Jump to content

Biscuit

Established Member
  • Posts

    535
  • Joined

  • Last visited

  • Days Won

    5

Everything posted by Biscuit

  1. It sounds like you did all you can do. It's an unfortunate situation with no remedy other than coaches caring more about development and good baseball than winning games.
  2. Welcome Matt! Sounds like you already know how valuable this forum can be, but we're glad to have you signed up and ready to participate in the discussions (which is super helpful to your development)!
  3. Kansas is on. Games start the 16th (18th? The 16th might be when the test is due), and as far as I can tell, we'll basically be playing normal baseball with masks. That's how the college ball has been.
  4. I must admit, I'm not entirely convinced by the argument for abandonment. I certainly see the arguments made, and would be fine with the call, but I'm not quite sure it's correct. Regardless though, whether we get the 3rd out for passing or abandonment may actually matter. On a home run, all four runners are awarded home. The fact that it is an award may matter because we may have to score R3. Here's the reason why (in OBR, and would probably be persuasive in NCAA if a similar or conflicting rule does not exist in the rulebook) "Rule 5.06(b)(3)(B) Comment: A runner forced to advance without liability to be put out may advance past the base to which he is entitled only at his peril. If such a runner, forced to advance is put out for the third out before a preceding runner, also forced to advance, touches home plate, the run shall score. Play. Two out, bases full, batter walks but runner from second is overzealous and runs past third base toward home and is tagged out on a throw by the catcher. Even though two are out, the run would score on the theory that the run was forced home by the base on balls and that all the runners needed to do was proceed and touch the next base." Now, there are some differences between the play in question and the example play. The two that may matter are that the ball is dead, and the runner was called out for the offensive team's actions, not the defensive team's actions. However, nothing in the actual rule states anything about the ball being alive or dead, nor that the put out can only be because of the defensive team's actions (unless I am missing something about the definition of a put out, which I've briefly searched for and could not find anything to suggest that I am). I've asked a few people (two current and one former MiLB/current high level NCAA guys), who I trust to know the rules, but have not heard back yet. I'll update once I do.
  5. C'mon Maven, save something for the rest of us to explain. It's boring when you nail it in the first response!
  6. This forum has seriously helped me so much. Going to camps (and recently pro school) has been amazing to learn the finer points, but looking back, I'm shocked how much this forum has taught me of correct mechanics and rule application. Definitely get some formal education when you can, but keep up this forum and you'll be in a better spot than most. Also, your next post is #2000, so make it special
  7. I do as in the video. Frankly, it doesn't matter too much, but grabbing the throat guard just looks different from most (serious) umpires, and it's something that an assignor may or may not notice. That's the kind of thing that, even if the assignor doesn't care, you don't want to bring attention to yourself with. In addition, I fell like, but I'm not completely sure on this, that grabbing it could make it swing around as you run, which just seems like it could be distracting to me. I'd rather have a nice firm grip where I know it's not going anywhere. I don't know, just my
  8. It's gonna suck in the short term, but I think the reorganization is going to be better for all involved... Except for the teams that don't exist anymore. The whole idea was so that players would get paid more, and have better facilities. Frankly, there were a TON of players that really had no business in pro ball. They were just there to fill a roster spot. Now those guys will (albeit, not if their own free will) get to move in to their careers, and not have to spend all that time toiling away in the minors, just to eventually get released without ever seeing the bigs. @tpatience can probably (but may choose not too) speak to this more, but my understanding is that there were/are going to be a very substantial number of umpires released this year. Yes, ,it sucks to have those dreams cut short, but again, many/most of them didn't have a legitimate chance at the bigs anyway. Hopefully, we will see pay and facility improvements for the umpires now. In addition, while it will be harder to make it into pro ball, you're chances of making it all the way once you're in go up. Now, if you weren't good enough to have a shot, you're not gonna get hired and "waste" your time in the minors. If you are good enough, you'll be competing against the cream of the crop, but there will be less people to get stuck behind, and possibly lose an opportunity just because there is too much congestion in MiLB. tl;dr the next couple years are going to be interesting, and maybe painful, but I think it'll ultimately be a good thing.
  9. And if anyone needs a Medium convertible, I have one from a very similar source
  10. I wish I could read plays quick enough to get outside at 3rd! That would be spectacular. While, by the book, taking plays at 3rd outside in a rotation to 3rd by the PU, I've played around with it. Realistically, how much worse is the (fairly unlikely) play at the plate when you start outside vs in? Weigh that against the fact that your view from outside is often way, way better than inside. I'm not sure that taking that play from outside isn't better.
