
  5. Currently taking Part 2 Test and have ran into a few questions (surprisingly both involving obstruction) that I am not certain what they are looking for. Which of the following statements on obstruction is correct: a. The ball is delayed dead. b. Obstruction is declared when a fielder without the ball simulates a tag on a runner. c. Obstruction occurs when a fielder with possession of the ball denies access to the base the runner is attempting to achieve. d. All the above. So A is right as we wait for playing action to end resulting in a delayed dead ball the majority of the time. B is true for sure. C is incorrect as the fielder has possession of the ball. Based off of this, I have both A and B as correct answers, so which answer choice are they looking for? If the penalty for catcher's obstruction on a batter is enforced: a. The batter shall be awarded first base. b. Runners attempting to advance shall be awarded the base attempted. c. Runners not attempting to advance will be returned to the base occupied at the time of pitch, unless forced to advance because of the batter's award of first base. d. All of the above. A is correct, B is incorrect, and C is correct. I feel like they are looking for the answer here to be C.
  6. Hey Maven, I missed where this is already being discussed. Where can I find the discussion? Thanks
  7. Hello all, I am having difficulties understanding one of the NFHS Part 1 question and answer. Here is the question with possible answer choices followed by what NFHS states is correct. With a runner on third, the batter hits a high pop fly that drifts over foul territory. The third baseman is accidentally prevented from catching the ball by the runner at third base. A. Foul Ball B. The runner at third is out and the batter is out C. The batter is out D. The coach is restricted to the bench and the coaching box must remain unoccupied Answer: B. The runner at third is out and the batter is out Explanation: 8-4-2g 8-4-2g states any runner is out when he: intentionally interferes with a throw or a thrown ball; or he hinders a fielder on his initial attempt to field a batted ball. A fielder is not protected, except from intentional contact if he misplays the ball and has to move from his original location; or his being put out is prevented by an ­illegal act by anyone connected with the team (2-21-1, 3-2-2, 3) or by the batter-runner; for runner returning to base (8-2-6); and for runner being hit by a batted ball (8-4-2k). If, in the judgment of the umpire, a runner ­including the batter-runner interferes in any way and prevents a double play anywhere, two shall be declared out (the runner who interfered and the other runner involved). If a retired runner interferes, and in the judgment of the umpire, another runner could have been put out, the umpire shall declare that runner out. If the umpire is uncertain who would have been played on, the runner closest to home shall be called out; So why am I going to get a double play here? In my mind you call out R3 for interference and put the batter back into the box as the ball was determined to be foul. I do not think that R3 is preventing a double play which would be the only reasoning for getting 2 outs. Thoughts?
  8. Neither one of these teams were that good to be honest. Our first round tournament games are seeded, and this was the 4/5 game. F3's throw was high because he lowered his back shoulder. Now whether he lowered his back shoulder because he cannot throw, or because he was trying to throw over R3 is uncertain. Had the throw been clean F2 would have easily been able to throw back to 3rd and get R3, as R3 was frozen halfway home. Had F2 been aware enough to turn and throw to F5 is another question.
  9. Had this happen in my HS playoff game this evening. 3 man crew and I am U3 in D position. There are R2 and R3 with 1 out and the infield is playing in. Batter hits a slow roller towards second, R3 starts to head home and stops as it looks like F1 may field the ball. Ball bounces over F1's glove and is fielded by F4. R3 is still about 20 feet off the base froze. F4 glances at the runner and throws to F3 to get BR out by about 15 feet or so. R3 starts to head home on the throw by F4. As BR is going across across he raises his arms up in the air and waves them around. F3 throws to the plate and the ball is over the head of F2. R3 about halfway home stops on the throw by F3 and is again frozen. This field has an extremely short backstop (10 feet if that) and the ball bounces off the fence and rolls toward F2. When R3 sees the overthrow he retreats back to 3rd. So here are my questions. U1 and PU neither called this (later found out neither saw it). I find it hard that I should be signaling across the field and getting interference here, but should I? Should I bring them together afterwards and ask them about this? Wait for a coach to argue it and then give what I have? Basically how should this be handled. Next question is should this even be called interference (I say yes as the fielder deliberately put his hands in the air) where there was no run or play that occurred afterwards. Thoughts?
  10. 12U game under FED rules and I am the base umpire with bases loaded. Infield is playing in, so I am in a deeper C position. F1 throws a fastball that is up and in and heading towards the batter. Batter makes an awkward move to get out of the way of the pitch, going up and back while raising his arms and bringing the bat forward a bit. F2 attempts to catch the errant pitch and it hits off the end of his glove and rolls to the backstop advancing all runners 1 base. From the field, I could see a slight deflection of the ball while also hearing 2 distinct sounds. Sound 1 was the ball hitting something, and sound 2 was the ball hitting F2's mitt. I could not 100% though tell if the ball made contact with the batter or the bat due to the way he moved out of the way. PU initially did not signal anything but the defensive coach came out and was questioning if the ball hit the bat. PU comes to me and asks if I saw or heard anything to which I respond that I am 100% certain that the ball hit something, but that I was not sure if it hit the bat or the batter. The batter did not respond as if he had been HBP, but at the same time he was diving out of the way of a not so hard pitch, so it could have grazed him without him knowing it. PU decides to just go with live ball and the result of the play. So given this situation where we know the ball has made contact with something, but not sure what, how would you rule?
