Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
Guest LaMarr

dropped bat in fair territory

Question

Guest LaMarr

If a batter drops the bat in fair territory after a fair hit, does the bat become part of the field once it stops rolling? And if so, when a runner comes across home, can they pick up the bat before the play is over?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

4 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

Yes.  Sometimes even before it stops rolling (at least in theory).  And it's true whether the bat is in fair or foul territory.

Yes.  So can the catcher, the umpire, ...

 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
46 minutes ago, Guest LaMarr said:

If a batter drops the bat in fair territory after a fair hit, does the bat become part of the field once it stops rolling? And if so, when a runner comes across home, can they pick up the bat before the play is over?

As long as it's not thrown in a way to intentionally interfere with the play, ball hitting the bat is nothing.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0

It is not interference by rule if the bat is lying on fair territory and the batted ball rolls up against it.

2019 OBR rule 5.09 Making an Out

(a) Retiring the Batter

A batter is out when:…

(8) After hitting or bunting a fair ball, his bat hits the ball a second time in fair territory. The ball is dead and no runners may advance. If the batter-runner drops his bat and the ball rolls against the bat in fair territory and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, the ball is alive and in play. If the batter is in a legal position in the batter’s box, see Rule 5.04(b)(5), and, in the umpire’s judgment, there was no intention to interfere with the course of the ball, a batted ball that strikes the batter or his bat shall be ruled a foul ball;

Rule 5.09(a)(8) Comment: If a bat breaks and part of it is in fair territory and is hit by a batted ball or part of it hits a runner or fielder, play shall continue and no interference called. If a batted ball hits part of a broken bat in foul territory, it is a foul ball. If a whole bat is thrown into fair or foul territory and interferes with a defensive player attempting to make a play, interference shall be called, whether intentional or not. In cases where the batting helmet is accidentally hit with a batted ball on or over fair territory or a thrown ball, the ball remains in play the same as if it has not hit the helmet. If a batted ball strikes a batting helmet or any other object foreign to the natural ground while on foul territory, it is a foul ball and the ball is dead.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On 8/5/2019 at 7:04 AM, Guest LaMarr said:

If a batter drops the bat in fair territory after a fair hit, does the bat become part of the field once it stops rolling? And if so, when a runner comes across home, can they pick up the bat before the play is over?

Not only can the runner do it...the on deck batter can pick up the bat on his way to getting behind the plate to direct the runner where to slide - provided he doesn't interfere with the play.  The same standard would apply to the runner who wants to pick up the bat - don't interfere with the play.

 

Frankly - the only reason the offense should be removing the bat is if they think it is going to impede one of their teammates from scoring - otherwise leave it alone.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...