  11. This is a great point. Especially on steals of second with R1 only, I will often find myself almost in the 1st-2nd baseline to see a swipe tag. When the fielder has to come off the line to get the throw, this is often the only way to see the tag, especially if they come in towards the middle of the infield. Now yes, this technically puts me behind the play and out of position were another okay to develop, do you can't just mindlessly do this. Know yourself, and know the situation. If it's likely that another play could develop, or you know you are not physically able to get back into position should an overthrow and play at 3rd happen, don't do this (though, TBF, this should be a late reaction most of the time, and shouldn't develop on a ball that could be overthrown).
  12. U3 can actually often take the plays at second in the dirt, allowing them to use the same concepts. If PU is rotating up to third, you have front and backside coverage, so get out there! Example, no one on, ball hit to right center, U1 does not read trouble. U3 can cut straight across the dirt, parallel with the 2nd-3rd base line, getting to the CF corner of the bag, ready to read the play. BR comes to second, and a play develops. U3 can now work the wedge/get in the window/whatever other system you want to use to get a fantastic view of that tag where ever it occurs. Here's a video from United (which, if y'all haven't found their YouTube channel, you're missing out on some GOOD stuff) showcasing wedge at 2nd. I think they have a couple more, but this was the first one I found. https://youtu.be/o3VMbqELsB4
  13. +1 for the definitions suggestion. You get a pretty good overview of a lot of the tricker rules, and you MUST understand the definitions to untangle the harder to understand rules.
  14. I think @beerguy55is absolutely correct. The best way to understand is to do. Something you can consider in addition, had there not be some attempt to transfer the ball to the throwing hand, would the ball have stayed firmly and securely in the glove? Or, was it the act of trying to do something after having caught the ball that caused control to be lost? If you answer yes, that's a catch (or tag). The change of direction has nothing to do with voluntary release. However, it does indicate that the momentum of the catch has stopped, which, when combined with firm and secure possession, legalizes a catch. Remember, for a catch, we must always have firm and secure possession. We then must have one or both of voluntary release, or the momentum of the catch stopping. Momentum of the catch stopping is kinda a you'll know it when you see it kinda deal. I'm not necessarily going to require him to change direction or come to a complete stop to judge that the momentum of the catch has stopped. For example, if the right fielder is running in hard, catches the ball for the third out, and is able to regain control of his body, that would be the momentum of the catch stopping, even if he only slows to a jog and he drops the ball in his way to the dugout.
  15. I think we're saying the same thing. What I meant is, I'm not gonna brush the plate until he's left, because I'm not going to let him stand there "while gathering his stuff" and make a big deal about me having to clean up after him. I'll wait for him to leave, then, without making a big deal of it myself, clean the plate and get back to work. My goal is to make it seem routine, and just in the course of my job. By making the catcher do it, I feel like I'm drawing attention to it.
  16. I'd probably clean it, but I'd wait for the coach to be gone. He doesn't get to watch me do it.
  17. If it's fair, the batter would have become a runner and have ended their time at bat, thus bringing up the next batter, would it not?
  18. It does not matter caught or uncaught. The moment Interference occurs, the ball is dead, so no outs may be recorded. However, we wait to call time until we determine whether the ball is fair or foul, even though the ball is already dead.
  19. Alternatively, protest the game (if possible in your state/tournament/by your sanctioning body). This is the kind of thing protests were made for.
  20. At the last 3 people to post, find a seat if you're standing. And I say that only mostly in jest. Wendelstedt is not teaching the pivot this year. Yes, you read that right, no more pivots. Hunter and Jansen have relayed that they think MiLB will be getting rid of the pivot, potentially as early as this season.
  21. Biscuit

    Stealing home

    Nope, at least in OBR, if R3 is stealing and you have CI, you get the balk added. @Senor Azul has the citation as always
  22. Biscuit

    Stealing home

    R3 was stealing (best I can tell from OP), so we're going to have to enforce the penalty for CI with a runner attempting to score. We kill the play the instant we have CI, send the batter to first, and score R3*. *Assuming we have only R3. Otherwise, all other runners would advance due to the batter becoming a runner, them stealing, or, in the case of R2 R3, R2 not stealing, the additional penalty of a balk.
  23. I'm at school now, and yes, it's been changed in OBR. The 2021 rule book/course manual we have reflects the change, and we covered it in class. So to summarize, OBR and NCAA, sharp and direct to any part of the catcher, and is legally caught (by the catcher). NFHS, sharp and direct to the glove or hand, and is legally caught.
  24. 2 days into instruction, it's going well! Pretty tired by the end of the days, but having a great time.
×
×
  • Create New...