Jump to content

noumpere

Established Member
  • Posts

    10,893
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    176

Everything posted by noumpere

  1. According to Marvin the Martian, yes. I have sent "Spaceman" Bill Lee to verify, but he hasn't reported back yet.
  2. IT's not a balk because interpretations have made it a legal move. You are correct that by a literal reading of the rules, it would be a balk.
  3. noumpere

    Stealing Home

    (a) no. (b) yes (but its for Interference, not for Obstructions) -- but not if he just stands still
  4. Even if I could eke out a living at it, I'd rather keep it a hobby than turn it into a job.
  5. That's your answer, right there. Officiating other sports helps you with baseball (and vice versa), and helps prevent burnout. Of course, it's tough to make it a career if you are doing it only at the amateur level.
  6. Eject more, so you can eject less.
  7. VB: V/JV DH, 2/3 sets, $102 for each official. F DH or F/S DH, 2/3 sets, $104 for a solo official.
  8. noumpere

    Balk

    But, he can spin past first without stopping and throw to second. I suspect all of that is more than was being asked -- most previous questions like this have been about "throwing to an unoccupied base" -- that's legal as long as F1 is "making a play" -- the part of the rule coaches, fans, players seem to forget.
  9. I worked plenty of middle-school-aged games in my day, and all (except for playoffs) solo. Never from behind the mound.
  10. You are (imo, of course) overstating the advantages and understating the disadvantages. If one could see the pitches just as well, we'd work from behind the mound always. You give up fair / foul. If you hustle, you can get an angle on plays on the bases. If you start in the middle, too many plays happen "behind you." IF you are in shape, you can work two or three behind the plate (yes, you'll need water and a break between the games). You can manage the game better behind the plate -- have "less obvious" discussions with the catcher / batter / coach.
  11. That could be one way to interpret the rule. It's not, I don't think, the current OBR interp.
  12. This is from Jim Evans: This rule mandates the three conditions which must be met for a ball to be put back into play alter a dead ball situation: (1) the pitcher takes his place on the rubber: (2) the pitcher has the ball in his possession: and (3) the umpire calls "Play." Professional Interpretation: This writer contends that it is also essential that the batter be in the batter's box and reasonably set before the call of "Play" is signaled. (Identical to the procedure for starting the game...4.02). In addition, failure to have the batter in his set position could conceivably subject the pitcher to a penalty for an illegal pitch (2.00 Illegal Pitch). Note that (according to JEA) we need ALL THREE conditions -- not just the third as some seem to think.
  13. No -- because all runners will have scored after three balks at the most.
  14. That's five words too many
  15. I think this falls in the "don't be a plumber" category.
  16. You don't "gotta make a call before turning." You can see all you need to see while F4/6 is catching and then throwing the ball and you step and turn with the throw while making the call. That's plenty of time.
  17. Well, our job isn't that much different from the announcer's job: We see what happened and we tell people about it. You "get it right" on TV because you see the whole play and you don't feel the need to rush to judgment. It might seem like a looooooong time to you when you are on the field, but if you take a second or two to process teh information, the timing will be just rigth to those who are watching and participating.
  18. Since some hair is thinner than others, I think you should be more specific. (From your picture, you might not have much experience with this)
  19. I think you heard correctly (some pros do it) , and were taught correctly (you shouldn't do it). That said, the pendulum swings back and forth over time -- mostly depending on the wishes of whoever is in charge at any particular level / league and how saying or not saying the location led to better or worse outcomes for that individual at some point in his / her career.
  20. If that were the rule, the defense would always get in the runner's way on (almost) any ball to the fence.
  21. In the OP, the runner was obstructed before the base. No additional automatic award. In johnnycat's play, there's a specific case play on how to rule on this. I don't have it handy.
  22. From the OBR rules book (other codes are at least substantially the same)
  23. Home Coach is grasping at straws. it wouldn't surprise me if he was sometimes successful in this.
×
×
  • Create New...