Jump to content

spiffdawg7

Established Member
  • Content Count

    220
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    3

Everything posted by spiffdawg7

  1. The biggest problem with using the verbal "catch" for the tag up is that the player is allowed to leave on first touch. So by the time we make sure that all elements of the catch are there to verbalize/signal the catch the runner could legally be several steps off of the bag.
  2. No. I just have 4 chest protectors and needed to get rid of a couple. I am trying to decide which other one to get rid of as well.
  3. I have a Schutt XV with the retrofit done to make it use a 4 pt harness instead of the yoke. I can sell it with no harness or with an All Star Delta Flex harness. I will post pics soon.
  4. Going to need to make one in Navy for backward states like Georgia.
  5. Day game or night game?
  6. I had a play tonight that got me thinking. The catcher had the ball in his bare hand and his bare hand in his mitt as he made a tag at the plate. After the tag attempt the mitt fell off, but the ball remained firmly in his bare right hand. In my play the kid was safe anyways because the tag was missed,but if the tag was applied would we still have an out even with the glove falling off?
  7. NCAA released the answer saying there is no exception for avoiding the pitch in the Batter's Interference rule. The NCAA wants BI called even in this video.
  8. Answer would be C. The first pitch to Baker legitimized Charles's at bat, so the correct batter would be Daniel. Daniel is now out and you bring up Edward.
  9. spiffdawg7

    Foul tip

    Only if it is strike 3. This is a foul tip since it went sharp and direct to the mitt and then was secured by the catcher.
  10. I have two plate and two base of the pbs1 and pbs2 in size 36. They are only about 28.5 I’m in length and maybe have one in extra length for adjustments
  11. Gap protection for sure. I also recommend getting t-hooks for a more snug/slim fit.
  12. I am about an hour away and don't do Little League. Sorry. I do have a couple of travel ball contacts in that area if he is interested.
  13. spiffdawg7

    spiffdawg7

  14. What happened to Tony Thompson having the ACC?
  15. I agree with you that it is poorly worded and think the intent is only in protest with an umpires call. I do not think they meant when a player throws a bat or helmet because he is upset with himself. The wording is not clear sketched way so it is up to interpretation.
  16. Everyone else has you covered on why this is a legal feint, but I want to point out what seems to be a misunderstanding of an occupied base. 2nd base is occupied because there is a runner there. The runner is what makes a base occupied, where it sounds like you were thinking the fielder was what makes a base occupied.
  17. They said the runner should have been out because the award ended when he went the past the base. They also said that the crew should have come in without being asked because it was a rule misapplication instead of a judgment call.
  18. Do you eject a catcher when he picks up the offensive teams bat and throws it towards their dugout in an effort to be helpful? A black and white reading of the rule would say he is ejected for deliberately throwing a bat, but I sure hope nobody would eject for that.
  19. I disagree. There has to be gray area in the rule. The rule states the player is to be ejected for deliberately throwing a bat or helmet. What would you say if your catcher was ejected for throwing a bat towards the offensive team's dugout? What if your catcher is ejected because he takes his helmet off and throws it ten feet away while trying to catch a popup? I know these would be two ridiculous ejections, but reading the rule without interpretation would lead to these ejections. So Ricka56 and myself interpret the rule to mean deliberately throwing equipment in disgust of an umpires ca
  20. spiffdawg7

    Targeting

    Did the umpire say the out was for hitting the pitcher? If not then maybe he/she had RLI. If the umpire judged that the batter/runner interfered with the opportunity for F3 to field the throw at first by running out of the runner's lane during the last half distance to first. That is the only call that I can think for why the runner would be called out from the description of the play.
  21. @Thunderheads lock it up. Everything is sold. Thanks
×
×
  • Create New...