Jump to content
  • 0
Sign in to follow this  
MT73

Obstruction Question.

Question

OBR and HS rulesets:

B/R is obstructed while heading to second base and the obstruction prevents him from touching the bag.

He continues on to third and defense appeals that he missed 2B.

Would that appeal be granted?

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites

7 answers to this question

Recommended Posts

  • 0

In OBR, if the obstruction was the reason the runner missed the base, the runner is protected from the appeal on this particular play.  The obstruction must be the actual cause for the missed base in order for the runner to be protected.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
3 hours ago, CricketChapman said:

In OBR, if the obstruction was the reason the runner missed the base, the runner is protected from the appeal on this particular play.  The obstruction must be the actual cause for the missed base in order for the runner to be protected.

DITTO on the FED/HS obstruction. It is a 'Delayed Dead Ball' that should have been indicated by a point and a verbal at the time the obstruction. The defensive coach may still ask for the appeal but... will usually not come out when he knows you clearly saw it and indicated the same.

"Would that appeal be granted?"  

If you are asking would the actual process of the appeal be allowed. If while the ball was still Live, Yes. If a verbal appeal after time is called, No. A brief explanation to the Defensive Coach why, it was disallowed would be appropriate.    

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
7 hours ago, MT73 said:

Would that appeal be granted?

No.

7 hours ago, MT73 said:

the obstruction prevents him from touching the bag.

This is the key: the defense should get no benefit from their infraction. So we award not only bases, but also touches, to nullify the act of OBS.

Merely having OBS somewhere — say, between 2B and 3B, after the miss at 2B — does not merit awarding a touch. That appeal should be upheld. Only where the OBS causes the missed base would we nullify it. That's umpire judgment; benefit of any doubt to the runner.

OBR and FED now rule the same on this.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
43 minutes ago, LRZ said:

What is the OBR cite, please?

2) If no play is being made on the obstructed runner, the play
shall proceed until no further action is possible. The
umpire shall then call “Time” and impose such penalties,
if any, as in his judgment will nullify the act of obstruction

 

Note that for the obstruction to be nullified, you must award the touch -- or, if you fail to award the touch, you haven't nullified the act of obstruction.

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
  • 0
On ‎4‎/‎11‎/‎2017 at 7:57 AM, MT73 said:

Thanks to all.

All of the reply's you received are accurate though may some may seem to be in conflict. I want to make sure that you are clear on what your actions should be as an official should this occur.

On ‎4‎/‎10‎/‎2017 at 11:21 PM, MT73 said:

OBR and HS rulesets:

The ruling would be a legal touch of 2B awarding 3B.

On ‎4‎/‎10‎/‎2017 at 11:21 PM, MT73 said:

Would that appeal be granted?

While the ball is LIVE, do not call TIME because you anticipate the defense might be appealing that the runner missed 2B. This is a Delayed Dead Ball and time should not be called until all playing action has ceased. Doing so does not give the defense a benefit but rather places them at risk of committing an error that would allow the runner at 3B to score.

On ‎4‎/‎11‎/‎2017 at 2:31 AM, Donny7 said:

"Would that appeal be granted?"  

If you are asking would the actual process of the appeal be allowed. If while the ball was still Live, Yes. If a verbal appeal after time is called, No. A brief explanation to the Defensive Coach why, it was disallowed would be appropriate.    

I hope this clarifies any misconceptions there may or may not have been. :wacko:

  • Like 1

Share this post


Link to post
Share on other sites
Guest
Answer this question...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

Sign in to follow this  

×
×
  • Create New...