Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
EIGHTY5RED

Safety Base

Question

Today one of our batter/runners was called out on 3rd strike and catcher dropped the ball.  Batter/runner ran toward first and was hit by catcher's throw and missed touching first base.  He turned around then touched the orange side of the safety base prior to the 1st baseman retrieving the ball and returning to 1st base.  Upon appeal our runner was called out since they other team claimed that the orange side of the base was only for running to first from home versus returning to the base after missing it.  Everything we can find says that the runner should have been rule safe.  Comments please.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

5 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0
22 minutes ago, EIGHTY5RED said:

Today one of our batter/runners was called out on 3rd strike and catcher dropped the ball.  Batter/runner ran toward first and was hit by catcher's throw and missed touching first base.  He turned around then touched the orange side of the safety base prior to the 1st baseman retrieving the ball and returning to 1st base.  Upon appeal our runner was called out since they other team claimed that the orange side of the base was only for running to first from home versus returning to the base after missing it.  Everything we can find says that the runner should have been rule safe.  Comments please.

I'm assuming this is Little League or softabll. If so, a Google search turned up this from the 2017 Rules Book with my emphasis added:

7.15 - Procedures for Use of a Double First Base: The double base may be used for first base only. The base must be rectangular, with two sides not less than 14 inches and not more than 15 inches, and the other two sides not less than 29 inches and not more than 30 inches. The longer sides shall face toward home plate and the right field corner. The outer edges shall not be more than two and one-fourth (2 ¼) inches thick, filled with soft material, and covered with canvas or rubber. Half the base shall be white (entirely over fair territory) and half shall be orange or green (entirely over foul territory). When using the double first base, the following rules must be observed: (a) A batted ball that hits the white section of the double base shall be declared fair. A batted ball that hits the colored (orange or green) section without first touching or bounding over the white section shall be declared foul. (b) Whenever a play is being made on the batter-runner, the defense must us the white section of the double first base. NOTE 1: A play is being made on the batter-runner when he/she is attempting to reach first base while the defense is attempting to retire him/her at that base. NOTE 2: If there is a play on the batter-runner, and the batter-runner touches only the white portion and the defense appeals prior to the batter-runner returning to first base, it is treated the same as missing the base. Penalty: Batter-runner is out. (c) Whenever a play is being made on the batter-runner, the batter-runner must use the colored (orange or green) section on his/her first attempt to tag first base. NOTE: On extra-base hits or other balls hit to the outfield when there is no chance for a play to be made at the double first base, the batter-runner may touch either the white or colored (orange or green) section of the base. Should, however, the batterrunner reach and go beyond first base, he/she may only return to the white section of the base. PENALTY: If there is a play on the batter-runner, and the batter-runner touches only the white portion and the defense appeals prior to the batter-runner returning to first base, it is treated the same as missing the base. If properly appealed, the batterrunner is out.

What did you find to the contrary?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
10 hours ago, ElkOil said:

I'm assuming this is Little League or softabll. If so, a Google search turned up this from the 2017 Rules Book with my emphasis added:

7.15 - Procedures for Use of a Double First Base: The double base may be used for first base only. The base must be rectangular, with two sides not less than 14 inches and not more than 15 inches, and the other two sides not less than 29 inches and not more than 30 inches. The longer sides shall face toward home plate and the right field corner. The outer edges shall not be more than two and one-fourth (2 ¼) inches thick, filled with soft material, and covered with canvas or rubber. Half the base shall be white (entirely over fair territory) and half shall be orange or green (entirely over foul territory). When using the double first base, the following rules must be observed: (a) A batted ball that hits the white section of the double base shall be declared fair. A batted ball that hits the colored (orange or green) section without first touching or bounding over the white section shall be declared foul. (b) Whenever a play is being made on the batter-runner, the defense must us the white section of the double first base. NOTE 1: A play is being made on the batter-runner when he/she is attempting to reach first base while the defense is attempting to retire him/her at that base. NOTE 2: If there is a play on the batter-runner, and the batter-runner touches only the white portion and the defense appeals prior to the batter-runner returning to first base, it is treated the same as missing the base. Penalty: Batter-runner is out. (c) Whenever a play is being made on the batter-runner, the batter-runner must use the colored (orange or green) section on his/her first attempt to tag first base. NOTE: On extra-base hits or other balls hit to the outfield when there is no chance for a play to be made at the double first base, the batter-runner may touch either the white or colored (orange or green) section of the base. Should, however, the batterrunner reach and go beyond first base, he/she may only return to the white section of the base. PENALTY: If there is a play on the batter-runner, and the batter-runner touches only the white portion and the defense appeals prior to the batter-runner returning to first base, it is treated the same as missing the base. If properly appealed, the batterrunner is out.

