Jump to content

JakeUmp

Members
  • Content Count

    19
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

0 Neutral

Profile Information

  • Gender
    Male
  • Location
    Alamo, CA
  • Interests
    3D Printing, Umpiring

More information about you

  • Your Association Name
    CCSUA, USA, AST, SRVGAL
  • Occupation
    Student
  • Types/Levels of Baseball called
    Travel, Rec
  • How did you hear about Umpire-Empire?
    Search Engine (Google, Yahoo, Bing, ...)

Recent Profile Visitors

404 profile views
  1. I'll start off by noting my age -- 16. Because of that, I feel like I take more heat than older umpires. Last night there was a close play at first base -- I called the runner safe, and I was entirely confident with my call. Coach comes out and asks for me to ask PU for help because he "had a much better angle than you." I said "she was safe" probably 3 or 4 times, because as I said, I was pretty much positive I got it right. Coach keeps asking, and I say "that's enough" while turning my back to him, which he responds with a "no, that's not enough" and follows me. I say "alright, please go back to your dugout" and he does, but while loudly saying "that's BS, that's BS" (no, not swearing). I chose not to restrict/eject because 1) I didn't feel he crossed the line enough (though if he kept going I would've restricted) and 2) he wasn't swearing. But I am not sure if I should've restricted for this. Can I have some tips on how to better handle situations like these, especially because I'm already disadvantaged because of my age? Thanks!
  2. JakeUmp

    JakeUmp

  3. Definitely interested. Thanks for checking that out! Sent from my SM-G950U using Tapatalk
  4. Shipping is pretty expensive, isn't it? Something like $35?
  5. Nice deal. Would definitely buy if you weren't in Canada.
  6. Nice! I was referring to my age though... don't worry about that
  7. Ha! What state are you in? (look at my profile )
  8. Yep! Continuous motion only applies when the pitcher has the ball in the circle AND isn't making a play on a runner. It's fair game when the ball isn't in the circle.
  9. JakeUmp

    Is this "play on"?

    Let me first state that I exclusively umpire for softball, so if this is incorrect, I apologize. Here is the softball rule: "If a retired runner interferes and, in the judgment of the Umpire, another runner could have been put out, the Umpire shall declare the runner closest to home out." Sounds like interference in this case, but no opportunity to put R3 out (because he would've stayed at third presumably), so just a dead ball with no outs other than the BR.
  10. JakeUmp

    Fan interference?

    Yes, you are correct and I could've worded my answer a little better.
  11. I do softball, and no throw is required. The batter hindered the fielder from making a play (even if just an opportunity to make a play), so the batter is out and the runner is sent back to 2nd.
  12. I just joined this site and don't know anyone here too well, but this is horrible news. Best wishes to him and his family, and I am hoping he gets back to full strength soon.
  13. JakeUmp

    Fan interference?

    Interference with an out on the fly ball. Runners return to the base at the time of the pitch. If the umpire judged the ball wouldn't have been caught without interference, they should award the runners and batter the positions they would have reached.
  14. Yes, that is correct. In this case, since the catcher is making a play on the fielder by appealing, interference by the batter would make them out. That does make me wonder, if the pitcher is switching balls for whatever reason and the batter hits the catcher, would you rule that interference?
×
×
  • Create New...