Jump to content


Established Member
  • Posts

  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won


Everything posted by noumpere

  1. noumpere

    Fair or foul

    Right from the rule book: A FAIR BALL is a batted ball that settles on fair ground between home and first base, or between home and third base, or that is on or over fair territory when bounding to the outfield past first or third base, or that touches first, second or third base, or that first falls on fair territory on or beyond first base or third base, or that, while on or over fair territory touches the person of an umpire or player, or that, while over fair territory, passes out of the playing field in flight. A fair fly shall be judged according to the
  2. I can't imagine a "bat and ball" game where a run scores on a play where the batter-runner makes the third out before reaching first base.
  3. I'm just surprised by the number of people who seem to think that "the way we do things here" is "the way things are done everywhere." Even when I was just starting out, I knew that there were as many ways of paying / scheduling / working /.... as there were different locations and groups. And that applies to all sports I work or know anything about.
  4. Agreed -- and in the later innings, I might go to the defensive side because there's more likely to be a pitching change and it's easier to get the change from that side. Never use the indiclicker to count the pitches, It's just not that hard to count to five or eight. If you are distracted by taking the pitching change and giving it to the pressbox / scorer, you base partner can discretely tell you how many pitches have been thrown once you have completed your bookkeeping.
  5. Since this is a "continuous bating order", then we can't just use "pure" OBR to solve this. League rules should specify what happens if a player at the game is not listed in the batting order (and what to do if someone arrives late, or leaves early, or ...) Failing that, it's 9.01c (or whatever the number is) -- the umpire gets to decide "what's right." In this instance, I'd let the home run stand, especially since the player had already batted twice in this spot.
  6. If it's a roster issue, then it either goes to the league to decide, or we need to know the league-specific rules if the umpire is supposed to rule on this. Kudos to the OP, though, for knowing the right time to point this out.
  7. noumpere


    1) Because MLB doesn't want it to be a balk. 2) Because the balk rule is designed to protect the runners, and no runners are (illegally) fooled by this move. 3) (I haven't seen the move, so all of this is speculation) Because he moves the feet while he is coming set, and the movement is not any kind of feint or motion to pitch and, thus, does not violate any of the balk regulation in 6.02 So, I guess the question goes back to you -- why do you think it is a balk? (and, to be clear, it *might* be a balk at lower levels, even if it's not called at the MLB level)
  8. But in Volleyball, it's NOT a violation if the "loose hair" (I think that's the rule book wording) hits the net.
  9. along with: OR does not slide in a direct line (followed by exceptions for sliding for sliding or running away from the play)
  10. It doesn't matter whether a play at first was likely or probable -- it's still a FPSR violation and two are out.
  11. thank you for being a fan of baseball
  12. The fielder caught the ball. He "doubled off" a runner who left early. That can be done by tagging a runner or by tagging the base the runner left early. And, anytime (well, a live ball, not after overrunning first ...) a runner is tagged while off a base, the runner is out. You seem to be getting caught up on the fact that this was an infield fly. Ignore that -- it doesn't really matter (for this application)
  13. noumpere

    Runner out call

    There's a difference between "interfering with a ball" and "interfering with a fielder". When the ball is deflected, "interfering with a ball" is nothing; "interfering with a fielder" can still be (and usually is) something -- either INT or OBS.
  14. FWIW, and without any specific examples or references, I think more threads should be locked earlier.
  15. The run counts because it scored before the third out was made and because the third out was not a force play (or by the BR before reaching first, or by a preceding runner).
  16. What is "P5/P^?" -- I assumed it was just a typo for F5/F6 -- but you used it again in the next section. It was OBS, not INT No need to give a second "out" signal after you talked with the manager Now you know not to brush off the spray painted plate
  17. More than once I've told a coach "The mechanics were awful, but we got the call right." This sounds like one of those situations, although there's a whole lot of HTBT in this situation.
  18. The runner is out. Being injured (even if the injury was caused by the legal play of the defense) does not entitle the runner to a free pass to a base. Note that if the ball became dead before the runner was out (ball thrown out of play, home run, etc.) then the runner would be entitled to any awarded bases *and* that a substitute could take the injured runner's place to complete the award.
  19. I think that's true in OBR, but not in FED. In FED, the OP is correct. Didn't we just (within the past week or so) discuss this?
  20. Why add "on the tag?" That doesn't seem to add anything, unless there's some confusion that the runner might be out because of INT or something. (and that would be rare -- and THAT's what should be verbalized, if needed. To the OP -- every game, play, umpire coach, umpire-coach interaction is different -- sometimes answering the question can be good. refusing to answer can make you seem standoffish or aloof or not willing to communicate -- all issues at all levels (and more so at higher levels). Answering all the time can lead to the problems above. So, just like all game management techniques -- you need to use the tool that's right for that situation in that game. And, choosing the right tool is the art of umpiring.
  21. Correct. It's used to wipe away the blood after your partner butchers a call. More seriously, why would you need to "wipe of" the infield fly? Obviously, something has changed -- just signal the new situation.
  22. noumpere


    Nobody's trying to play "gotcha" -- sometimes interps or similar language form other codes can help. That's all. Thanks for the updated language -- it seems reasonably consistent to me and matches the OP -- when the runner slipped during the throw (or if had chosen that time to run toward the outfield), it was NOT out of the baseline. Had he done so while a tag "play" was in process, it would be -- and that's what the OP told the coach.
  • Create New...