Jump to content

mwest5575

Members
  • Posts

    89
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by mwest5575

  1. Too much watching this replay in slooooow motion. I used a stop watch and in real time it is about .5 seconds between the ball hitting the bat and Margot's first lunge/step toward first. It would be crazy over-umpiring to say he lingered. Go back and watch the video at the top but only the live speed a few times without watching the slow mo replays. The slow motion over and over again from different angles is deceiving. It happened about as quick as it could have. 1) Ball hits bat while crouching, 2) ball pops up in air, 3) Margot sees ball pop up, says oh crap that sucks...oh sh!t I better run, 4) Margot lunges toward first. All in .5 seconds.
  2. This is sad. I follow along on/post on my college alma mater's sports forum, and the stupidity is flowing on the series thread. People love to blast umpires and this is just too far. Torre begrudgingly admitted the call was correct but it wasn't very convincing and the former players are just idiots. At least Ortiz said someone should teach these big leaguers how to run to first. It won't happen but there need to be apologies and corrections read at the beginning of the next game. This crap just fuels the already out of hand spite directed at umpires/officials.
  3. Hey good catch. I was watching the braves coverage and the angle was different and they didn’t mention the step off. So I missed that. From the angle shown on our coverage it looked like he went straight over. Still curious what would be the ruling if he didn’t step off.
  4. Surprised this wasn't answered yet. I can't say for sure but I recall hearing it was currently interpreted as when the ball enters into the glove not when it hits the back of the glove. I remember thinking it didn't make sense as the only way umpires can call that is by hearing the ball hit the glove and the replay interp does not line up with how all umpires make this call.
  5. So I'm watching the Braves-Reds game and a weird play just happened. Braves wanted to appeal that R3 left early on a fly ball to right field. Time was out so it had to be put back in to play. There was R1. When the ball was put into play, the RHP came set and threw directly to third. R1 broke on movement because the pitcher didn't step off. The appeal was denied at third but R1 was put out attempting to steal. So was this not a balk for throwing to an unoccupied base? I've always heard you need to step off to throw over on an appeal. Clearly R1 was deceived. Does an appeal count as "for the purpose of making a play?" I wouldn't think so, and the only comment in the MLB rule book says: the umpire should consider whether a runner on the previous base demonstrates or otherwise cre- ates an impression of his intent to advance to such unoccupied base. What are your thoughts? I think it should have been a balk, and was surprised the Red's manager didn't even come out to question.
  6. My POS which I loved got bent on and the weld popped from a foul ball this season. Went back to my diamond with Wilson pads (use both memory foams and tan leather). Have the chin extension removed and a Zett throat guard. It is my favorite setup. Sort of a poor man’s Mizuno set up. It is really light and comfortable. Happen to be watching the braves game right now and Iassogna is wearing his mizuno with tan pads. For those who have both, how does mizuno compare to the diamond? Is it worth getting the real thing?
  7. I love my Douglas. I’m 6’3” 220 but I still go for low profile. Just think it looks better. It doesn’t fit me yet quite as well as my champion but it feels more protective (plates are thicker). I may send it in for T hooks which I think will help it contour around my torso a little better. If you don’t like the shoulder caps on the champion then the Douglas might be your best bet.
  8. I started umpiring as a volunteer at my kids Little League. I try to volunteer there every year for their tournaments and when they host district and state tournaments. it was some of the most fun/rewarding umpiring I did this year.
  9. Interesting thread. Here in NC the various regional assignors pick the crews for playoff games. The championship series at the various levels rotate through the associations. So each association gets a state championship series every four years. I suppose different assignors have different methods for choosing the crews, but in my experience most assignors take pride in how their crews perform in the playoffs and want to have the best crew they can out there. I had a travel ball coach follow me into the parking lot after losing a game on a walk-off hit that he argued the batter was out of the box. It was the last game of the day on a poorly lit field and the chalk had been gone for two games. I just laughed at him. And then had the tournament director escort him away. I can't imagine even under the best circumstances being able to see that call.
  10. Hmm probably had to be there. But it sounds like there was a clear path to the base for the runner and the fielder collided with the runner? If that's the case then I wouldn't have MC and the runner would be safe assuming he made it to the bag.
  11. I have a Diamond (black with black Wilson memory foam pads) that I had "chopped" and added a Zett guard. It is now my go to mask and by far the most comfortable setup of anything else I've tried. It's my "poor man's" Mizuno setup. I'd be interested to try the Samurai guard. Maybe give me an excuse to chop another mask (or even better land a Mizuno frame...).
  12. Follow up question. Just trying to think of different possibilities of this happening. What if I call time, and make the award, and the coach or player asks me if the runner needs to retouch first. Do I answer? How do I answer?
  13. Sorry, meant third. So when the coach comes out I respond that I didn't tell the runner to go anywhere, I made the base award according to rule, and it is still his responsibility to retouch first on the caught ball. Got it. Thanks.
  14. I'd like to hear more about the mechanic on this. I think in most cases the runner will probably make it back to touch first by the time the ball goes out, but let's say he doesn't. Maybe he was stealing on the pitch and it was a line drive. If the infielder sails it and it goes out before R1 gets back and I yell time and point to second, aren't I inviting a HC ejection when he comes out and says his runner did exactly what I told him to do? I have not thought about this before, but several of the high schools in our area don't have a fence down the line, but a chalk line, and the ball goes out all the time. Sort of surprised I haven't run into this yet. I get I'm not there to coach the runner, but it seems weird for him to do what I tell him to when I tell him to then call him out on appeal. Are there better ways to handle this?
  15. Too bad, I should have picked up a spare while they were still $50. I find myself reading for my Zero-G most of the time.
  16. Without a doubt the Champion Body Armor chest protector. For shin guards at the level you are working I'd suggest something light and comfortable, like Diamond Featherweights. (Or whatever is comfortable you can find used. I'd spring for the Champion CP new if you can't find a used one as you will never have to upgrade if you don't want.)
  17. mwest5575