What did you find to the contrary?

Sorry, should have been a little more specific.  This was Cal Ripken Majors - so kids 10-12.  Thanks for the response!  What happened was after the kid was hit by the ball he staggered past first base without touching the bag.  He never did take a turn toward second so when he came back to the bag he touched the orange side - and after an appeal was called out.  I have not been successful finding a rule specific to this scenario.  Thanks again.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
12 minutes ago, EIGHTY5RED said:

Sorry, should have been a little more specific.  This was Cal Ripken Majors - so kids 10-12.  Thanks for the response!  What happened was after the kid was hit by the ball he staggered past first base without touching the bag.  He never did take a turn toward second so when he came back to the bag he touched the orange side - and after an appeal was called out.  I have not been successful finding a rule specific to this scenario.  Thanks again.

So you’re saying they appealed after he came back and was standing on the base? If so, that’s wrong. If he missed it and they appealed before he came back, yes he’s out. Also, interesting that you use double bags on Major. In my neck of the woods we only have them for rookie and minor 

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
11 hours ago, EIGHTY5RED said:

Today one of our batter/runners was called out on 3rd strike and catcher dropped the ball.  Batter/runner ran toward first and was hit by catcher's throw and missed touching first base.  He turned around then touched the orange side of the safety base prior to the 1st baseman retrieving the ball and returning to 1st base.  Upon appeal our runner was called out since they other team claimed that the orange side of the base was only for running to first from home versus returning to the base after missing it.  Everything we can find says that the runner should have been rule safe.  Comments please.

And then the runner stayed on the orange side while the defense touched the white side (or tagged the runner)?  The runner is out.

Once the runner passes first, the orange side "doesn't exist."  So, if the runner stops on the orange side, its as if he's standing right next to the base.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
1 hour ago, noumpere said:

And then the runner stayed on the orange side while the defense touched the white side (or tagged the runner)?  The runner is out.

Once the runner passes first, the orange side "doesn't exist."  So, if the runner stops on the orange side, its as if he's standing right next to the base.

This  ^^^

If he came back touched the orange and then stood on the white (before the appeal) he would be fine.  If he came back and just touched the white (before the appeal), he would be fine.

Coming back to first, whether you hit the base or not on your first time past, the orange side is now just a piece of foul territory and not any part of a base. 

This is true in softball as well.

 Even if you touch orange, overrun, and then return to first base and just stay on the orange, you will at some point be called out for not returning to the base (or called for a "lead off" when the pitch comes).

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

  • Similar Content

    • By Thunderheads
      Ok ...I'd like everyone to first pardon my caffeine free morning brain-fart post ....
      Yesterday, Varsity league rivalry game, 2nd inning ....  bouncer to F5, throw takes F3 off the bag and up as he must jump, B/R misses first (not perfectly clear, but.....     Now, after B/R returns to first, then F3 tags him (while he's standing on first) and said to me ....'blue he missed first' ....I just signaled safe, and off we went.
      Question though (and here's the brain-fart):   If F3 said to me, "blue he missed first" and tags B/R as he comes back to first before he arrives, THEN he would be out, if in fact, he missed first. Yes?   And further, .... F3 must tag the B/R, NOT just touch first, correct?
      Fart....fart.....fart...........
×
×
  • Create New...