Jump to content

dmills

Members
  • Content Count

    19
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by dmills

  1. dmills

    Balk?

    Did his pivot foot hit the ground before his hands started to separate? If yes then he legally disengaged. If no, then it's a balk.
  2. For OBR: Definition of terms. See catch and foul tip.
  3. I'm wondering what took so long? Three minutes to tell them a pitch that doesn't cross the foul line with runners on is a balk? Interestingly enough, I've had this happen to me three times in my short career.
  4. dmills

    No home run?

    Ball hits the wall in play and bounces out of play. Two bases TOP.
  5. dmills

    Balk?

    R1, outs don't matter. Pitcher is in the stretch and the runner takes off for second. Pitcher turns his upper body towards second base before stepping to throw to second base. Is this a balk? 6.02(a)(3) (2015) states the pitcher must step directly towards the base before throwing. But is turning the upper body before stepping legal?
  6. http://umpire-empire.com/index.php?/topic/62703-place-to-get-a-steak/
  7. It appears the feed went down again
  8. Interference was not called on this attempted DP. Ruling? Your browser does not support iframes.
  9. Great transaction with acpar72. Will buy from again!
  10. Sounds like a winner to me... What happened in the second game I wonder..
  11. dmills

    INTERFERENCE

    INTERFERENCE (a) Offensive interference is an act by the team at bat which interferes with, obstructs, impedes, hinders or confuses any fielder attempting to make a play. If the umpire declares the batter, batter-runner, or a runner out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was in the judgment of the umpire, legally touched at the time of the interference, unless otherwise provided by these rules. I'd say you have interference. R2 is out. R1 goes to 2nd. BR to 1st.
  12. dmills

    Fair/Foul

    Did they get together? Or did Porter just over rule U1's call? Either way tough call and no definitive angle shown in any of those replays.
  13. Tim Mcclelland says something to Segura but I don't think he tossed him. He was very demonstrative and given a lot of rope. Tim Mcclelland doesn't say a word to Roenicke just gives him a head nod when he finishes his rant. I liked it.
  14. Would that classify as a fall? He seemed to keep his footing and stayed upright.
  15. From OBR... APPROVED RULING: In cases where a pitcher balks and throws wild, either to a base or to home plate, a runner or runners may advance beyond the base to which he is entitled at his own risk.
  16. What if the umpire judges it to be ordinary effort and the runners don't think it will be ordinary effort. The umpires do not verbalize the IFF. How are the runners to know if it was JUDGED to be ordinary effort without knowing the call and now advance because they think they are forced. I suppose if it is signaled they could look at the umpire and know the call but the verbalization makes things so much easier.
  17. dmills

    PA UMP

    Near King of Prussia
  18. dmills

    PA UMP

    Long time reader and lurker.. first time poster. Just thought I'd say Hello and look forward to contributing to this great forum. Dave
  19. Similar scenario.. Count is 1-2.. I incorrectly state the count is 2-2. Next pitch is a ball. I give the count as 3-2. Pitcher's says count should be 2-2. I ask BU for count and he has 2-2. So I correct my count of 3-2 and state the count is 2-2. (I mistakenly added a ball to the count after a foul pop up towards the 1BL fence) Apparently I wasn't assertive/loud enough because half the players still thought the count was 3-2. Next pitch is a ball and the batter starts for first. I tell him that was only 3 balls. R1 and R2 are trotting to 2nd and 3rd respectively. Pitcher has the ball and just watches them. Then all hell breaks loose. Defense wants runners returned because I screwed up. Offense wants runners to stay because they stole the bases effectively. I briefly get together with my partner and come to the conclusion that we corrected the incorrect count, the pitcher at least knew the count was corrected (as for the rest of the players, who knows) and we left the runners where they were. Now according to noumpere, once the next pitch was thrown after the incorrect count of 2-2 was giving I should have stuck with the 3-2 count and continued on.. Thoughts? This was also a men's league game.
×
×
  • Create New...