    Base runner

    Seems like they don't want a warning and fix it, but get the outs and ejections. No way it's not on purpose.
  18. At most levels any of us call, how the catcher catches the ball is going to have a lot to do with game management and the perception of your zone. As beerguy says don't wholly rely on the catcher but definitely use him, especially on close pitches. If a catcher catches a really good/close pitch like a strike, you aren't going to have a computer to explain to the coach where it missed. I'm going to get it. And "framing" a pitch isn't a terrible thing. A good catcher should be trying to catch every pitch like it's a strike. If the catcher is good at setting up with the glove touching the plate squared with his body, sticks close pitches, and the pitcher can hit spots, you are going to get a lot of strikes and not a lot of complaints. At least that has been my experience. That's different than jerking pitches, which as others have wisely said, you want to knock off early if you can. Unless it's a cock shot, don't get a pitch with the glove moving across the zone in anything varsity and up. Working early with your catcher to establish your zone and a good relationship will help you get more strikes, which is what you want. And good catchers will help you get more strikes. I had a game last weekend and the catcher stuck a pitch off the plate. I barely got the word "ball" out of my mouth before he apologized for trying to get that pitch, and he didn't do it again. (Actually that exchange with the catcher made me feel good about the rest of the game. I knew he got it and was going to help us have a good game.) Also, beerguy, your handle autocorrects to "beergut" on my computer, which is hilarious to me.
  19. I really like my Champion. I don't know what the price difference would be but I'd pay 10-20 more for thicker, more durable plastic and I think it would be the best CP on the market (fit, comfort, etc.). I've been wearing a Douglas recently and it "feels" more protective to me. I took a foul ball Saturday with no problem that I would have felt with the Champion. Having said that, nothing fits me better than my Champion...It sounds like the AA might be worth having if you can get as good a deal as you are talking about. Best of both worlds?
  20. Beerguy you are not incorrect about LL. Rule 7.13 talks a ton about this for 12U games (Minors and Majors). Runners off their base at TOP are sent back prior to the next pitch. They aren't called out but since they can't lead off they have to go back to the base they legally occupy prior to the next pitch. The runner is liable to be put out but if he isn't then there are a whole list of rules about how to put the runners back based on whether the ball was hit or not, etc. I think 7.13 would cover it.
  21. In the OP the ball didn't become dead so I'm not sure why I'm checking these rules. If there's a foul ball R2 would go back just as if he had been running on the pitch.
  22. 1. I wasn't the only one to have this perspective on this thread. In fact, most everyone said let it go until SA came in a laid the law down. And there is no rule or case study against it. 2. I didn't argue that. I said that once the batter becomes a batter-runner (after the second walk) R2 becomes R3 and former R3 is forced home. So I suppose you could call a forfeit according to rule 7.03 (a)(3) as the runner allowed home is refusing to play the game or (2) delaying the game. Your guess is as good as mine. Just pointing out that I didn't say it was because we couldn't have two runners on the same base. 3. Where did I say it doesn't matter? I said in the real world this stuff isn't likely to happen, so that's why there isn't a case play or rule added. And made a joke (which apparently is verboten on here). If you think this is trolling you don't get out on the inter web much. I think people learn from asking questions which is why I come to this site and ask questions (very rarely). I thought that's what forums were for. I was respectful, more so than you guys. Sorry to ruffle your feathers. Neither of you has said what you would do in this case btw. Are you going to stand out in front of the plate until the pitchers runs after someone? Or tell R2 to take a few steps back to second?
  23. Ha ha. This really is getting absurd. Of course he will advance. And, for that matter, of course two guys standing on a base is going to prompt any legit defense to do something about it. I was just answering your question about legally occupying a base. If I'm calling a game where the defense let's two dudes chill on third base together and the offense won't take a free walk home I'm heading to my car.
  24. So the language is plain, two runners may not occupy a base. Then it goes right on to say if two runners happen to end up touching the same base the defense can put one of them out. It's not like the baseball world stops turning, just that R3 is entitled to be there (occupy) and R2 is liable to be put out. The pitching rules say where the defense and batter must be to pitch but nothing about the runners. I don't have a case play to show you but a case play about a batter's turn at bat ending and something from softball isn't much more helpful. Of course softball handles it differently because you can't take leads. If my takeaway form the case play should be to continue to call it as I see it I see R3 legally occupying third and R2 with a really big lead touching third and liable to be put out. And I don't have a rule that compels anyone to do anything about it. Do we tell R2 to go back a step or make the pitcher do something? Then there's the hypothetical juicing of the bases. So you walk a batter and I guess bases are loaded with R2 still with a huge lead. The next batter walks and former R2 is now R3 and former R3 is forced home. So you have rules in place that keep us from getting 4 baserunners on at the same time without making anything up. Matt, R3 is entitled to occupy third until he is forced and then I guess he has to do something. I'm not sure what else you were referring to. So why hasn't this happened since the 1800s? Well it has as explained in the OP, and probably countless other times in low level ball around this great country. It hasn't happened at any remotely high level of baseball because the defense is going to get an out...Not because the umpire comes out and quotes softball case plays. ETA: I disagree that my assertion goes against the fundamental design of the game. The defense can put R2 out if they want. It is not similar at all to having five base runners or a BR going back to bat again.
×
×
  • Create New...