Jump to content

JSam21

Established Member
  • Posts

    1,439
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    37

JSam21 last won the day on September 3

JSam21 had the most liked content!

2 Followers

About JSam21

  • Birthday 04/27/1981

Profile Information

  • Location
    St. Louis, MO

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    CBUA GPBA
  • Occupation
    Warehouse Admin
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    High School, Club, College
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

6,351 profile views

JSam21's Achievements

969

Reputation

2

Community Answers

  1. Quick peek around. Call time and if it works with your rotation (3 or 4 umpire system) take it yourself to the base coach.
  2. 1) Batter has to be alert to the pitcher before the motion to deliver can begin. 2) Once every one is in their positions and ready to go, that's when we call play. There shouldn't be an issue here. 3) A quick pitch is an illegal pitch. A ball should be added to the count with no one on base. With runner on, a balk should be called. 4) They will stop doing it once they have walked someone or balked a run in because they won't stop doing it. If they are ignoring your request, especially after enforcing penalties, you are well within your rights to remove the pitcher from the game.
  3. This is just a misunderstanding of what is being said. The non-vertical aspects apply to portions that go beyond the facing of the fence/netting continuing towards the out of play side. Think of the backstop and netting that covers seating areas right behind home plate. A ball going up onto the horizontal portion of that netting would be out of play. In your situation, unless it hits the top/outside of your fencing, it would remain in play.
  4. In the end, it could just be that they messed up. Just like the crew early in the college season where they got an out.
  5. They are allowed to come back to the base head first, they are not allowed to advance to the base head first.
  6. Because he didn't balk. Once legally disengaged, the pitcher can't balk with a throw to, or away from, a base. So this just becomes a non-legitimate pick off attempt and that is an action clock violation. Remember, the balk would have been for throwing to a defender away from 3rd base (a feint to 3rd) which would have to come from an engaged position. As soon as he disengaged, he can feint all day. The ball becomes dead once we determine that it isn't a legitimate pick off attempt and we enforce the action clock violation... yes. Maybe I am not following your question/statement?
  7. I responded on RM just to get you some traction.
  8. Yeah... but the throw was still away and a lob... put those two together and you get a violation.
  9. By rule, he has to make a "legitimate" attempt to retire the runner. He did not do so by throwing to the defender away from the base.
  10. Sure looks like the pitcher stepped to the rear and with no legitimate pick off attempt, an action clock violation would be appropriate.
  11. It just seems like an odd question to ask. Not like we are asking what kind of cups the male umpires are wearing... I think that is what they were trying to get at.
  12. Well done by the crew... Just waiting for someone to come and say, "It wasn't a lodged ball because the kid grabbed it!!"
  13. This is a great move for the NCAA. I have learned a lot from Jeff over the years. There is going to be a large void on the field for the ACC to fill.
×
×
  • Create New...