  11. So I am looking for feedback on whether I should have put an end to the negativity that a pitcher displayed recently. Game is with a team that my association usually does not cover, so I have no idea about how the game is going to go. Game begins and pitcher is missing all over the place. He is fussing at his catcher who is trying to encourage him, yelling at the infielders who are trying to encourage him, kicking dirt, talking into his hat etc. One place he is consistently missing is about an inch outside. As the game progresses, I start to notice that after a called ball, he begins to raise his arms in the air a bit and shake his head etc. At one point he yells down to home "where did that miss". I tell the catcher out, who tells the pitcher, who responds by shaking he head and going back to the mound. I am not going to respond to the pitcher by yelling out to the mound, but I will tell the catcher where a pitch misses. In the above case I told the catcher who relayed my response to the pitcher. The body language was pathetic, but I never really felt like it crossed a major line. It was also very sporadic, and not constant. I mentioned to the catcher one time that his pitcher was flirting with crossing a line, to which he responded "yeah he always acts like that." At the time, things did not seem to be too bad, but I have since seen video (will try to get a copy for you all) and it looks worse on film. I should mention that there was no issues from the coach or the catcher, and the game was never really too competitive. In hind site, I wonder if I should have stopped the coach one time he was going to the box and mentioned the pitcher's attitude, or if this would have caused a bigger problem. Thoughts on how this should have been handled?
  12. @GPblue the tournament directors are pretty good guys, but at the same time they are trying to make teams happy so that they play in the tournaments. They have always backed the umpires with an ejection. The policy is you are ejected from that game and there may be additional penalties depending on what happens after. In this case, they opted for just that game and did not add any additional time. The one thing that I did not agree with was that they did not make him leave the facility. He gave them the cry baby story of being from out town and having no where to go (there is a mall down the street), and the tournament directors opted to allow him to just go past the fans down the line and watch. I was told though that they told him to be quiet and not cause any more problems. @CricketChapman I agree that it seems as if the griping was over the top, but not really sure what could have been done prior to stop it. Plate meeting and buckets there was just mumbling from assistants. Manager was explained why things were the way they were and he seemed to understand. The assistants could not deal with the fact that they were assistants (typical daddy ball). The problem with the one play was that they refused to acknowledge they were incorrect with the rule, and then the manager had a problem with the protest fee (not my problem).
  13. Recently had this fun in a 10U USSSA tournament with me being the base umpire. Rather long so sorry in advance. At the start of the game, all 5 coaches come out to the plate meeting and are amazed when they are instructed that only the manager is needed. They then cannot believe that they are not allowed to sit/stand 10 feet outside the dugout on their specialized buckets (had team name, storage pockets, and even a nice little cushion on the top with a backrest). Play is on the weaker side with neither team being that good. Both pitchers are struggling to understand that they need to pitch from a set position once runners get on base, and more than one time they pitched from the windup allowing the runner to steal easily. This particular time, F1 from the windup with R2, and as soon as the pitcher starts his motion the 3rd base coach (who is the manager) starts yelling "steal, steal, get over here". F1 kind of hesitates in his motion, but never stops or commits an act that would make it a balk. R2 easily steals 3rd, but then the batter swings away and drives the pitch to center field. R2 is standing on 3rd, and the coach tells him to tag from 3rd. F5 makes the catch, and R2 legally tags up from 3rd base. F8 throws to F4 at 2nd for the easy out. Manager comes over arguing that he had attained 3rd base. I tried to explain that was not the case, but he was listening. So finally, I instructed that if he thought we misinterpreted the rule that he was within his rights to protest the game. He tells me that he would like to do so, at which point I instruct him that we need either a check for $100 or $100 cash (tournament directors rules) prior to lodging a protest. He then starts to yell about how we blew the call and now want more money from him. I warn him and tell him that the conversation is over and either pay for the protest or we are playing baseball. He chooses play baseball. I go back to A and the game continues, but as the next batter is taking his position in the box, coach in the dugout is loudly telling his team about how I got the rule wrong and that you cannot control what the umpires miss. Manager stops at the dugout and is talking too. I cannot hear what is being said, but PU does and calls time. (Turns out he walked over and told the coach and players that they have to play harder to beat the other team and the crappy umpiring). PU walks up the 3rd base line and signals for the manger to come talk to him. I go down about halfway to home in order to hear the conversation (our organization likes to have the other umpire within ear range in case something is said and to keep an eye on everyone else around). Manager tells PU that he was not talking to us, but to his team (yeah that old line). PU responds that he has already been warned and that we are not having any of it. Coach on bucket is still going, I warn him to cut it out and that we are not going to listen to it anymore. Assistant goes back to his bucket mumbling something, manager goes back to the coaches box, and the game continues. Next batter strikes out. In between innings I am in short RF, can still hear the coaches talking loudly about how the call was blown and about how it should have been a balk anyhow. Assistant coach starts to walk out towards me yelling that he wants to talk to me. I put my hand up (which he totally ignores) and then tell him that I am not going to discuss a play in the past and that the manager needs to be the one doing their talking. He then responds that I blew the call and now won't even talk to him because I know I blew the call. At this point he was ejected, and somehow he could not believe he was. Of course now comes the childish tirade about how the game is for the kids, I do not know the rules and cheated his team, I am trying to make the game about me, etc. Sad thing is, the team still thinks that the call was blown and that they are right.
  14. The issue was that the BU forgot/did not know that if the ball made contact with the pitcher prior to contacting him, that the ball was still live. He realized that the ball hit him as he was trying to turn away from the ball, but had a delayed reaction to signaling dead ball and placing the runners.
  15. I know that a picture does not tell an entire story, but let's take a look at the following picture and determine if there is a chance for OBS to be called. Home plate can be (somewhat) visualized underneath the catchers left shin guard. The ball is in the air a few feet from the glove. The runner is sliding directly towards home plate. Runner was safe as the tag was delayed, however the sliding runner did make contact with the catcher. I am not exactly sure how we got to the point in this picture as I was not umpiring and that information was not relayed to me. The question that was posed to me was what is the criteria to call OBS when the catcher is set up over home plate. Thoughts?
×
×
  • Create New...