Jump to content

Steven Tyler

Members
  • Content Count

    32
  • Joined

  • Last visited

Everything posted by Steven Tyler

  1. Any and every ball touched over foul territory is ALWAYS a foul ball. ALWAYS!
  2. Can you read and if you can, can you comprehend? WHERE DID I SAY A RUNNER COULDN'T TAG UP ON A FOUL BALL? I saying that a runner has to wait until the catch is complete until they can legally tag? Question for ya' there? What's a ball that is touched over foul ground? If you see a sign that says FINE FOR HUNTING, do you get your rifle out and go huntin' wabbits?
  3. I'm aware of the rule, but my point is that it is written poorly as in reality a ball touched over foul ground is a foul ball until caught. Runners can't advance on a foul ball. Why a legal catch would be required. Jim Evans used to point out this out...…...I would say he is a pretty good authority on the rules wouldn't you agree?
  4. F1 was struck over fair ground and all that is required is first touch in your scenario.
  5. All I'm implying that when touched over foul ground it is a foul ball until caught even if it isn't bobbled. A poorly written rule is what I'm asking about. Guess I've been around longer than you have and had discussions with more learned and experienced umpires.
  6. It's been a while, but in baseball rulebooks it used to state that a runner may legally tag when a fly ball is caught I believe. Didn't FED change their ruling to say when a fair fly ball is first touched and foul ball is caught? Didn't Evans and other academies teach the same thing at one time or has anything changed since? I'm pretty sure Jim always pointed this one out at the beginnings of his rule clinics.
  7. Day game or night game?
  8. Thanks so much. I think that is what I was trying to find the answer to in my original post. Don't know why I used intervening plays. Have a great season.
  9. Actually, I did remember that. I was trying to read one of those slo-pitch association sites that appears their rules were written on the back of a napkin. They even have a foul tip rule that the ball when caught after going less than a certain height the play is dead. The thread was coming somewhat "unraveled" It did strike me strange that someone said an appeal was considered an intervening play. Could someone please give me an example of an advantageous 4th out. Been so long I can't think of one off the top of my head. Again, thanks for the replies. Wish I could still work out in the field, but my knee won't hold up to a DH.
  10. If you want to know the real truth, I don't care what you think
  11. Yeah, you said that last time I posted. See you haven't lost your holier than thou attitude.
  12. I haven't umped in awhile due to health issues. My question. Runners on first and third. No outs. Batter hits a long deep fly ball to center that is run down and caught. Both runners thinking the ball wasn't caught take off. When the ball comes in the defense first appeals the out at first and the runner is ruled out. They then appeal the runner at third left early? Is this considered an intervening play or time play and does the run score from 3rd?
  13. Perhaps a little sardonic, but there is really no need to parrot what someone has already posted for the most part. I was reading the rule the way it was written. That is what I can only base my interpretation on. Seems like the FED ruling merits some of what I originally posted. Most of my game experiences were under FED rules. BTW ~ I've never heard the term unintentional interference. Some king of oxymoron to me per baseball rules. It is or it isn't.
  14. When you say "we", are you implying that there will be more posters that tend to debase others for having a slight difference of opinion? I read what was in the rulebook, and where the commas are placed, indicate the use of judgment. As to what [kicking, spitting, punching, eye gouging, etc.] judgment, the rule doesn't say...........so that being said........if I was still umpiring, I would call it the way my association wants it called. I'm not trying to be a "pioneer" as you deem myself to be. If you're into petty name calling, ignore any future post I might happen to make. That being said, thank you for all your help.
  15. I find that hard to believe...............that you were in a bookstore
  16. Thanks, coach. You now have permission to kick dirt on my shoes as I'm not worthy.
  17. OTOH, grabbing, pushing, tripping, etc. are more like acts of unsportsmanlike conduct and grounds for ejection. I NEVER SAID I MADE A CALL. I don't umpire anymore as my knee has gotten to the point I can't make it through a DH, so I hung it up. And we were playing slow pitch softball where we umpire ourselves. We use tight bases. The runner was standing with one foot on the bag and one in foul territory, which is the best place to stand if in the instance a batted ball is hit at you. He then shifted to having both feet on the base. He doesn't move, there would have been no contact. Even with the shift, he could have easily leaned his upper body so contact would have more than likely wouldn't have happened. If you're going to move, at least move in the opposite direction of the ball. As a side note, you can also have verbal interference, the infraction can be caused by players in the field as well as players in the dugout. If the runner on base is screaming in the fielders ear while both are next to each other, I might possibly be inclined to call verbal interference. I'm more concerned with what constitutes intentional and unintentional interference. In my "world", it is interference or it isn't. If I don't deem the runner to have caused the contact, I would be verbalizing, "I've got nothing!" while signaling safe. As is usually the case on umpire forums, some like to go directly for the jugular vein. Hence, the comment "pioneer". I have always gone with what my superiors want the play called. May your balls be few, and your strikes be plenty......with no errors! Happy, Cinco de Mayo.
  18. Except the rule doesn't mention grabbing, pushing, tripping, etc. the fielder. it states clearly, in the umpire's judgment. It might be me against the world (old umpire forum saying).......but they also say, "Sometimes you just have to umpire." FYI ~ you left out verbal interference...............
  19. FED is big on safety. If the ball is six inches or less from you, and if by moving, it won't necessitate you from being tagged out off the base. I would be inclined to call interference on the runner. To me it is a rule that has too much grey area and benefits the offense and penalizes the defense by taking away a small part of fair or foul territory in which to make a play. What constitutes inference not being unintentional is what I'm getting at? I would say that not giving the fielder a chance at fielding the ball, the runner has interfered. Logic doesn't seem to be in factor here.
  20. Here is the situation. Runner on 3B & 1B. Batter hits a pop up toward the 3rd base bag. 3B is coming to catch ball and he collides with runner, who is standing on the base, at the same time the ball hits his glove. I know the rule states that in this situation if interference isn't intentional, the runner is not out. However, the runner never even made an attempt to slide over and remain on the base, which he could have easily done to avoid the collision and keep a foot on the base. The ball came down about a foot inside the foul line. I say that by not making an attempt to not impede 3B, he interfered with the fielder's attempt at catching the ball. Now myself, I would have banged the runner and batter out as there was less than two outs. I believe since no effort was made to avoid contact while holding the bag which could have been easily done, the runner interfered. My judgement on calling both out is if the runner can't make up his mind as what he should do is I will make it up for him. Would you call this intentional interference by not making any attempt whatsoever to avoid the collision. I maintain the fielder does have some right of way here.
  21. If it is a banner ad sponsered by Google, there really isn't anything you can do about it. I guess next it'll be an ad for chicks with d**ks and the same claim We can't do anything about it? Garbage. I grew up in the country. I always saw chicks with ducks running around the barnyard. Didn't turn me on.......................... :shrug:
  22. If it is a banner ad sponsered by Google, there really isn't anything you can do about it.
  23. Some of the worse advice I've ever read. Fisticuffs? Really?
×
×
  • Create New...