Jump to content

Steven Tyler

Members
  • Content Count

    32
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Community Reputation

11 Neutral

Recent Profile Visitors

The recent visitors block is disabled and is not being shown to other users.

  1. Any and every ball touched over foul territory is ALWAYS a foul ball. ALWAYS!
  2. Can you read and if you can, can you comprehend? WHERE DID I SAY A RUNNER COULDN'T TAG UP ON A FOUL BALL? I saying that a runner has to wait until the catch is complete until they can legally tag? Question for ya' there? What's a ball that is touched over foul ground? If you see a sign that says FINE FOR HUNTING, do you get your rifle out and go huntin' wabbits?
  3. I'm aware of the rule, but my point is that it is written poorly as in reality a ball touched over foul ground is a foul ball until caught. Runners can't advance on a foul ball. Why a legal catch would be required. Jim Evans used to point out this out...…...I would say he is a pretty good authority on the rules wouldn't you agree?
  4. F1 was struck over fair ground and all that is required is first touch in your scenario.
  5. All I'm implying that when touched over foul ground it is a foul ball until caught even if it isn't bobbled. A poorly written rule is what I'm asking about. Guess I've been around longer than you have and had discussions with more learned and experienced umpires.
  6. It's been a while, but in baseball rulebooks it used to state that a runner may legally tag when a fly ball is caught I believe. Didn't FED change their ruling to say when a fair fly ball is first touched and foul ball is caught? Didn't Evans and other academies teach the same thing at one time or has anything changed since? I'm pretty sure Jim always pointed this one out at the beginnings of his rule clinics.
  7. Day game or night game?
  8. Thanks so much. I think that is what I was trying to find the answer to in my original post. Don't know why I used intervening plays. Have a great season.
  9. Actually, I did remember that. I was trying to read one of those slo-pitch association sites that appears their rules were written on the back of a napkin. They even have a foul tip rule that the ball when caught after going less than a certain height the play is dead. The thread was coming somewhat "unraveled" It did strike me strange that someone said an appeal was considered an intervening play. Could someone please give me an example of an advantageous 4th out. Been so long I can't think of one off the top of my head. Again, thanks for the replies. Wish I could still work out in the field, but my knee won't hold up to a DH.
  10. If you want to know the real truth, I don't care what you think
  11. Yeah, you said that last time I posted. See you haven't lost your holier than thou attitude.
  12. I haven't umped in awhile due to health issues. My question. Runners on first and third. No outs. Batter hits a long deep fly ball to center that is run down and caught. Both runners thinking the ball wasn't caught take off. When the ball comes in the defense first appeals the out at first and the runner is ruled out. They then appeal the runner at third left early? Is this considered an intervening play or time play and does the run score from 3rd?
  13. Perhaps a little sardonic, but there is really no need to parrot what someone has already posted for the most part. I was reading the rule the way it was written. That is what I can only base my interpretation on. Seems like the FED ruling merits some of what I originally posted. Most of my game experiences were under FED rules. BTW ~ I've never heard the term unintentional interference. Some king of oxymoron to me per baseball rules. It is or it isn't.
×
×
  • Create New...